Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!
This book is so funny! It's about a woman (Elizabeth/Lizzie) who is fast approaching her 40's and goes through some major crises in her life. She is obsessed that her husband starts having an affair so tries the tactic of following her beautiful sister in becoming more refined in her appearance (to say the least!). She does discover that her husband, Hugo is having an...
Published on 4 Aug 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, some good lines, but no surprises
I found this book very easy to read - good for a holiday, and with some excellent one-liners. But as far as the plot went, there was very little, and the ending could almost be predicted from the first chapter. Amusing, but not stimulating, challenging or exciting.
Published on 26 Jan 2002 by Claire Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 4 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
This book is so funny! It's about a woman (Elizabeth/Lizzie) who is fast approaching her 40's and goes through some major crises in her life. She is obsessed that her husband starts having an affair so tries the tactic of following her beautiful sister in becoming more refined in her appearance (to say the least!). She does discover that her husband, Hugo is having an affair and I was as shocked as Lizzie was when she finds out who. Even though I am no where near the 40 age mark (yet) I can relate to what has been written. It's all about women surviving in a mens world and having to use their looks to get anywhere. Kathy Lette has made a great come back and this book is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, some good lines, but no surprises, 26 Jan 2002
By 
Claire Robinson (Weybridge, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Hardcover)
I found this book very easy to read - good for a holiday, and with some excellent one-liners. But as far as the plot went, there was very little, and the ending could almost be predicted from the first chapter. Amusing, but not stimulating, challenging or exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, but a little disappointing, 10 Jun 2008
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
To begin with I wasn't sure what I thought about this book. It's true that I found this book surprisingly easy to read, despite the fact that Kathy Lette sometimes tries a little too hard to be funny and the metaphors are constantly a little too drawn out and rambling.

I realise this book is entirely fictional, but even so, there were a couple of things that strained against the bonds of even my reality. For example:

1. If you had a husband like Hugo McPhee you would, unequivocally, divorce him, no questions asked, no second thoughts, you just would, not opt for every type of plastic surgery under the sun to try and win him back;
2. If someone spoke to you like Lizzie McPhee's nemesis, Britney Armore, every other page should technically have been a flat out brawl with fists a-flying and murders abound. No one, no matter how down trodden, would put up with it. But apparently Lizzie does. I think the odd good argument between these two would have been amusing and uplifting for Lizzie's character.

BUT - as the story nears its conclusion (especially the scene where Lizzie's at work and has her moment of Enlightenment in front of the TV cameras), I found I was pleased to have persevered with it. I was a little disappointed with the ending because it was pretty obvious what was going to happen quite early on in the book. This book is chick lit, but as far as chick lit goes, it's worth a read if you're after something light hearted and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tries To Hard - Ultimately Disappointing, 31 Oct 2006
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
I have read most of Kathy Lette's previous books and have found them to be spot on in their observations on women, life, love and sex. Her funny play on words and wicked one liners have had me laughing out loud (not always in the most appropriate of places!).

This book hpwever is a bit of letdown, sure the one liners are here and the play on words type of lines that she is well known for pop up frequently - so much so that it seems more than a little contrived and not really that funny.

The books meanders through a story that has an unsympathetic central character who despite everything we have read about her does a U turn on all her values and principles and endeavours to win back her husband at any cost. Cue loads situations which just aren;t funny. Various other characters float about not really moving the story along and the last few chapters take a flight of fancy and become not only farcical (and not in a good way) but also incredibly stupid, oh and the oh so surprise alternative love interest is not really a surprise, you could spot it the moment the character was introduced in the earlier chapters.

Although this isn't a taxing read I found it difficult to get through to end and finish it, ultimately disappointing and not a patch on books on her previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gobbled in one sitting, 7 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Hardcover)
Nip'n'Tuck is a very funny read although the ending is a bit far fetched.... I would recommend it for a laugh out loud, quick book but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frank, Funny, Fantastic!, 7 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Hardcover)
I am a huge Kathy Lette fan, the lady is amazingly perceptive and witty and probably best NOT read on public transport. Lizzie McPhee has 'let herself go' in the eyes of her husband, sister & employer. So when she is sacked & dumped in the same week drastic action is needed, but if she gives in and goes under the knife will she still be herself or just a plastic Stepford-wife version? Helping and hindering her on her way are a fantastic collection of misfits from Uberbitch Britney Amore to soulful ex-brickie-turned-novelist Cal. A laugh-out-loud story which also has a few serious points to make. Even the chapter headings are hilarious. Read it and weep-with-laughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and dark in places, 5 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
If you've ever considered plastic surgery, STOP and read this book first. Great read, full of the (hilarious) horrors of the world of plastic surgery. Highly recommended book from a top author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wittily wry, 10 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
This is such a funny novel! The author's style of writing and her witty play on words make her books a delight to read. The theme of "Nip 'n' Tuck" is the question of whether it is worth having cosmetic sugery just to keep your man. Kathy Lette elaborates (in side-splittingly funny detail) the length that her characters go to in order to stay youthful-looking. There are plenty of funny one-liners, satisfying come-uppances and loads of bitchiness along the way, so that you'll want to keep on reading (even though occasionally you may struggle to see through the tears of laughter!). Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty struggle between beauty and brains, 3 Oct 2002
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
...Kathy Lette's eighth novel begins ...[with] a promising start for 255 pages full of deliciously witty humour about the struggle of a 40-year-old mother who's battling against her loss of beauty. Main character Lizzie is torn between being a feminist and giving way to cosmetic surgery to win her husband back, and this book describes her inner struggle with her outwards appearance. Lizzie's sister, who is a deteriorating model, resembles Samantha from Sex In The City and tries to persuade Lizzie to do something about her sagging body. Will Lizzie be talked into going under the knife and give up her principles? Will the brains win from the beauty? You'll just have to read this novel to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nip and Tuck, 27 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Nip 'n' Tuck (Paperback)
This book was another book which i couldn't put down, really good and funny short chapters which i perfer don't liked to be bored to death
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5b44954)

This product

A Stitch in Time
A Stitch in Time by Kathy Lette (Paperback - 2 Aug 2005)
10.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews