Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars favourite babies...
I've always loved Anne Geddes pictures, but have never read any of her books... unfortunately they're not available in Denmark. But this book was a pleasant surprise! Not only did I get the names of my favourite babies... but also the stories behind the pictures. Some are funny, some are sad... but all are worth reading!
Published on 4 Dec 2000 by sp@fbi.dk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars for fans of Anne Geddes
Her fingerprint is very distinct and given the very homogenous images this is indeed for her fans. Too bad these images have been somewhat diluted by too many copycats falling short of the original photographer's bright ideas and excellent execution.
Published 8 months ago by freephotog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars favourite babies..., 4 Dec 2000
This review is from: Until Now (Paperback)
I've always loved Anne Geddes pictures, but have never read any of her books... unfortunately they're not available in Denmark. But this book was a pleasant surprise! Not only did I get the names of my favourite babies... but also the stories behind the pictures. Some are funny, some are sad... but all are worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What an amazing book., 31 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Until Now (Hardcover)
Wow! What an amazing book this is. The photographs are some of the best I have seen in a great while and the stories behind them are inspiring. The great vision and emotion that has gone into creating such outstanding pieces of modern art are an inspiration to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning look at Anne Geddes work, 30 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Until Now (Hardcover)
This book contains some of the most amazing photographs I have ever seen. The work which has gone into creating such images must have been tremendous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, Bold Baby Book!, 29 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Until Now (Hardcover)
The hardcover version of this book deserves more than five stars. It is the most enjoyable and rewarding book of baby photographs that it has been my pleasure to view and hug. I vastly prefer it to the paperback version.
The book has lots of modestly done baby nudity, and a little partial adult female nudity that is totally tame and artistic.
One of the pleasures of this book is that the images are HUGE! In some cases (such as with preemies), the babies are almost life size. The reproduction quality and paper are outstanding, so you can almost feel like you are present with these sleeping, mewling, cuddling, delightful little creatures!
I recently reviewed Ms. Geddes's Black-and-White: Photofolio. Until Now overcomes the limitations that I found in that wonderful work. There are many more images here (113), the size and reproduction are better here, and Ms. Geddes has provided interesting notes about the origins of each photograph.
The book begins with a nice quotation from Pablo Casals about the potential that is represented by each new life. The images connect the babies to nature (appearing as part of fruits and vegetables, masquerading as insects and animals, and overwhelmed with flowers) and to other babies and people. Many of the images also play with the thought that babies are angelic. Beyond that, there is a strong message of the connection that all humans have with one another.
If you are like me, you won't fall in love with all of these photographs. Sometimes sleeping babies aren't exactly the right models for the compositions Ms. Geddes has designed. On the other hand, sleeping babies are perfect in many images here, such as the baby lying upside down on a woman's abdomen.
But almost all of the images of babies and children who are awake are amazingly good. How does she do it?
A few of the images where the babies are extremely small seemed a bit contrived to me, but they are technically very well done.
My only complaint about the book is that a few of the images on two pages are marred by the center crease, and should have been reproduced differently.
Here are some of my many favorites in this volume:
Zac & Georgina 1991; Woodland Fairy 1995; Phillip & Arin 1993; Eddie with Scott & Sean 1993; Cabbage Kids 1991; Caleb (head version) 1997; India 1992; C.J. 1996; Ruby 1994; Zac 1992; Rebecca 1991; Christopher 1995; Four Angels 1996; Peony Angel 1995; Trent & Joel 1992; Aleesha & Jessie 1992; Crocodile Tears 1990; Linda & Ben 1994; Aunty Biddy's Face 1996; Boys & Doves 1993; Kieran & Abigail as Angels; and Jim, Flora & Pearl.
I also suggest that you think about how you could create your own imaginative versions of these images with your own children and grandchildren. Imagine what a great gift of enhanced self-image that could be for the child in the future. Rather than wanting to hide her or his baby picture (like those nude shots on the rug), the child can draw upon the photograph as a source of self-image and strength.
Evoke the potential of all those around you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Until now, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until Now: Pupil's book (Hardcover)
Superb book full of outstanding photo's and idea's, well worth getting a copy of this work of art from Anne Geddes. Arrived within the time stated in really good condition, packaging could of been a bit better but all in all i'm very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars for fans of Anne Geddes, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until Now: Pupil's book (Hardcover)
Her fingerprint is very distinct and given the very homogenous images this is indeed for her fans. Too bad these images have been somewhat diluted by too many copycats falling short of the original photographer's bright ideas and excellent execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too black and white!!!..., 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
As usual stunning work and cute subjects. However I didn't find the photographs particularly appropriate for a calendar, there seemed to be no effort made to represent the different months and seasons of the year. Too dull and too black and white, for what should be a cheerful and uplifting subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny!, 25 May 2001
This review is from: Until Now Journal (Hardcover)
An excellent portrail of the innocence of infancy, capturing life at its most vulnerable stage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Until Now: Pupil's book
Until Now: Pupil's book by Anne Geddes (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews