Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book on Bush's failings
This excellent book gives the script of Michael Moore's historic film 'Fahrenheit 9/11'. As Mike LaSalle of the San Francisco Chronicle commented, "In the 90-year history of the American feature film there has never been a popular election-year documentary like this one." The film won the Palme d'Or at the 2004 Cannes Film Festival. Millions of people across the world...
Published on 11 Dec 2004 by William Podmore

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as his other books
This book is meant to accompany the film and as I haven't seen it I was at a disadvantage. The book is split into five parts, the first two containing the script and sources from the fact; these sections are of interest to people who want to look at the film in more detail. It is the last three parts that contain new information. They outline the audience's reaction to...
Published on 22 Feb 2005 by Miss E. C. Pritchard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book on Bush's failings, 11 Dec 2004
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This excellent book gives the script of Michael Moore's historic film 'Fahrenheit 9/11'. As Mike LaSalle of the San Francisco Chronicle commented, "In the 90-year history of the American feature film there has never been a popular election-year documentary like this one." The film won the Palme d'Or at the 2004 Cannes Film Festival. Millions of people across the world have now seen the film.
The book includes the sources and evidence for the film's statements, some of the comments that Moore received from the public, and some related articles by various writers.
Moore tells us about the botched war against Al Qai'da, and how the US state was completely unprepared for the attack, even though bin Laden had declared war on the USA in 1996. He details how the Bush administration, although repeatedly warned of an imminent attack, prepared no counter-attack and took an amazing two months to launch a military response.
Moore reminds us that the official 9/11 Commission found 'no credible evidence' of any link between Iraq and Al Qai'da. Vice-President Dick Cheney responded to this Report by repeating robotically that there was 'overwhelming evidence'. President Bush added helpfully, "The reason I keep insisting that there was a relationship between Iraq and Saddam and Al Qai'da is because there was a relationship between Iraq and Al Qai'da."
Moore denounces Bush and Blair's diversionary attack on Iraq, a country which has never attacked the USA or Britain and has never threatened to attack the USA or Britain. This unnecessary war of aggression has cost the USA more than a thousand soldiers' lives, and $166 billion, so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as his other books, 22 Feb 2005
This book is meant to accompany the film and as I haven't seen it I was at a disadvantage. The book is split into five parts, the first two containing the script and sources from the fact; these sections are of interest to people who want to look at the film in more detail. It is the last three parts that contain new information. They outline the audience's reaction to the film, showing just how powerful it would have been in America when it was released.
The structure makes it more of a reference book, it isn't really the type of book that you can read from cover to cover, but that isn't really its purpose. Unfortunately at times it does come across a bit sycophantic, this to me makes it all a bit unbelievable it is true that it is going to be pro Moores ideas, but at times the comments are a bit dramatic and Moore's introduction is full of arrogance and I don't think that puts the reader in the right frame of mind.
Also if you read through the sources some of them do seem a bit flimsy so maybe some of Moore's claims are a bit rash and in reading it you can see that one minute Moore is expecting you to feel anger at the soldiers and the next to feel compassion for them.
There can be no argument about the shocking information that does surface and the influence Moore did have. I would recommend this book to anyone who was inspired by the film as a useful reference book but if you haven't seen the film then some of the books content wont have the impact that its intended to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely riveting, 4 Jun 2014
By 
D. L. Hine (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A damning expose of the Bush administration, clearly illustrating the lies told to justify the invasion of Iraq and Afghanistan, the link between the USA and Saudi Arabia and the real reasons for the wars; oil and corporate profits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive!, 25 Feb 2011
This book examines the relationships surrounding the US, UK and the Middle East in general and 9-11 specifically. Lots of very interesting things inside, you will see the news and some people in it quite differently.. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Orome "Aldaron" (Lexington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a useful but unnecessary appendix to the (excellent) film. The bulk of this book is taken up by the script of the film, something that I suspect few readers will have much use for. There are also several short articles and a collection of e-mails to Moore, both of which don't add much that can't be found at various websites. Perhaps the most (or only) useful feature is footnotes indicating the sources for most of the key claims in the film.
Disappointing overall, and certainly lacking any of the compelling energy of the film, but useful if you really need to refer back to sources for the film's assertions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 16 Dec 2004
By 
Orome "Aldaron" (Lexington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a useful but unnecessary appendix to the (excellent) film. The bulk of this book is taken up by the script of the film, something that I suspect few readers will have much use for. There are also several short articles and a collection of e-mails to Moore, both of which don't add much that can't be found at various websites. Perhaps the most (or only) useful feature is footnotes indicating the sources for most of the key claims in the film.
Disappointing overall, and certainly lacking any of the compelling energy of the film, but useful if you really need to refer back to sources for the film's assertions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the film, don't bother with the book, 19 Aug 2005
By A Customer
I couldnt get to grips with the book at all. I usually think books are much better than the film, but in this case I have to say that the film was definitely much better than the book.
It was very hard going and inconsistent so I gave up half way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as good as the rebuttals, 24 Oct 2007
This book, as the movie, is not nearly as good as the books rebutting it. If you really want to get a balanced view of the issues raised in the film and the book, you should also see the DVD Fahrenhype 9/11 and the book by that name, as well as the book Fahrenheit 9-12 -- Rebuttal to Fahrenheit 9/11. These rebuttals are more informative than Fahrenheit 9/11 and comparably entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official Fahrenheit 9/11 Reader
The Official Fahrenheit 9/11 Reader by Michael Moore (Paperback - 1 Oct 2004)
£14.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews