Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For true Far Sideophiles only
This is a great book, literally as well as figuratively speaking. It weighs in at about 19lbs (according to my unreliable scales), so you'll want to be home when it arrives...picking it up at a depot could be a painful exercise! It consists of two lovely hardback books (glossy pages) encased in a high-quality cardboard cover. The quality of the books partly explains why...
Published on 12 Nov 2003 by Sophietica

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice but not practical
I'm glad to possess the complete far side now but, alas! The two volumes are very big and heavy, difficult to handle: kind of two big dictionaries...
The cartoons inside are much smaller than the original Larson's drawings: so lines have become extremely thin and the halftone screen has lost its characteristic, visible dotted pattern. This ruins Larson's graphic work.
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Enrico De Vita


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For true Far Sideophiles only, 12 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This is a great book, literally as well as figuratively speaking. It weighs in at about 19lbs (according to my unreliable scales), so you'll want to be home when it arrives...picking it up at a depot could be a painful exercise! It consists of two lovely hardback books (glossy pages) encased in a high-quality cardboard cover. The quality of the books partly explains why the price is so high.
The book contains enough Far Side cartoons to keep you going for months, well, days if you're a real fan. I wasn't really impressed by Steve Martin's foreword, but the introductions to the chapters are good. The bit I like best (apart from the cartoons themselves) are the letters to the editor that are included next to some of the panels..absolutely brilliant!
All this makes the steep price tag well worth it. If you're a fan, buy it now! If you know any real fans, buy it for them and they'll love you forever.
Oh yes, downsides. Well, as the previous reviewer says, it's too heavy/bulky to take to the loo or read in bed comfortably. It's also a tad difficult to read on public transport. If you're giving it to somebody else beware: there's a white bit with the price on it printed on the top of the case (inside the plastic wrapper). I haven't quite worked out how to camouflage that yet. On the other hand, it's a good (although not too subtle) way to show how generous you've been (especially as it says £100, and you'll get it for £70 here at Amazon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 2 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Awesome! In size, weight, and quality, this collection is 101%. This is the complete Gary Larson - team it with "The Prehistory of the Far Side" - and you have it all. If you are amused or curious about looking at life from a different angle, then don't hesitate. This is for you. There was nothing like Larson before he appeared and there are NO pretenders to the throne. I am at least glad that future generations in my family will know what made me laugh. Do cows stand up when the cars have gone past? Look and see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Far Side collection, 11 Mar 2004
By 
Andrew Parodi (Oregon, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
THE COMPLETE FAR SIDE is a two-volume collection of every Far Side comic ever created. The volumes are beautifully bound, and the reproductions are first rate - perhaps better than they've ever looked anywhere. Most are black-and-white, but there are several color reproductions as well. Creator Gary Larson has arranged the comics year-by-year, occasionally providing a brief preface for a section, as well as a few letters he's received from readers over the years. The most hilarious preface concerns Larson's fear that a certain item in a drawing chosen for a book cover (the old lady's head on the cover of IN SEARCH OF THE FAR SIDE) looks phallic. The most unusual letter is from a member of the Sons of Italy (a group in the United States that fights defamation against Americans of Italian descent), complaining about a comic where a sandwich named Luigi is sent to "sleep with the forth graders." Just a small taste of the diverse reactions this comic genius has elicited from people.
This one's definitely going on my wish list! :)
Andrew Parodi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sadly missed, 7 Jun 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
when gary larson 1st appeared it was with a sigh of relief from all who mourned the sad passing of the truly inspired chas addams.Larson effortlessly stepped into those too long vacated shoes.

this collection is a superb roundup of some of the finest subversive, perverse & downright odd humour this self righteous planet has ever seen. cows plotting mans downfall,neanderthal mans greatest cock-ups,evil rhino's,what dog's are actually saying & sarky wildlife are just the tip of this wildly spinning iceberg.
you'll not tire of returning to them time & again and with this beautifully presented boxset,you'll be laughing your head off in real style & with amazons generous reduction what else are you waiting for? If you've not seen larson before then get stuck in here you lucky lucky person!its worth every last penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Farside, 23 Oct 2003
By 
Rod Chambers (Newport, Gwent Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This is not a book for fans of the Farside. This one is strictly for the "Fans". But if you are not put off by a £70 price tag I guess you know which category you belong in anyway. The picture does not do this book justice. It is HUGE in every sense. It is very heavy. The postman almost ruptured himself when handing it to me. It requires a desk and comfy chair to sit down and read it in comfort. You won't be taking this one into the bathroom with you. Not unless losing circulation in your legs doesn't bother you. Both the books and the slipcase are of a quality that does the cartoons justice. The pages themselves are all high quality high gloss paper. The sheer physical construction is excellent, and I can't imagine this one ever falling apart with use. And you will keep going back to this again and again. If you are a fan and are worried at the prospect of spending this amount of cash on a book....don't be. It's well worth the price for an item of this quality. And to have every single Farside cartoon in such a good quality edition? Cheap at half the price. You won't be disappointed with this in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book Set, 13 Dec 2003
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Don't be put out off by the price - this is a high quality item.
It is very heavy, but that just shows the quality of the item. The slip case, binding and glossy paper used internally all justify the price.
Another review mentioned the price being stuck on the slip case -mine simply peeled off without a problem
My only real complaint is that the images could have been made bigger. Mostly there are four to a page, sometimes three. Two to a page would have been more impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Far Side - A problem, 6 Feb 2010
By 
C. Hurst (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
It is very useful that a set of two books can not only give you a complete compendium of Gary Larson's jokes but can also be used for serious weight training.

Outside of the original King James Bible I don't think I have ever seen bigger or heavier books. Promotional pictures do not give a hint of quite how massive they are. I am a relatively fit and strong male but I find they can only be read comfortably by being laid on a very sturdy table.

No problem with the content - hilarious as expected, but I might just suggest to the publishers that a set of 6 smaller books would be more practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, the best way to view Gary's masterpieces, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
If you even suspect you know a Gary Larson fan (and who Isn't) this is the PERFECT gift, and If You are that fan you owe it to yourself to order this beautiful, comprehensive collection.
The fact that the Far Side books I leant and never got back over the years gave me the excuse to treat myself.
The quality of binding, paper and printing are just superb,I have to say it is the best way to view Gary's masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future museum piece, 28 Sep 2010
By 
John Middleton (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Gary Larson was of course a genius. I loved his Far Side cartoons in the 1980's, and even today miss that Far Side greeting cards appear to now be a thing of the past. His work in a single panel - just a handful of square inches - was always excellent. The joke might be obvious, or subtle (or both). Reality and absurdity juxtaposed together. I'd love to say that the Far Side was a thinking man's (or woman's) comic, but in fact it was everyman's comic.

This is then the complete collection of the Far Side comics, in two hardbound volumes surrounded by a slipcase. There is an introduction by Larson, and then every Far Side comic he ever drew...well, had published, anyway. The only thing missing is the content of Prehistory of the Far Side - but how do you work that into a collection like this organically?

Its expensive, but like the Complete Calvin, cheap at the price. Also, its large and weighty - not the kind of thing you can read on public transport.

This is the definitive Far Side collection, and will last forever. Probably, millions of years from now, the last copy will be preserved in a museum, being read by intelligent giant cockroaches and presumed "to have been used...for ritual purposes". How right they will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but heavy, 11 May 2010
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This is not so much a book as an heirloom for generations to come, My son already asked me to specify it in the will. I was bowled over by the number of full colour cartoons the two volumes contain. You told me it was heavy and you wern't joking. I employ two teenagers to lift the books up and turn the pages for me. So far the number of cartoons that I really dont 'get' you could count on the fingers of four hands. I can imagine in the future a group of survivors of the 'big mistake' huddled in a rude shelter and looking at this collection as the definitive guide to life pre-nuclear winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Far Side
The Complete Far Side by Gary Larson (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: £99.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews