Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss
EXCELLENT BOOK. This is essential reading for all of us you have/will lose a loved one - grief is such a personal thing, but this books shows the common demoninators, a book to be read and reread during a time of grieving - cannot recommend highly enough. I have given this book as gifts to grieving friends and they could not believe it when they read in print how they...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by Eliza DoLittle

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to cope
This book is most helpful in the area of bereavement of a partner - a bit thin on other loss but all in all helpful and gives some useful coping techniques with unfamiliar strong emotions connected with bereavement.
Published on 19 May 2010 by V. A. Penny


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
It was useful to compare the thinking of Kubler-Ross with that of what she had first written in 1970 in her book On Death and Dying. I found the book informative bringing the five stages of grief up to date. David Kessler who knew Kubler-Ross very well was able to portray her thoughts and feelings as well as his own. The book was very useful in my studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for therapists and anyone else, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
Having bought this book for the 3rd time (just bought the kindle version)as I kept lending it out to people and don't know where the last one went, I can highly recommend it to counsellors and hypnotherapists. It gives a very practical insight into death, dying and grieving and I recommend it to my clients as well as friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Hard Topic, 14 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoughtful and worthwhile guide for those who have lost loved ones, or who face bereavement. Elizabeth Kuebler-Ross is sober and frank, without being un-emotional. I appreciated her positive approach to a subject that is almost taboo and often mis-managed.

Too bad for UK readers that all the case-studies are US-based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is so helpful., 17 Jun 2009
By 
This brilliant book is so helpful for anyone facing or trying to cope with bereavement. I bought it to help me help a client and gained so much from it for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 26 Oct 2010
By 
Robert Mckeon (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
The authors have written a very moving account of the phenomenology of grief through a vast array of vignettes. Being very mindful of not inadvertently contributing to a prescriptive view of how one should grieve (as happened after On Death and Dying) the stages of loss are a minor component of the book.

It is written is very simple and accessible language yet I found it very difficult to get through because the accounts are so evocative. It has a broad, impressionistic quality to it, and as such is probably better read in multiple sittings. I intended to read it in an afternoon, but by the end of page 3 I was sufficiently upset to realise that it would take a great deal longer. It took 3 weeks to read. I felt that the journey through the book was instructive and almost like a recapitulation of the journey of grief itself.

Although not truly expressing a clinical framework within which to approach the issue of loss and bereavement it is a very useful adjunctive to such academic texts for those training in therapy. Its additivity is a richness and deep humanity which clearly infused the life's work of each of its authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book with a narrow focus on grieving within human relationships, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
This is an update to my original review made in 2010. I was concerned about the almost total obsession with grieving within married heterosexual relationships. I said this book does not reflect the diversity of modern relationships and may soon appear dated.
I reproduce a quote from the The Guardian, Friday 2 November 2012:
'The fastest-growing type of family in the UK are people who are living together without being married, according to official figures. The number of people who cohabit has doubled to 5.9 million since 1996, the Office for National Statistics (ONS) figures state.'
These statistics support my original criticism, which is reproduced below.

My concern with the book is that despite being published in 2005, every example of grief involving couples (and there are lots) concerns a husband and wife relationship.

There are no examples of grief where the couples are in a partnership, or are lovers, or in a same-sex relationship and single people are completely ignored. The term partner is hardly used throughout the book. The authors have kept a very narrow focus of what constitutes a couple relationship.
To me, this seems unrepresentative of the wider society, especially in 2005 and beyond, where there are all sorts of relationship permutations, which are becoming increasingly accepted. I'm baffled as to the motivations of the authors, as the book doesn't seem packaged as looking at grief from a strictly family or Christian viewpoint, yet this is how it seems. The problem with this narrow focus is that it avoids examining painful grief that exists outside of the traditional family structure, with its own complications due to social exclusion. I think this failure of the book stops it from being the masterpiece that Marianne Williamson (on the back of the book) claims it to be. I also think this approach seems to create a moralistic and outdated feeling that detracts from its many qualities. The book may become dated a lot quicker for not having examined grief within relationships in the wider sense. As someone in a civil partnership, I found the repetitive and seemingly robotic references to husband and wife in every example to seriously detract from my ability to relate to the book. Many others may feel excluded in a similar fashion. I found the following passage to be particularly exclusive and potentially judgemental:

"The rest of us, on the other hand, require many other necessary ingredients for a full life: college, work, marriage, home, cars, vacations, grandkids, retirement, and old age." (p.152)

Whilst many of the principles in the book can be translated to other types of relationships, I think the failure to broaden the scope of the examples and to be more inclusive, may in the long term be seen as a severe limitation to the effectiveness of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8299744)

This product

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss
Used & New from: 2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews