Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars less useful for websites used as marketing tools
This book contains useful and practical advice for optimizing a range of websites. However, its focus is on websites that aim to generate direct income by selling products or subscribtions. Much of the information is less useful for websites that serve as marketing and brand buidling tools that aim to generate indirect income.
Published on 30 Nov. 2007 by Db Weedon

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Big Red Fez: How to Make Any Web Site Better By Seth Godin
What a very odd & strange book.
I purchased this on Amazon without actually flicking through it. One of the dangers of online purchasing I suppose.

I have heard of the author - he wrote some well regarded books on the issue of permission based marketing. The tag-line of the book was: how to make any Web site better. Buyers beware of any book with a cheesy...
Published on 13 Jan. 2008 by Mikey Smiley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Big Red Fez: How to Make Any Web Site Better By Seth Godin, 13 Jan. 2008
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
What a very odd & strange book.
I purchased this on Amazon without actually flicking through it. One of the dangers of online purchasing I suppose.

I have heard of the author - he wrote some well regarded books on the issue of permission based marketing. The tag-line of the book was: how to make any Web site better. Buyers beware of any book with a cheesy / overly-simplistic tag-line.

So to the book itself.
Over Christmas with a bit of time to spare I started reading this book. Two short sessions is all it took to complete this book. I could easily have completed it in one reading. There is 108 pages in the book, every second page is a picture & the pages that do have writing on them - consist usually of about a half page of text.

The author presents a number of Web-sites & outlines how they could be improved. To be honest the author picks on lame sites & explains their failings. A fairly easy task you may think - & you may be very right in thinking this.

This book is from 2002 - Hadn't realised this at the time of purchase.

Seth Godin is a marketing man - & this book is marketed at those people who do not know a lot about Web-sites . After reading this book these people will still know very little about Web-sites.

It is a nothing of a book - & unlikely to encourage you to read this author again. I have another book by the author - Survival is Not Enough. Really looking forward to reading it - Not.

A visitor takes 3 seconds on average to decide whether to stay on a web-site. I would think it is less than 3 seconds for your average reader to decide on the value of this book.

Books like this are of historical interest at best. The author should really update the content or he will disappoint additional readers like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars less useful for websites used as marketing tools, 30 Nov. 2007
By 
Db Weedon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
This book contains useful and practical advice for optimizing a range of websites. However, its focus is on websites that aim to generate direct income by selling products or subscribtions. Much of the information is less useful for websites that serve as marketing and brand buidling tools that aim to generate indirect income.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth far More Than it's Price, 24 May 2004
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
I read the electronic version of The Big Red Fez. I'm a new media and marketing person but it's always good to be reminded of the basics of what we're trying to achieve.
Seth's critique of some of the best known names on the Web is refreshing. Not all of them come out well, I might add - and looking at the sites he criticises, I find myself saying "Yes, he's right about that!" Not even the big boys get it right, which leaves plenty of space for my customers to do better!
It's not only a "must read" it's a "must re-read at regular intervals" to remind us all that without the fundamentals being correct, a web presence degrades to an online company brochure - if that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Old and dated - buy a newer book, 26 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
The web has moved on significantly since this book was written. There are better, newer books around covering the usability.

It is very short - just over 100 pages, not the 324 pages shown in the product description.

EDIT

Hey, Amazon, nearly a year on you still haven't updated the product description - incorrect number of pages, though I've submitted a correction three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comic brilliance - instructional gold., 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
As with everything Mr. Godin writes, this book is fabulous to read. Even if you're not interested in learning to promote a web site - as with all Godin's writings, it's brilliantly written anyhow.

However, this guy has always a lot to say - and with such insight and absoluteness in parts.

If you're interested in getting into the head of a young, successful professional web developer/designer/builder/entrepreneur, to learn how to do your web 'thing' a lot better ... you could do a whole lot worse than read this.

Keep it on your desk and refer back to it from time-to-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but the underlying concepts of good web design are remarkably consistent and remarkably simple to ..., 13 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
The Big Red Fez is Seth Godin’s guide to web design, and it promises to teach you “how to make any website better”. Sure, it’s a little out-of-date, but the underlying concepts of good web design are remarkably consistent and remarkably simple to grasp, which is why Seth Godin, a marketer, is able to write about the subject.

Broadly speaking, though, the lessons in this book are nothing new, and they boil down to that old advice that all good designers are already following – keep it simple, stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big Red Fez, 13 April 2013
By 
J. Hughes "Midlandman" (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
Great title! full of provocative ideas. Genuinely stimulating. It's a "does what it says on the tin" book and so shouldn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How to make your website appealing, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
Good base to work from, sound ideas with a forward looking mindset. Recommended for those who are seeking to improve their website appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice simple book with great case studies, 30 Dec. 2005
By 
C. Killick "craig killick" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
Another Seth Godin easy read with great practical (and real) ideas to work on. See how other people are going right and wrong.
You just need to read this book, that seems to state the obvious, to give you lots of simple changes that you could make to your web site to give it more impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Red Fez, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Neil Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) (Paperback)
If anyone is serious about building a web site, this book is a must read first. If more people followed the excellent information contained in it, then they would be making more money from their web sites. Cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book)
The Big Red Fez (A Free Press book) by Seth Godin (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews