Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Lee has a soul
A great read. There is a lot more to Tommy Lee than the trash media would have us believe.
The book takes us through his childhood, his love for his parents, his growth as a musician to the formation of Motley Crue. Then it gets really good. If you've read "The Dirt" you'll know some of the stories. The section on Tommy's sex tips is very entertaining.
He then...
Published on 28 Jun 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the "The Dirt"
This book is an OK read but if your going to buy a book about Tommy Lee I would go for "The Dirt" by Neil Strauss.
Tommyland goes over alot of the same ground as The Dirt does but is not as well written.
There are parts of this book which just seemed so pointless. I wanted to really like this book but unless your a massive Tommy fan buy The Dirt instead which is...
Published on 12 July 2007 by tomkat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Lee has a soul, 28 Jun 2005
This review is from: Tommyland (Hardcover)
A great read. There is a lot more to Tommy Lee than the trash media would have us believe.
The book takes us through his childhood, his love for his parents, his growth as a musician to the formation of Motley Crue. Then it gets really good. If you've read "The Dirt" you'll know some of the stories. The section on Tommy's sex tips is very entertaining.
He then goes on to talk about his relationships, notably, of course with Heather and Pamela. By the end of these chapters you'll hate the paparazzi as much as him.
The sections where he describes his time in jail, the death of the young child in his pool and the death of his father are all very moving.
All in all a very entertaining and thoughtful autobiography from one of the baddest boys in rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the "The Dirt", 12 July 2007
By 
tomkat (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommyland (Paperback)
This book is an OK read but if your going to buy a book about Tommy Lee I would go for "The Dirt" by Neil Strauss.
Tommyland goes over alot of the same ground as The Dirt does but is not as well written.
There are parts of this book which just seemed so pointless. I wanted to really like this book but unless your a massive Tommy fan buy The Dirt instead which is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommyland, 25 Jan 2005
This review is from: Tommyland (Hardcover)
I have just finished reading tommyland and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Tommy shows he is so much more than the tabloids give him credit for, he made me laugh out loud but parts also moved me to tears. I am very disappointed that there's no more of the book left but you leave it feeling privileged to have gained an insight into such a fascinating life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 25 May 2008
By 
L. L. Beddall (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommyland (Hardcover)
I read this after I read The Dirt and it took me a few chapters to adjust as the tone and style of the two books are totally different. However, it is a good read and Tommy Lee comes across as being nice, honest and genuine. Touching and amusing,recommended for Tommy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, 5 July 2005
By 
C. motton "col55" (kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommyland (Hardcover)
I have just finished reading the book and it's as if iv'e spent an entire evening talking to tommy lee himself.The man is amazing,he answers every question i could ever think of asking him.I could go on telling you about it but theres no point,just buy the book nothing i could write can do it justice.THANKS TOMMY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor read, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommyland (Hardcover)
if your a fan of Motley Crue, dont bother. their is nothing new in this poorly written and frankly tedious book. Tommy clearly states that this book is his "truth", yet he is clearly very selective with what he chose to reveal. No information about Vince going to jail, his heroin addiction etc etc etc. Constant whining about the pressure`s of fame. Irritating footnotes on almost every page.... all of which add up to making this barely readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite suprise!, 29 Dec 2005
This review is from: Tommyland (Paperback)
Tommy Lee definitely surprised me with this book. It's a lot more open and honest than the watered-down diaries that most "celebrities" put out these days. Some moments from 'Tommyland' are laugh-out-loud funny, other moments are bring-you-to-tears moving. The book was actually very inspirational, and his list of books that you should read to help you to learn more about yourself is great. Tommy Lee comes across as a really sweet guy who is just trying to put his life back together after a lot of setbacks, and you definitely finish this book hoping that he'll find happiness. There isn't much detail given about his relationships with the other Motley members, but this is probably because he wasn't a member of the band at the time he was writing this. This book shows Tommy's love for a lot of things, but in particular, his love for his kids and his music, and it was a really inspiriational and entertaining read. You should definitely buy this one, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the life of a charismatic drummer from the most notorious rock band ever!!!!!!!, 17 Aug 2007
This review is from: Tommyland (Paperback)
My word, this is one hell of an autobiography from, arguably, one of the best drummers in the last 30 years. Since I became a Crue fan, my favorite from the band had always been Tommy Lee cos for me, he IS Motley Crue. Without him, I feel that the band just wouldnt be the same as they are.

This book is a fascinating insight into the world of a drummer in the worlds most notorious band. There is so much to discover (as I have) from this guy. It shows how much love he has for his family and kids and his profession. You also learn about his marriages to a a former Penthouse playmate, Heather Locklear and Pamela Anderson but also the tragic moments in his life, such as discovering a dead child in his swimming pool during his son's birthday party and his time in jail.

Most people would think he's a bad boy (thanks to the media!) but when you read the book, you actually realise that deep down, he is as vulnerable as the next person. That anyone else who truly cares for their wife and kids would do exactly the same as he did to protect them (that includes getting in trouble with the police, I know that I would!). And you also learn that not only is he a fantastic drummer, he is a talented musician who can play several instruments (He plays the Piano on the intro to the song Home Sweet Home which has to be my fav track from the Crue ever). Now that was something that I didnt know and surprised me.

A reviewer said that the other Motley Crue book, The Dirt, was better than this book but I have to disagree a little. The Dirt is a great book which focuses on the other band members. But when I read The Dirt, the sections by Tommy Lee were my personal favorites. So this book actually compliments the sections of Tommy Lee in The Dirt (in some ways). This book actually edges it though as its more in-depth on Tommy's life.

Like all decent biographies, this book will make you laugh and will make you cry. Some of the stuff he writes based on what he has been through is genuinely moving. The sections where he talks about his dad and his time in jail will make you realise that he really is a genuine guy that has gone through a lot. His advise on love in the book is sweet and its advice that is certainly interesting and worth taking up.

I know Im praising this guy and the book too much, but if you're a Crue fan or just intriguied by the man known as Tommy Lee from Motley Crue, buy this book. It deserves the attention cos it definitely a fantastic book. So buy it, it doesn't disappoint!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fascinating, 21 Jan 2014
By 
A. James "Affstar" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommyland (Paperback)
It must have been at least 8 years since i read this book...but I still remember being utterly engrossed. A really in-depth look at one of rocks most notorious drummers. Some parts are really rather shocking but really help you underdtand why moyley crue are as great as they are.

Definately worth a read!

Must add that it contains some great glossy photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this book, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tommyland (Paperback)
I read this book after I finished reading "the heroine dairies" and the motley crue biography which I enjoyed reading. This book didn't let me down either, its a very insightful, fun book that I would definitely read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommyland
Tommyland by Tommy Lee (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews