Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need it, even if you think you don't.
I'm a struggling digital artist, always looking forward for new tutorials and useful bits of info about color theory, since you never know enough about it. I bought this book after reading some other reviews and I'm really glad I did.

I wasn't familiar with James' blog, even though I'm a big fan of all his work for his Dinotopia series. His prolific...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Jorge Carrero

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Realistic Painting
Not what I expected but nevertheless the content has opened up a new way of looking at subjects to paint. It guides the painter to see what is not immediately apparent. I found the mix of the writers imaginary works with real subjects a little confusing. It would have been a better guide if it had been written as a manual for dealing with colour and light and the filling...
Published on 16 Mar 2011 by Mr. B. H. Bullock


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need it, even if you think you don't., 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
I'm a struggling digital artist, always looking forward for new tutorials and useful bits of info about color theory, since you never know enough about it. I bought this book after reading some other reviews and I'm really glad I did.

I wasn't familiar with James' blog, even though I'm a big fan of all his work for his Dinotopia series. His prolific contributions to this blog and, eminently, his teaching career, have given him the ability to explain everything clearly, with some of the most beautiful examples you could hope to have, all done by Mr. Gurney himself. There's a lot to like and learn from this book, everything is understandable and achievable, and his Gamut references are priceless. I have a modest collection of books and DVD's about color, but this work is, by far, the best I have ever read.

With this amazing print quality, all of the great advice and knowledge, and for this price, you really need this book, even if you are a classical or digital artist, or just like art for what it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
Length:: 1:01 Mins

Color and Light is the latest book from James Gurney and it's fantastic. It is a very accessible guide that's filled with interesting and useful information on color and light. It's fortunate we have so many colors today at our disposable, and now with this book, something to help make sense of them.

The book talks about color in a very practical sense, as you would see them in life. The lessons are observations of light and colors from James Gurney's years of painting experience. He brings his points across with his own beautiful paintings as examples, clearly explaining why and how he uses colors. It amazes me the amount of work James Gurney has created over the years, and this book is filled with them, from his plein-air to Dinopedia paintings.

There are lessons on sources of light, light and form, understanding the color wheel, how light reacts with surfaces and other elements, and visual perception. You'll learn interesting things like why the moon looks blue, when happens to light when it travels through green canopy, tips on mixing colors, and a whole lot more. There are lots of tips and techniques included. The book is also well researched and I enjoy reading the history of color as they were used in the past by other artists.

It's really a no-brainer to pick this up if you're into creating art, or even if you just want to check out the beautiful paintings in the book.

Highly recommended reference. And you should also check out his other book Imaginative Realism: How to Paint What Doesn't Exist.

(There are some pictures of the book on my blog, just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
"Color and Light" is a really good book and a better purchase. Result of the passion for research and thirty years of experience, it shows how the traditional artistic knowledge is the base of contemporary realistic illustration too.
With the same spirit with wich Leonardo da Vinci, in his "Tattato della Pittura", showed that the road to better represent reality, was the analysis of physical phenomena, rather than the simply copy of other painters' work, Gurney investigates with his distinctive scientific approach the light and visual perception phenomena, that bind the Color to the Light, between ancient and modern knowledges, describing how they can be used with success in the artistic profession.

Above all, Gurney demonstrates how the direct experience will lead to image more effectively than the use of photographs and virtual simulations.
Therefore, the book is recommended not only to the illustrators who use traditional techniques, but also to those who think that mastering the illustration is the result of practical only, while the theoretical knowledge is superfluous.

If I have to find small defects - that absolutely does not reduce the total value of the book - I can say that the structure of the edition, which devotes two pages to each topic, not always connecting the content to pages later, it is sometimes scattered, making the book is not only a practical manual or a collection of articles, nor a treaty. Therefore, I particularly liked the chapters more homogeneous, such those about the gamut and pigments, which I found really valuable, while the first chapter, about the representation of color and light in Old Masters' painting, it seemed to me a little hasty, almost a second introduction.

In conclusion, I thank James Gurney for giving us this book, which is a generous gift of his experience and his love for art to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gem in Dinosaur clothing, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
I had previously been put off this book by the extensive imaginary scenes including dinosaurs. Once on offer at a reduced price at Amazon I took the plunge.
The explanations of landscape light effects and how to analyse and paint them are extensive and exceptionally good, despite the dinosaurs !

This should be on the shelf of every budding landscape artist to assist with the essential core requirement of capturing various light conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out, all lazy art and design teachers!, 22 Dec 2010
By 
David Briggs (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
I'm very pleased that James Gurney's new book "doesn't contain recipes for mixing colours or step by step painting procedures" (Color and Light, p. 9). Much much better, it shows how an artist of his calibre THINKS about colour and light.

Any single book on this subject can only be an introduction, but what an introduction this is! The book is very generously illustrated with the author's own works, plus those of many of his favourite past masters. These images fully justify their place by showing us what can be achieved, especially from the imagination, by those who are willing to go beyond a simplistic approach to "colour theory".

Gurney admits that when he set out to write the book, he himself at first underestimated the complexity of the subject (p. 222), and found that he needed to research aspects of physics and visual perception more deeply than he had previously. I suspect it's no coincidence that some of his most perfectly realized imaginative paintings, including the sleeping dinosaur on the cover and Titanoboa on p. 165, date from 2009.

The modern books and websites recommended by Gurney for further reading (pp. 220-1) will probably be the most accessible resources for the next steps in your explorations, but it may be worth mentioning that many of the older texts he lists are available for free download or reading online from googlebooks, archive,org and HathiTrust.

I'm quite certain that Color and Light will mark the beginning of the end for the simplistic approach to color that still predominates in art teaching. If you are an art or design student, please get this book, study it, and then pester your teachers ceaselessly until THEY study it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Jorge Macedo "Micky" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
This should have been my school book in Arts.... Loads of information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing useful for both digital and traditional artist it is ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
amazing useful for both digital and traditional artist
it is also helpful for comic artist sculptors and many more
and if you've had trouble understanding certain terms live RGB or volume or highlights this book will explain it to you in a un- patronising way!
and it also has a lot of beautiful art inside
although it does have a lot more light techniques inside then colour ones.
you should defiantly get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
Fascinating book about light and colour for the intermediate and advanced artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
This book it tremendously well explained and entertaining. The illustrations are great and will appeal to everyone. An inspiring book for any artist wanting to learn new tips and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice book, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Filipe Costa Luz "Filipe Luz" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter (Paperback)
Nice color information with very useful diagrams.
All the info is very well illustrated by adequate images (fantasy genre).
Important tool for artists (special for visual effects, colorists or mattepainters).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter
Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter by James Gurney (Paperback - 9 Dec 2010)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews