Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
As I'm dyslexic I'm a slow reader so hopefully this review will be of use to anyone in a similar position.
I found this book to be an utterly compelling read. The title really does not prepare you for Janusz adventures in both Poland and Russia.
The harrowing description of the Gulags really is only half the story. Details of the author's life before and during the Nazi occupation of Poland, and his incredible journey including time spent in the Russian army makes fascinating reading.
This book is an excellent insight into how some people can adapt to deal with the most intolerable circumstances. Janusz paces the action very well, although this may be more down to the fact, his story really is so incredibly interesting and he has so much fascinating material.
If I absolutely had to find a negative I was a little disappointed with how the book fizzles out. It's a true story, so the authors can't be blamed. This did very (and I mean very) slightly diminish my reading experience.
An excellent story. You will NOT be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding ! inspiring !, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
sgeoff (North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
This is an outstanding book taking us through a most remarkable life, of a man I'd never heard of, but who survived the inhumanities of Stalin's Russia and brought hope and comfort to many after he came through his ordeal. We see the young Janusz Bardach of the Red Army facing first execution and then a totally unjust sentence to labour in the gulag ; his long and horrendous train journey to the camp ; the brutality of camp existence and his will to survive intact ; and (briefly)his eventual release and the start of a new and distinguished career (just put his name in a search engine) transforming many people's lives. The brutalities of the Stalinist regime, and the human will to survive it, have rarely been detailed so well, and I can recommend this book without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing story told with unflinching honesty, 21 May 2007
By 
Alexa (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
Having read several accounts of the experiences of victims sucked into the monstrous machine that was the Soviet GULag, Janusz Bardach's account stands out for its unflinching personal honesty. It is not for the faint-hearted, as Bardach never glosses over the atrocities committed. But he never appears simply as a witness, or victim, since his account is a true autobiography - he also describes the effects his experiences had on his own character.

To the reviewer who felt the narrative 'petered out', I would recommend that they read Bardach's second volume "Surviving Freedom", which brings his personal history up to his emigration to the US. It also gives more detail about Bardach's youth, prior to his Soviet experiences. If you are interested in this remarkable man, rather than just his description of the GULag, then you should really read both books (he summarises the period covered by the first book in just a few pages of the latter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary tale of survival, 28 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. A. V. Ward "Joburg Joller" (Weybridge, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
The fact that a close friend's parents were Polish Jews who survived the war gave this account added resonance. The book exposes the cruelty and inhumanity of the Soviet system, particularly when the authors home town is violently cleared by the Communists of all Polish men, women and children not demonstrably of the working class, who are then dispatched to the harsh conditions of the Siberian Gulag. The author's own often terrifying experience of the sheer awfulness of the brutal camps and vicious guards is vividly described, and yet his survival sends a message of hope and optimism, in light both of the friends he makes in Kolyma and of the tremendous contribution he makes with the rest of his life as a life changing surgeon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ..a chilling read.., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
..interesting and often very vivid and brutal account of an often forgotten and overlooked state oppression..a mirror to the genocide in Europe..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
I bought this book about a month ago based on an Amazon recommendation. I have found it a fascinating and compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gulags, 7 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. Sj Stephens (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
This was a very moving piece of work. How humans can treat each other this way is beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
Great price. A book everyone should read...recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly Moving, 8 Nov. 2006
By 
A. P. Hick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
Profoundly moving, an amazing escape story, and an utter indictment of the real world effects of communism put into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag (Paperback)
Brilliant, a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag
Man is Wolf to Man: Surviving Stalin's Gulag by Janusz Bardach (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2003)
Used & New from: £10.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews