Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McLaren does it again
Another fast-moving, hugely entertaining novel from McLaren. How clever to come up with the plot and follow it through with such ability and style. I was hooked from the 1st page and just loved how he mixed the sinister dealings of the underworld with the utterly hilarious.
Best read for a long time and definitely my favourite yet. Roll on his next book!
Published on 10 Dec 2001

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Cabs is Better
Having loved black cabs and press send, i was really looking forward to runnig rings. However it wasn't up to the usual high standards. It was a struggle to reach the end,i kept going incase it got better but it never really got going.
Published on 19 Nov 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McLaren does it again, 10 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
Another fast-moving, hugely entertaining novel from McLaren. How clever to come up with the plot and follow it through with such ability and style. I was hooked from the 1st page and just loved how he mixed the sinister dealings of the underworld with the utterly hilarious.
Best read for a long time and definitely my favourite yet. Roll on his next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great thriller with laughs on the way., 23 Oct 2001
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
The appliance of business consultancy to the underworld brings an unlikely degree of success to the business concerned. The internecine struggles between the key players make the average British Board Room look like a haven of tranquility !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious tale of deceit, corruption and revenge, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
Like in McLaren's other books, scene after scene in "Running Rings" draws you in until you can't put the book down. The language is flawless, the technique of switching from one setting and set of characters to another intrigues and spurs curiosity. The intricate web of deceit and corruption, scheming and dealing is carried out masterfully and with a brilliant sense of humour.
The main character, villain Rupert Henley is transformed from being a cool, arrogant, but likable City-type to a pathetic, trembling wreck, who is punished for his greed and selfishness. Ronnie Hill is another brilliant character, who, despite being a crook, earns the reader's sympathy. The heroine, Primrose Hill, is a lovely girl, who shows vulnerability and strength, and is intelligent and feminine.
In Running Rings" the reader finds people from all walks of life portrayed colourfully and convincingly, exposing hypocrites and fools and revealing good-natured and honest characters.
I recommend this brilliant book to anyone, it is guaranteed to make you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McLaren does it Again, 7 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
Another fast-moving, hugely entertaining novel from McLaren. What genius to come up with the plot and follow it through with such ability and style. I was hooked from the first page and just loved how he mixed the sinister dealings of the underworld with the totally hilarious.
The best read for a long time and definitely my favourite yet. Roll on his next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Christmas present problems solved in one fell swoop!, 9 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
If you haven't read "Black Cabs", John McLaren's last book - then you should have done. If you have read it, then you'll know what to expect from his new book. And "Running Rings" won't be a disappointment. It's a classic thriller that's guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat. I read it from cover to cover in one weekend - and that's a rare feat for me. The plot's fast-moving, tough, gritty and funny - all at the same time. I can't recommend John McLaren's writing highly enough. And once you've read this one, do yourself a favour and get hold of "Black Cabs" too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars McLaren's best yet, 28 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
This is McLaren's best novel yet. I thought Black Cabs was brilliant, but this is un-putdownable. He has the knack of conveying instant characterisation and keeps up a cracking pace right from the start. The only thing that worries me is the realistic way the gang take over a small west country town - the planning is so meticulous, the detail so convincing, that I wondered if someone might try it for real!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Cabs is Better, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Rings (Paperback)
Having loved black cabs and press send, i was really looking forward to runnig rings. However it wasn't up to the usual high standards. It was a struggle to reach the end,i kept going incase it got better but it never really got going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Rings
Running Rings by John McLaren (Paperback - 3 Sep 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews