Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must!
When I lost a loved one I searched the bookshops for something that could help me through such a traumatic time. I bought some books which were quite helpful and some that were not. Then I bought 'On Grief and Grieving' and finally I had the answers, the understanding and the help I had been searching for for so long. This is an absolute must for all those who are...
Published on 13 Dec. 2008 by Mrs. S. Card

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to cope
This book is most helpful in the area of bereavement of a partner - a bit thin on other loss but all in all helpful and gives some useful coping techniques with unfamiliar strong emotions connected with bereavement.
Published on 19 May 2010 by V. A. Penny


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must!, 13 Dec. 2008
By 
Mrs. S. Card - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I lost a loved one I searched the bookshops for something that could help me through such a traumatic time. I bought some books which were quite helpful and some that were not. Then I bought 'On Grief and Grieving' and finally I had the answers, the understanding and the help I had been searching for for so long. This is an absolute must for all those who are suffering the awful hopelessness of losing someone. I can't recommend this book enough and recently bought another copy for a relative who had just lost her husband. It covers every aspect and stage of grieving whether it be for a parent, partner, child, soulmate, sibling or pet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss, 17 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EXCELLENT BOOK. This is essential reading for all of us you have/will lose a loved one - grief is such a personal thing, but this books shows the common demoninators, a book to be read and reread during a time of grieving - cannot recommend highly enough. I have given this book as gifts to grieving friends and they could not believe it when they read in print how they were feeling. In fact this book should be read by everyong on the planet - it will equip us better and help us find the way, not only for ourselves but for whose who may need our support in their dark time of grieving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bible for those dealing with grief, 25 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
This really is a tremendous book that offers so much to those in grief, and to indivuals working with people who are grieving.

Both authors are experts in this area having worked for many many years with people dealing with bereavement. They also share their own history and journey with grief, which happens to be helpfu not indulgent.

They describe helpfully the stages of grief, which will be immensely reassuring to anyone who thinks they are going mad whilst trying to cope with their loss. They convey strongly that when a loved one dies you don't get over the loss, it is always there, but you learn to live with the loss, but it takes a long time and there isn't a neat 'end point' when grief is finished.

Written with great compassion, heart and their skill and experience is in every sentence. It feels authentic and that you are in safe hands as the authors share their wisdom about death and loss.

After I had read it, it gave me the confidence to buy this book for someone whose parent died more than a year ago, although I did so with some trepidation in case it was ill received. I couldn't have been more wrong and they were so touched that I understood that they were still grieving for their Mum and they 'hadn't got over it' just because it had stopped being mentioned. What a gift of a book that encouraged my gesture and has openend my eyes and heart on this topic. I strongly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dealing with a difficult human experience with the sensitive touch..., 16 Jan. 2008
By 
Hannah Brown "Lou Brown" (UK, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
I have read a number of books now by Elisabeth K.R. and this one, rather appropriately, was edited after she passed away by co-author David Kessler.
The book is set out in easy to understand chapters and deals with each of the Five Stages using real-life examples to help clarify each one.
I think this book would be extremely helpful and "a beacon of light" for anybody who is grieving over the loss of a loved one, anybody who is finding it hard to find the right words, or for anybody wanting to expand their emotional person-centred counseling/listening skills, as it not only teaches you the theory, it also teaches you to feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars are not enough..., 30 April 2006
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
Written in the second person, On Grief And Grieving offers a deeply personal insight into the individual world of grief while reaching out to touch every reader who has ever been bereaved, or struggled for words to offer a friend.
This book addresses both the practical and emotional elements of bereavement, including complicated grieving and taboos. It gives implicit guidance to the professional working with bereavement through its refreshingly un-academic, personal style. Being the final word on the misunderstood Five Stages, it is a crucial textbook for counselling students and volunteers.
EKR and DK share their own pain and support you tenderly through yours. Written as Elisabeth was dying, this book has a special poignant personal involvement from both authors. They explain and accept every thought, emotion and difficulty you may experience, with the loving warmth to support you. They will guide you tenderly through emotions you have not yet named and help you find the healing tears you thought you had already cried. This book is essential reading for all those who have loved and lost.
It should be sold with a box of tissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT MUDDLE-THROUGH COMPANION, 11 Oct. 2005
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
At times of great grief, when it seems difficult to come up with the right things to say to the grieving, one hopes to run into a companion, a book, anything, that shares the experience of people who have gone through similar experiences before and emerged in one piece. Much to one's dismay, one finds a whole parade of grief counseling peddlers. Garden variety touchy-feely advice. Precious little for people with brain cells in the right places.
That is what makes this Kubler-Ross compilation an absolute treasure of a find. It is intelligent in its narrative of moments one goes through at times of deep sudden loss, and the kinds of things one can do or think to ride the emotional rollercoasters that inevitably ensue. The prose is sane, easy to identity with. There is a rich cornucopia of examples and real life experiences that go to great lengths to cushion the self-doubt one could quite easily feel while indulging in a book on the subject.
I cannot recommend this muddle-through read highly enough. A smart, sensitive companion. Look for the paperback if possible, there is one. As you are reading this review, may I also offer to point out that life's curveballs may appear random at times, with very little explanations offered for unpleasant things one has to live through, but life goes on. You will get through it. Best wishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dealing with losing a loved one., 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
My doctor recommended this book. I've begun to read it slowly, a section at a time. I've realised what I'm reading is what I'm living. It helps to know that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to cope, 19 May 2010
By 
This book is most helpful in the area of bereavement of a partner - a bit thin on other loss but all in all helpful and gives some useful coping techniques with unfamiliar strong emotions connected with bereavement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 21 Aug. 2011
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
Having suffered the loss of my 26 year old son 9 months ago, I found this book most helpful. I had no idea that grief has a basic pattern, the detail of which usually varies from person to person. I found that I have shared some or part of the experiences of the many cases described in the book used to illustrate certain situations. During grief it is sometimes difficult not to feel alone, even within one's own loving family. In deferring to other people's feelings, you sometimes forget your own and, as this book points out, it is most important to keep your own in focus and nurture them. People often will not broach the painful subject unless you do first because they do not know how to.

This book is a must for anyone who has suffered a loss which need not be only a death. There are many things we need to grieve over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great find, 31 Aug. 2010
This review is from: On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss (Paperback)
This was a great find. There were good examples which put things in context and the information was clear, easy to read with no unnecessary technical terminology. Whichever stage you find yourself at in the grieving process you will find this book useful. As a foster carer I have also found it useful when dealing with young people who have suffered loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss
Used & New from: £17.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews