Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh - how did he get the presidency?
With such classics as "i appreciate how hard it is for you to put food on your children" you have to wonder how he became the worlds most powerfull man!!!
Good book which will have you rolling. Did not get five stars simply because it is much shorter than I thought it would be and there is only 1 quote per page - Its not that i thought there would be more quotes...
Published on 13 Aug 2004 by Mark Dunlop

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for 20 mins
We had a chuckle with this on Xmas Day. Some of them went right over our heads but that'll be why they were in there. Def a book to read then pass on. Saying that, I'd go back and read it again! I just can't believe he came out with that much utter rubbish!
Published on 14 Jan 2010 by Debzisme


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh - how did he get the presidency?, 13 Aug 2004
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
With such classics as "i appreciate how hard it is for you to put food on your children" you have to wonder how he became the worlds most powerfull man!!!
Good book which will have you rolling. Did not get five stars simply because it is much shorter than I thought it would be and there is only 1 quote per page - Its not that i thought there would be more quotes (even he cant talk a whole lot more rubbish) but I thought it would be more of a narrative.
Good anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 16 Aug 2004
By 
K. Abraham (Southampton, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
I picked this book up while I was on vacation in New York last July. And I must admit, its a hilarious book with plently of linguistic misadventures by Mr. Bush. Whether you are a fan of Bush or not, it doesn't matter, because this book is accessible to a universal audience! From Washington to Baghdad, this book is the best for people interested in simple political satire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Book, 17 Jan 2003
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
A page-turning book of great hilarity, readers will find it difficult to put down this book. Gore supporters will love it as a satirical farce of their opponent, while Bush supporters will find it endearing, illustrating Bush as "a man of the people"! If you're interested in American or international politics, "Bushisms" is a book that will make you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Joke Is On Us, 9 Mar 2008
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
"Got to be a joker, he just do what he please..." -- Beatles from "Come Together."

This book makes me think of the classic, "Everybody Plays the Fool" because "there's no exception to the rule." The line "don't you think the joker laughs at you" from the Beatles' 1967 classic, "I Am the Walrus" is also startlingly a propos. Dumbya is a genuine fool.

This trenchant, very funny book underscores just how subliterate, inarticulate and lacking in intelligence Dumbya really is. While Dumbya's malapropisms are funny, it is also scary to think of somebody of such limited ability as president. Dumbya's administration is of the emperor's new clothing genre and I am glad to see more people coming out and publicly admitting that the emperor is naked.

Dumbya has proven yet again his overall incompetence by causing a federal deficit and his gross bungling the most senseless, needless and useless war involving America. Although much of this book covers 2000, it heralds what is yet to come from the worst president in history. For those who voted for him, I apologize if any offense was taken as none was meant. I do think that the joke ended up on everybody as we have been saddled with this incompetent person since the bungled election of 2000. Oh, and the election mess in Florida? No surprise there - Dumbya's brother Jeb's political state! Haven't they heard of the Voters' Rights Act of 1965? Apparently not, as many people were denied access to voting in the 2000 election.

There are many, myself included who feel the 2000 election was stolen. Had the fouled up election not taken place, we would not have ended up with this sad excuse of a president. I am very glad I didn't vote for him either time. Still, if you want some comic relief during these tense times, this book is for you. It is trenchant, cleverly written and well worth the read.

Bush is the Fool on Capitol Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great toilet book!!, 7 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
bought for my husband to read in the bathroom and he seems to like it. not very thick but more than enough quotes to keep you amused by how stupid the most powerful man in the world really was/is........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for 20 mins, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
We had a chuckle with this on Xmas Day. Some of them went right over our heads but that'll be why they were in there. Def a book to read then pass on. Saying that, I'd go back and read it again! I just can't believe he came out with that much utter rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very amusing read, 1 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
A great collection of G.W Bush's most stupid statements. Gore supporters would love it. Bush supporters should be deeply embarrassed.
Perhaps one should recall the adage: If God had intended politician's to think, he would have given them brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Laugh, 7 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
Many Americans call this man George "dumbya" Bush. If you read this book, you'll know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gore Supporters will Love it, 7 Jun 2001
By 
Mr Peter Bromley (Wigston, Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
My neice is a lawyer in the States. Her firm worked on the Gore appeal in Florida. I gave her this book for her birthday and she loved it. Anyone who supported Gore will relish the wit of the 'foot IN mouth' President. We in the UK - if at all cynical about politics, will be able to share the joke. Politics is the same the world ofer after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He put his mouth in motion before his brain was in gear, 20 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: George W. Bushisms: The Slate Book of Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President: The Slate Book of the Accidental Wit and Wisdom of Our 43rd President (Paperback)
We all do it sometimes... Open our mouths and say something - but if our brains had been in gear, we most probably would not have said it...
Well... George W. does this a lot too....
Well.. it gives us someting to laugh at !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews