Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words of Wisdom - the French Way
Words of wisdom - the French way!
Update in March 2006 - the book is out - a great Easter gift for lovers of French and France! October 2005: How come I write about a book not yet published? This is easily explained: for some years I've been one of the lucky e-mail subscribers to Kristin Espinasse's French-Word-A-Day writings (on which the book is based),...
Published on 11 Mar 2006 by Lauragais

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, very American
The book was very good, but the contents were more applicable to the Families concerned, it was typically American in that they think that things that are personal to them, would be of interest to the world.
Published on 17 May 2009 by Miss Gee Hamilton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words of Wisdom - the French Way, 11 Mar 2006
By 
Lauragais "circle-h" (Berlin Detschland / Germany) - See all my reviews
Words of wisdom - the French way!
Update in March 2006 - the book is out - a great Easter gift for lovers of French and France! October 2005: How come I write about a book not yet published? This is easily explained: for some years I've been one of the lucky e-mail subscribers to Kristin Espinasse's French-Word-A-Day writings (on which the book is based), providing wonderfully witty, humorous and helpful, poetic and profound insights into her life in France. We share her children's growing up in France, we are informed about her husband's work in his vineyards, we get to know her relationship with neighbors and friends, we read about those precious moments when her adopted country generously opens up new horizons for thought and outlook on life in general and especially in France. Always her observations are presented with great respect for the people she meets, never putting them down, yet keeping just enough distance to see and listen to them with a writer's mind. If you want to get into a French mood, if you plan to travel to France, virtual or otherwise, or if you just want to be entertained in an amusing, intelligent and uplifting way, this book is truly a must-have. It not only includes those lovingly detailed stories but provides helpful examples on proper use of words and phrases. Oh, and yes, you do brush up your French in a most entertaining and easy fashion: learning a language can indeed be fun! Put it on your list of Books to Buy - you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words in a life in France, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Musicman (Leigh-on-Sea Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read and nice ways of learning a language by using french words within context of the stories and idiosyncrasies of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Colleen (LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words in a French Life: Lessons in Love and Language from the South of France (Paperback)
A very interesting insight into life in Provence! Useful for any mad Francophiles who wish to seriously improve their French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, very American, 17 May 2009
This review is from: Words in a French Life: Lessons in Love and Language from the South of France (Paperback)
The book was very good, but the contents were more applicable to the Families concerned, it was typically American in that they think that things that are personal to them, would be of interest to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Words in a French Life: Lessons in Love and Language from the South of France
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews