Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent modern gothic
Set on a lonely stretch of the Dorset coast in the mid-Seventies, The Black Tower is an unusual crime thriller. Although it functions perfectly well as a conventional whodunit, it's also a modern gothic, and, like its predecessors in that genre, it's a meditation on mortality and human frailty. Much of the book's power derives from James's scrupulous exploration of the...
Published on 30 Oct 2000

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle vs book
The novel is certainly well written and is an intelligent thriller. As one would expect from PD James, the characters are intereting and well rounded. I particularly liked the ending where she plays a little game with the reader, casting just a scintilla of doubt about whether Dalgleish really did experience it all. But what I did not like was the continuous stream of...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by Clifford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent modern gothic, 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Set on a lonely stretch of the Dorset coast in the mid-Seventies, The Black Tower is an unusual crime thriller. Although it functions perfectly well as a conventional whodunit, it's also a modern gothic, and, like its predecessors in that genre, it's a meditation on mortality and human frailty. Much of the book's power derives from James's scrupulous exploration of the character and states of mind of her hero. The poet-policeman, Commander Adam Dalgleish, is a subtle and compelling creation, and his substantiality helps to ground a plot that might otherwise seem to teeter on the brink of melodrama.
The tone is set with the 'resurrection' of Dalgleish, who as the book begins is recovering from a serious illness, which initially had been misdiagnosed as mortal. This brush with death has had a profound psychological impact on Dalgleish, and his decision to make his convalescence coincide with a duty visit to an old acquaintance seems from the first an attempt to postpone a confrontation with his own unanswered questions.
Disenchanted with policing Dalgleish may be, but when he is confronted with the merest suspicion of foul play, his instincts reassert themselves in spite of his inclinations. The atmosphere of illness, frustrated hopes, and impending disaster gathers force with every page as Dalgleish, against his will, is drawn deeper into the poisoned community of Toynton Grange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle vs book, 24 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: The Black Tower (Kindle Edition)
The novel is certainly well written and is an intelligent thriller. As one would expect from PD James, the characters are intereting and well rounded. I particularly liked the ending where she plays a little game with the reader, casting just a scintilla of doubt about whether Dalgleish really did experience it all. But what I did not like was the continuous stream of typographical errors, many of them originating from what I assume was the scanning of the text into the kindle format. For example, cliff might become diff and so on. It is this sort of irritating error that makes one prefer the real, paper artefact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read, and re-read and will again read!, 7 Dec 2003
By 
K. J. Kloian - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
what a fantastic book. One of my absolute favourite adam dalgliesh mysteries. The classic 'whodunnit', the surprise ending will satisfy, and getting there is exciting too!
you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Black Tower, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Tower (Kindle Edition)
PDJ returns to Adam Dalgliesh after the first Cordelia Gray book and it is rather different from the earlier books. It is set in a private nursing home and Dalgliesh is there in a private capacity as a guest. The story unfolds slowly and there is a great deal of time spent on the individual characters, most of whom are rather unsympathetic. The ending is rather unsatisfactory as Dalgliesh has a flash of inspiration, which has little to do with what has gone on before. Not a typical Dalgliesh but worth reading despite the sleight of hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite, 22 April 2013
This review is from: The Black Tower (Kindle Edition)
Began in expectation of the Black Tower being of the same quality as the previous ones (I am reading all in chronological order) - but not this time. Confusing characters, plodding pace until the last 4% when murderer revealed and conclusion reached. Annoying typos throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reading, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Malcolm Gillett (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Tower (Kindle Edition)
P.D. James is such a wonderful author. She has a gift for getting the reader engrossed in her highly intelligent and ingenious plots right from the word go. Her narratives are simply stunning.

This particular book is one of my favourites. The characters and setting are second-to-none. Difficult to get up to make tea when so deeply absorbed by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of suspects..., 1 Jan 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Black Tower (Paperback)
I have just finished reading The Black Tower and found it a most interesting book that I had to go back to and finish as I wanted to know all the facts. This book is full of well painted pictures and the characters do come off the page. The story is full of detail and I could see the cottage and the tower and the different rooms within the institution. I don't think I would have stayed a night in a place like that but the cottage seemed less threatening. I had not guessed about the real source of income being gained from the trips to Lourdes and so that was a good twist. These P D James stories are very much about people and their influence over others or interactions and that is why I enjoy them. This is definitely worth reading and I am sure will encourage a further selection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyed, read on holiday and couldn't put down, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Tower (Paperback)
A typical PDJ read. She concentrates on the fine points of character and draws out relationships. The turn at the end was very surprising .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good to listen to, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved PD James Books and now I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to "The Black Tower" read by Michael Jayston. Excellent voice. Great to listen to when doing jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Dalgliesh novel, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the one P D James novel missing from my collection hence my reason for purchasing. I found the story rather tedious and missed the murder team who usually accompany Dalgliesh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac62e024)

This product

Black Tower, the (Adam Dalgliesh Mysteries)
Black Tower, the (Adam Dalgliesh Mysteries) by James (Paperback - 29 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews