Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
This book has everything you need to know about ballet, It covers history, essential ballets, class etiquette, terminology with pictures, stretches and a healthy eating section which also helps identify eating diorders and how to avoid them. This book places emphasis on finding the right teacher, having a beautiful and healthy ballet body and learning steps correctly with visualisations of how each step should feel to the dancer. This book is good for both young and old as it has a section for the adult beginner and also those children who come 'late' to ballet with good tips on pointe shoes, how they fit, how to sew ribbons and elastics etc. It also has a section on how to have the perfect ballet bun which is always helpful:)
This book literally covers everything and would be a perfect gift for anyone beginning ballet as it really is a companion that like an experienced ballet teacher can impart knowledge whenever it is requested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and a great guide for beginners, 21 April 2006
By 
C. Borg "C. Borg" (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present for someone who is learning ballet and I've received very positive comments about this book. I have to say that this book gives you a rough guide from A to Z of ballet for beginners, like how to select a good ballet shoes, a brief history of ballet, and various techniques from different school (RAD, Russian, etc...) My present was much appreciated for the detail it gives and I would recommend it for anyone who wants a companion for ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true dancer's companion, 14 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I read this book originaly as a refresher for barre. I'm a begining belly dancer that wanted to go back to my ballet roots to improve my current genre. I found my barre, but also found one of the best overview book on ballet for the dancer. For those getting started, this book explains quite well what your getting into if you want to be a serious dancer. I would recommend this book as essential reading for any beginner dancer. This book does a wonderful job of connecting ballet history with ballet technique. Part four, the healthy dancer, takes a look at the physical side of being a dancer.This is the only book I've found that honestly looks at ballet injuries and their prevention. This chapter alone would make this book valuable to an experienced dancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended by ballet teacher, 8 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I am a Royal Academy of Dance registered ballet teacher and this has to be the best ballet book I have ever come across! It includes everything, there are lots of photos and diagrams to maintain interest and it's very well broken down. This is probably suitable for ballet students aged about 12+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
An excellent companion for any aspiring dancer, or even some one who simply does it for a hobby.
It contains everything you need to know, from how to sew your ribbons, to even history of ballet, to exercises for your muscles and injury prevention.
a dance must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous gift for any dancer, 13 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my daughter many years ago and she absolutely loves it. It is the type of book than you read from cover to cover when you recieve it but also again and again afterwards. There are some helpful exercises in the book which my daughter has found really useful and benificial to her dance training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!, 7 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
This book is excellent, I bought it beacuse I needed a really good ballet book to refer to for all my steps and also for the history of ballet. I was not dissapointed, when I got it I was suprised at the detail. It is good for beginners, Intermediat and advenced, the book suitable for ages 9+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet Companion, 4 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my sister, who has been doing ballet lessons for a couple of months now. The book is really attractive and makes a lovely gift. She has told me that she has been reading it and found it really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ballet questions answered., 1 Oct 2014
By 
Philip Herring "vaslav" (soudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I am a ballet fan but not a ballerino and I wanted a not overly technical description of the steps in ballet. This book is the answer, so I now know my Petit from my Grand Allegro, arabesque from attitude, cabriole from entrechat......Also the evolution of ballet is outlined in the 'blue' sections interspersed throughout the book, with references to the Bournonville, Cechetti and Vaganova styles. For young debutants there is ample advice on 'getting started',class,work at the barre and on pointe. And I have at last found out what 'Barre au Sol' (Jun Takeda DVD) means from the interesting sections on exercise and staying healthy as a dancer. This includes details on the early 20th.c.German,Joseph Pilates. The Companion concludes with a 'Must See Ballets' section, including modern and contemporary dance,a detailed chronology and a full glossary of ballet terms. This is a useful overview of the ballet world, both for the practitioner and for the interested spectator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must for beginners!, 20 July 2011
This review is from: The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet (Hardcover)
I am 23 and I started ballet for the first time 3 months ago. I found this book so helpful. It helped me understand the basic terminology. The interesting storys throughout was great. I enjoyed reading it as well as learning from it. i would highly recommend this book for anyone with an interest in ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions and Joys of Ballet
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews