Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus on health and the rest will come naturally
Mark Hyman deals with many myths associated with dieting and weight loss. He explains many not so obvious causes of gaining weight. He also reminds the reader of important rules to follow in order to keep not only thin but also healthy. All in all this is a good book for someone committed to losing weight and keeping it off. What I particularly liked about this book is...
Published on 15 Jun 2006 by Myself

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I thought this would be more than another diet book which it probably is but I flick through it and gave up.
Published 1 month ago by christine stringfellow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus on health and the rest will come naturally, 15 Jun 2006
This review is from: Ultrametabolism (Hardcover)
Mark Hyman deals with many myths associated with dieting and weight loss. He explains many not so obvious causes of gaining weight. He also reminds the reader of important rules to follow in order to keep not only thin but also healthy. All in all this is a good book for someone committed to losing weight and keeping it off. What I particularly liked about this book is its focus being shifted towards living healthy lifestyle. The author emphasizes the importance of cleansing the liver and detoxifying your whole body. This sounds to me like a revamp of the same good ideas so well presented in the book Can We Live 150 in which the author focuses exclusively on health and self-help (body cleansing, proper breathing, and using all the "natural doctors who are always with you"). Interestingly losing weight seems to be the natural outcome of one's healthy lifestyle. This has at least been so in my case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing book for holistic health, 6 Jan 2009
By 
E. ROUMELIOTOU (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best books I have ever read. Mark Hyman is an amazingly gifted doctor, he explains everything in the most simple way and makes you understand why specific kinds of food are unhealthy as well as the opposite. He is based on recent scientific research and actually proposes a variety of different supplements and natural remedies for every group of maladies. He even provides with thorough lists with suppliers of the products he believes are meeting his high standards. Basically this is a piece of work promoting natural healing through properly selected foods. This man shows us how to be healthy just by altering our diet. I strongly recommend this book to anyone that is interested on his/her health for life. This book is one of a kind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super book!!!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book that gives you a sound knowledge of everything you have to know to loose weight and start a new way of life. I've read a lot of book on this subject. This one is the best, honest towards readers. The author treats them like partners and gives a lot of tips on pro-inflammatory food that slow your metabolism, importance of good fat in loosing weight, supplements and herbs that can help, etc. He explains everything very carefully giving many details how things work. And finally, simple language combined with professional content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultrametabolism (Hardcover)
I thought this would be more than another diet book which it probably is but I flick through it and gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultrametabolism, 3 April 2010
By 
C. S. Bentham (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an interesting read. it approaches wait loss in a completely different way to the norm. Some interesting facts in here I have never heard of before. Having an underactive thyroid, I was unaware that it is effecter by chroline and flouride in domestic water. Funny the doctors I have spoken to have never mentioned it? I'm now filtering all my water so still too early to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ultrametabolism The simple plan for automatic weight loss, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not for the layman. Its also American so some names of food are different. I gave up on it in a very short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d12600)

This product

Ultrametabolism
Ultrametabolism by Mark Hyman (Hardcover - 1 April 2006)
Used & New from: 0.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews