Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best!
As Terry becomes older and writes more, as all writers, he gets better; but heres the difference from he and other writers. As he grows older he gets better and better at the same rate where as many writers slow down and stop eventually. His novels are just an example this; with this novel being one of his best yet. Some may say that if you write too many books you'll run...
Published on 28 Oct 2004

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I sense the downward spiral beginning
Terry Brooks made his name with the Shannara series, coming back to it again and again in various trilogies (and one four-parter). It got to the point where even some of his fans were saying "enough!" They all started sounding the same with small differences (the Jerle Shannara trilogy took place across the sea, for one thing). Then, Brooks came out with Jarka Ruus...
Published on 28 Sep 2004 by David Roy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best!, 28 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2 (Hardcover)
As Terry becomes older and writes more, as all writers, he gets better; but heres the difference from he and other writers. As he grows older he gets better and better at the same rate where as many writers slow down and stop eventually. His novels are just an example this; with this novel being one of his best yet. Some may say that if you write too many books you'll run out of ideas but Terry just keeps on rolling with each new series. I eagerly await the arrival of the final book in the series and implore you that this is not the beginning of a spiral downwards as one reviewer percieved but his steady climb upwards! It's a great novel for all ages and brings the reader into first person, feeling what the character feels and worrying for him/her as much as though they were family, whilst feeling much fear and hatred for the enemies and hating every part of their enemies malicious beings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic is back., 11 April 2006
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After the Voyage of Jerle Shannara I was left disappointed that Brooks had somehow maintained a formula, but the magic of the company's tale was not as stong as his previous work. With the first book in the High Druid of Shannara series, Jarka Ruus, came a stronger storyline, a more entangling series of events and an underlying political plotline which allowed Brooks' mastery to come forth. In Tanequil it all moves up a notch. It's fast paced, full of backstabbing, intrigue, character development and, of course, magic. It's compulsive emotionally charged reading. The only regret you'll have is finishing it and not having Straken to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and exciting to the end! A must read., 25 Jun 2005
This review is from: Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2 (Hardcover)
I am an avid fan of Terry Brooks and Tanequil has lived up to all of my expectations. The book is filled with many sub-plots between the characters which kept me gripped to the very end. Tanequil continues the story of Grianne's fight for mental and physical survival against the evil creatures of the forbidding who wish to kill or subvert her back to being the Ilse Witch. Grianne's inner struggle is an interesting sub plot amidst the fast paced action of Penderrin's search for the Tanequil and the saviour of the one he loves. The reappearance of Bek and Rue Ohmsford in this addition is an added bonus as they were my favourite characters of the Jerle Shannara series. Their dealings with the new Ard Rys and her followers is filled with suspicion and intrigue as they try to discover what has happened to their son and Grianne.
Although some may argue that Tanequil follows a plot that is recognisable to many of Terry Brooks previous novels, I believe this volume more than redeems itself with the fast paced and gripping action of the heroes and the dark political undertone of the dealings between the many foes. This book is a definite must read and I cannot wait for the final volume in this series to be pulished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I sense the downward spiral beginning, 28 Sep 2004
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2 (Hardcover)
Terry Brooks made his name with the Shannara series, coming back to it again and again in various trilogies (and one four-parter). It got to the point where even some of his fans were saying "enough!" They all started sounding the same with small differences (the Jerle Shannara trilogy took place across the sea, for one thing). Then, Brooks came out with Jarka Ruus. While still very similar in content, Brooks appeared to be taking the series in a bit of a new direction. Now, we have the second book in the High Druid of Shannara trilogy, Tanequil It's a step down from the first book, but not too bad. Average is probably the best word for it (though I'm sure Brooks wouldn't think so).
There's one major problem with Tanequil, which is that it's kind of boring. It reads very much like all the other Shannara books (the main characters spend a lot of time brooding about their situation), but the action is much less. Thus, we spend a disproportionate amount of time in the characters' heads, and it isn't that interesting. Either the villain is musing over her plans for Grianne or ultimate power, the Prime Minister of the Federation is going over what he intends to do with a new weapon, or Pen is brooding over what the cost of his little expedition has been in lives and heartache. What's even worse is that he repeats himself a little bit. Why Shadea has to tell the reader multiple times that her current relationship is one of convenience that she's willing to throw away as soon as it's no longer useful is unclear. This has always been a problem with Brooks, but he's always made up for it with exciting action scenes. This time, he doesn't. Compared to the rest of the books, there's relatively little.
Even worse is that Brooks is either way too predictable or he thinks foreshadowing should be done with a hammer instead of a scalpel. He never states anything just for atmosphere's sake. Everything he says is going to be used or addressed at some point. When Pen visits the Troll city and he mentions (seemingly in an off-hand manner) the layout of the city and how they are mobile creatures, ready to move at a moment's notice, you know that it's going to be a plot point eventually. Other writers might use this to paint a broader picture of Troll society, but Brooks doesn't bother. If it's there, it's going to be used.
The last problem is that the most interesting character in the series, Grianne, is barely in the book, relatively speaking. She doesn't appear for over one hundred pages, and then she's only in a few sections after that. She's imprisoned the entire time, though at least Brooks makes good use of that to further the plot and give her some more hardships to endure. As I said in my review of Jarka Ruus, Brooks hasn't really dealt with redemption, so her storyline has a lot of potential. In the little space that she inhabits in Tanequil, she is put through the wringer and it's fascinating to see how she deals with it all. It's just not enough to carry the rest of the book.
On the plus side, Brooks does bring back Bek and his wife, Rue, Pen's parents. They were two of the most interesting characters in the earlier trilogy, and I was disappointed when they didn't appear in Jarka Ruus. They both get to demonstrate their devotion to each other as well as their quick wit and intelligence when they are set upon by the Druids. Sadly, none of the other characters shine, though I can't really point to any of them and say that they were done badly. Instead, they just sit there on the page and I found myself occasionally wishing Brooks would go back to somebody else. This generally happened with Shadea, who suffers from being one of the least interesting villains I've read in quite a while.
Finally, I have to give kudos for the demons and the Forbidding. The atmosphere in the Forbidding is very tight, and when Brooks reveals the ultimate plan, it brings the book up to another level. There's another villain besides Shadea, and the book really accelerates when he's on the screen. Unfortunately, he's only there when Grianne is, which means he doesn't get a lot of time. Sure, he's sort of a cliché, but he's miles above Shadea. If Brooks continues the demon storyline to a satisfying conclusion, the last book should be a rocking read.
Tanequil isn't really bad enough to avoid if you're following the Shannara series. It just sort of sits there, taking up room until the next book. If you read the first book and enjoyed it, this won't turn you off of the series. It'll just make you wish the third book was already here. I hope Brooks doesn't let us down.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Im not that sure......, 14 Oct 2004
By 
C. Mcintosh "Gay and Happy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2 (Hardcover)
I have been a big fan of Terry Brooks since I was very young (started reading Sword of Shannara when i was 10) and have observed how the books have changed over the years. He created legends from the first 3 Shannara novels, which all of the Shannara books following have been based on. However the legends which he created now seem so far away and part of a golden age of Shannara story telling. Dont get me wrong, I loved The Heritage series of Shannara novels, but since the start of where increased technology seemse to be introduced into the world (and less belief and useage in magic), it seems slightly less.....well magic. Anyway, to the book: Tanequil starts off slower than his other books. You do not get thrown strait into the action for a while and I think this may deter some of his younger fans. However I am older now and appreciate this far more than I would have done had I been younger. This gives you time to explore whats been happening in the four lands and how the characters are developing. However this books is like wine and matures through time; the more you read through the story the more you enjoy it. This is another aspects of the Shannara novels which has changed because its one of the few Shannara novels that has not left me hooked throughout. Every other Shannara novel has left me gasping for more and more of the story until its finished, but Tanequil leaves you wondering and wondering and well..... wondering for over half the book before the pace speeds up and the core of the plots and the characters are uncovered and developed. However once it gets hold of you, it does not let you go after that. There are of course discrepinses (which may be fixed or at least smoothed out in the third book). For example the Straken Lord sounds like a more sinister and evil apparition than the Warlock Lord and the Dagda Mor was in previous books, yet when the forbidding collapsed in the second Shannara book, there was no sign of this almighty and terrifiyingly powerful malevolent spirit. Anyway dont let my pesimism get in the way of a good read. i will certainly still be reading every Shannara novel which continues to be written as I am a great fan of Terry Brooks and his Shananra legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tanequil - sthe story continues, 27 Sep 2004
This review is from: Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2 (Hardcover)
This is a very good second book in the trilogy. Anyone who is a Terry Brooks fan will be glued to this book, I read it in two days. The book continues with the missing Grianne who is being held by someone very upleasant! There is twists and turns in this book and you have to know the story so far and the characters to boot but it is a cliffhanger again as all Terry's books are I now have the frustration of waiting to see how the story ends can't come quick enough fo me, the last book is called Straken which when you read the book, I brings the thought who is the straken relating to...will Pen, Bek and the others be in time, will the elves be saved so much reading so little time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and suspenseful, 18 April 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the second book in Terry Brooks' newest series, picking up immediately after Jarka Ruus. Penderrin Ohmsford and his friends are running for their lives from the Druids, now led by unscrupulous Shadea a'Ru. The only hope for them and Grianne Ohmsford (erstwhile Ard Rhys of the Druids) is to make it to the Tanequil and fashion a darkwand, which will enable Pen to retrieve Grianne from her exile in the Forbidding. But, can Penderrin keep himself alive long enough to complete his quest, and what will the cost be?
Even though this is the second book in a series, and as such has no true beginning and end, Terry Brooks succeeds in building a fascinating and suspenseful story. I have enjoyed this series so far, even more so than the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara series. I found this to be a gripping and fascinating story, one that I highly recommend to all fans of fantasy literature. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always loved science fantasy reading, and this is a trilogy of reading that you would not want to put down. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabby, 8 Oct 2013
Book was in great condition! What a bargain. :) I was very happy with the book and bought more shortly after. Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended to all Brooks fans., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following the usual excellence of Terry Brooks'books, this does not disappoint. Highly recommended to all who love this genre of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2
Tanequil : High Druid of Shannara Book 2 by Terry Brooks (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews