Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For true Far Sideophiles only
This is a great book, literally as well as figuratively speaking. It weighs in at about 19lbs (according to my unreliable scales), so you'll want to be home when it arrives...picking it up at a depot could be a painful exercise! It consists of two lovely hardback books (glossy pages) encased in a high-quality cardboard cover. The quality of the books partly explains why...
Published on 12 Nov 2003 by dwaas76

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice but not practical
I'm glad to possess the complete far side now but, alas! The two volumes are very big and heavy, difficult to handle: kind of two big dictionaries...
The cartoons inside are much smaller than the original Larson's drawings: so lines have become extremely thin and the halftone screen has lost its characteristic, visible dotted pattern. This ruins Larson's graphic work.
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Enrico De Vita


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice but not practical, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Enrico De Vita "catmews" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
I'm glad to possess the complete far side now but, alas! The two volumes are very big and heavy, difficult to handle: kind of two big dictionaries...
The cartoons inside are much smaller than the original Larson's drawings: so lines have become extremely thin and the halftone screen has lost its characteristic, visible dotted pattern. This ruins Larson's graphic work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic history, 10 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Well, what can one say? Gary Larson. Either you love the man, or you hate him. For those of you who do love him, this collection is a must-have. It's huge, but with very good quality, and not expensive at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 July 2010
By 
Anlaug Furu "Annie-Bu" (Pewsey, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
For any Gary Larson fans this a must. Be warned though; it is ginormous!!! Annoyingly I bought it for a best friends 30th and I have never given somebody something I wanted so much, I will almost certainly be getting myself a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Far Side..., 31 Jan 2010
By 
Henry Hamelle (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Huge and heavy hardcover box received here in Paris, and in almost-perfect condition... can't wait to start reading it!! A big THANKS from France :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unfettered world of off-beat humour, 4 April 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
I first encountered the Far Side in 1984. It took me ten minutes of flicking through the pages of my room-mate's book to start laughing. An hour later, I had not stopped. The Far Side was then, is now, the most off-beat, quirky, odd and un-PC series of cartoons I've ever seen, always challenging the sacred cow, and yet somehow always managing to stay just on this side of the good-taste line.

It's not just sacred cows that get Gary Larson's attention. Sacred pigs, sacred snakes, sacred fleas. Almost everything in Larson's world has a religion made about it at some point. Then there's gangster poodles, living-room snake pits, desert island pranks, the eternal struggle between dogs and postmen, heaven and hell (welcome to heaven -- here is your harp / welcome to hell -- here is your accordion). This is a world of fat, ugly Americans, ducks, cavemen, mad scientists, gun-slingers and table-tennis players, chipmunks, aliens, bad kids and nosey neighbours. Ants, termites, cheetahs, wilderbeast, polar bears, archaeologists, cooks, cowboys (and pigboys). It's an endless cavalcade of answers to questions you never asked, and questions to answers you thought were settled in your childhood.

If odd humour is your thing, then I can't recommend The Far Side enough, and this enormous, heavy, two volume collection of every Far Side cartoon ever is clearly the one to own. On the other hand, if you like your humour straight up, predictable, comfortable, and above all safe, steer clear: you won't get the jokes, and, if you do, you won't like them.

Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid!, 31 Aug 2011
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
A formal description of this book saying that it contains all the published Far Side cartoons, published chronologically, with inserted essays from the author and more than a few letters of complaint (or bemusement ) from the public , seems a little inadequate. I feel it needs a little more pep than that. So here goes ........

This is a monster of a book. Its huge. And its very likely to eat up many hours of the day after you purchase it. While not fitting the normal format of a "page turner" this is exactly what it is - you can't help but just turn over and check out another page: you may come upon a classic "The Holsteins Visit the Grand Canyon" or "The Real Reason Dinosaurs Died Out" - you may come upon gems you have never seem before (so I can't describe them to you!). But what you will do is be amazed at the strange and wonderful world that Gary Larson created.

Yes the book is heavy, no I don't think you will be able to read it in bed, yes the pictures could have been larger - but that would have only compounded the first two issues, and yes the price is attached to the box - but when you see the look at the cows faces, or you encounter a crocodile being pushed out of a maternity ward with a broom, do you really care about such things.

This is a wonderful collection of warped and splendid humour - and at the time of writing its half price! Do yourself a favour - buy it.

As you may have guessed - it comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the movie!!, 7 May 2011
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This MUST be the ultimate for any fan (and who isn't) of Gary Larson and The Far Side. Who needs the leather-bound edition?? We'll beside me and all the other fans who just can't afford it.
Take a year off and set aside 6 months to read it and the other 6 months stuffing all your innards back in due to splitting your sides laughing. From 'Beware of the Doug' to 'Hells video store'
they're literally ALL here in the one book. I did myself a great favour when I bought this. Do as I did, prescribe yourself ! cup of tea, 2 slices of toast with your fave spread, a glass of fresh juice
and 4 pages of the far side in the morning before anything else. then, AND ONLY THEN, can you start the day in the right headspace. Great gift idea as well. Let me know if you agree or not.
oh by the way, if you get it, don't drop them on your foot as the two books together weigh 3/4 of a metric tonne, (or just a bit under)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars farside, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
farside is very very funny stuff. I didnt realise how BIG and HEAVY the whole collection was so had it delivered to me (because it was free) then had to travel with it on a plane was a big hassle so i recomend paying for postage to wherever you are, even if its more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely happy with Complete Farside, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
OMG - how good is this - everything I have always wanted & all in 2 BIG volumes. Laugh a minute stuff & heavy enough to keep the door open ona windy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete far side, 29 April 2010
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Big heavy book with quality binding, with nearly 4000 cartoons. Does it need explanation? A good gift for fans of the Far Side and people who enjoy a good sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Far Side
The Complete Far Side by Gary Larson (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2003)
100.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews