Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Important Are Competitors in Setting Future Strategy?
Anyone would agree that this book is the best overview of competitive strategy analysis ever written. The strength of the book is a solid outline of subjects and questions to improve your thinking, and get to be a step ahead of the competition. In highly-competitive, commodity businesses, that's usually what strategies focus on.
On the other hand, the rapid advances...
Published on 28 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Figure out why you buy before you buy
This is emphatically not a work of strategy and and not a book about strategic analysis. I can't see how this would be practical or useful in a real "hands-on" business environment, although i can see how the more shallow CEOs may pick up on its buzzwords. Strictly speaking, this is a work of applied classical economics and as such has rigour and intellectual clarity,...
Published on 11 Jun 2004 by ZDDQ140770


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Competitive Strategy by M.Porter, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book that helped with all the information I needed for my research project on competition in industries.
I was very happy the seller delivered the book on time and the condition was as described - perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors (Paperback)
An all-time classic book that every business manager has to have in his bookshelf collection. Strongly recommended for MBA students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for management student, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors (Paperback)
Nice book For those seeking MBA in management or strategic management give you clear view on all the industry .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where are the new ideas in Business Strategy, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the foundation that positioning theory has been built on, but it's about time that this thinking was developed. I recently looked at books on strategy in the Amazon lists and found that of the top 20 selling books only one had some new ideas on strategy. The other 19 were reviews of previous work or how to implement strategy. Why do people in strategy spend their time trying to explain what has already been explained better than anyone else?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MBA Student Must Have, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. A. Heesom "Bigfella" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're doing or are thinking of doing an MBA, then this book is seminal - simply a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read Everything Mr. Porter Writes, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Mariusz Skonieczny "Author" (classicvalueinvestors com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors (Paperback)
Mr. Porter is an expert on competition. As a professional investor, I evaluate competitive strengths and weaknesses of companies on everyday basis. I cannot overemphasize how important Mr. Porter's writings are to my ability to pick investments that perform well. In my opinion, the first chapter is the most important one. Mr. Porter writes about five forces:

* Threat of new entrants
* Intensity of rivalry among existing competitors
* Pressure from substitute products
* Bargaining power of buyers
* Bargaining power of suppliers

These five forces can be a roadmap to determining the competitiveness of individual companies. Mr. Porter's books are long but I highly recommend this book or any other book written by the author.

- Mariusz Skonieczny, author of Why Are We So Clueless about the Stock Market? Learn how to invest your money, how to pick stocks, and how to make money in the stock market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fundamentally important concepts, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors (Paperback)
Seriously useful for anyone who runs their own business and finds themselves squeezed between the tectonic plates of bigger competitors or external factors that they hadn't considered.
A must read, in order to be well prepared for the battleground of business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive and good useful, 22 April 2009
This review is from: Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors (Paperback)
For someone who is a novice in the field of management I found this book very useful. It gave me a useful framework to look at future of my own organisation and I hope this to be a useful process. The book is rather dry and not always an easy read and I was never able to read a large section of it in one go but can be used as a reference book with concepts fairly well chaptered.
I would recommend this book to those who struggle with managing conflicting targets withing their business or organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Figure out why you buy before you buy, 11 Jun 2004
By 
ZDDQ140770 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors (Paperback)
This is emphatically not a work of strategy and and not a book about strategic analysis. I can't see how this would be practical or useful in a real "hands-on" business environment, although i can see how the more shallow CEOs may pick up on its buzzwords. Strictly speaking, this is a work of applied classical economics and as such has rigour and intellectual clarity, though some presuppositions seem a bit dodgy and some of the results aren't extended far enough. Recommended for business studies/MBA students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good but take some of it with a pinch of salt., 25 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This is probably the most comprehensive book on the subject. However, there are a few areas where it's recommendations may not be entirely correct. For example, suppliers have been taken as one of the five competitive forces. After the success of several companies in becoming more competitive by building closer relations with their suppliers (e.g. in implementing JIT), is this still valid? For example, must companies increase the number of suppliers to reduce their power (when so many other companies have been able to reduce their costs by giving one supplier Economies of Scale)? Also, given that 'Quality is Free' (at least up to a point), are the strategies of 'Differentiation' and 'Cost Leadership' really mutually exclusive? Readers are advised to take some of the recommendations with a pinch of salt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews