Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, lots of stats to back up Dr Stanley's comments
Excellent book, if you are looking for evidence of how millionaires think. Easy to read, well researched. I didn't want to put it down.
Published 19 months ago by Jenni Williams

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Limp Follow-On to The Millionaire Next Door
This book is very seriously flawed in its methods, writing, and conclusions.
If you want to learn more about becoming wealthier, I suggest you read "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" and "The Cash Flow Quadrant instead.
The author surveyed hundreds of people in a few suburban communities. 733 turned out to be millionaires. The book is based on the self-reported results and...
Published on 4 Aug 2004 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, lots of stats to back up Dr Stanley's comments, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
Excellent book, if you are looking for evidence of how millionaires think. Easy to read, well researched. I didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Millionaire Mind, 18 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
I have just re-read this book, several years' after first reading it. I found its academic and analytical approach helpful, and enjoyed refreshing my memory on the sections about the economically productive household, and spare time activities and habits of the wealthy. However, the section that struck me particularly on second reading was about choice of work, and the message that most wealthy people feel that their work is a vocation, and they have not made a choice between fun work, and work that is well-paid. This is definitely an interesting book, and a good follow on from "The Millionaire Next Door".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its all about working harder than the rest, 31 July 2007
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
I haven't read The Millionaire Next door but it concluded that there were a lot of millionaires around and that they were ordinary people.

Other peoples wealth and how they earned it is a fascinating subject. Even more fascinating is trying to discover how it would be possible for any normal individual to acquire wealth.

This book splits readers into two camps either it is the blindingly obvious or it is a fascinating read. I like to read it and and read it twice.

The problem is those of us who are not millionaires would like to believe that those who have made money have done it by some trick. It is upsetting to read therefore that the top five success factors ware

Integrity
Discipline
Social skills
A supportive spouse
Hard work- more than most people.

It also confirmed that most millionaires had been told that they were not intellectually gifted or smart enough to succeed.

The out come is that they work hard at what they know how to do. They pay people to do what they cannot do and they take advice.
They stick to what they know and do it better than other people

They do not parade their wealth and try and get value for money.

Like most self help books it takes far too long to tell you the same thing and there are a lot of tables which do not bring much to the party.

The answer is if you want it enough you have to work for it and not spend it in the meantime.

If you want to spend it then don't expect to have it. It is a depressed for the terminally lazy and those who want it now.

Surely there is a middle course that is hard work and enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Limp Follow-On to The Millionaire Next Door, 4 Aug 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Hardcover)
This book is very seriously flawed in its methods, writing, and conclusions.
If you want to learn more about becoming wealthier, I suggest you read "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" and "The Cash Flow Quadrant instead.
The author surveyed hundreds of people in a few suburban communities. 733 turned out to be millionaires. The book is based on the self-reported results and perceptions of those 733.
Because of the way the sample was selected, you won't get much variety in type of millionaire. Very few inherited-money millionaires make it into the sample. Also missing are 17-year-old models who are on the cover of every magazine, basketball players who sit on the bench for the Celtics and earn millions annually, 25 year old ex-founders of Internet companies, and so forth.
Also, the results are not segmented very much. It would have been nice to have been able to slice the data to look at oneself and see where each of us fails to match up to the standard. This might have provided some ideas about what each person needs to do differently if one wants to become wealthier.
A lot of interesting questions are missed as a result. Are different paths working better now than in the past? What takes the least effort (if one is to be self-made)? What takes the least risk? What takes the fewest number of years?
Most observers would agree that the New Economy has changed the wealth distribution in the U.S. You will look in vain for much on this subject.
Also, since we are only looking at millionaires, we can't find out what is significant if we don't see how their attitudes and lifestyles are different from similar people who are nonmillionaires. That control group is essentially missing in this case.
Finally, what are the odds of success if you do what these people did? How much does it improve your odds of success? You might find that the reported variables are not the essential ones. But the way the study was done, you can't tell.
A good example of the problem of cause and effect was the finding that the richest millionaires played the most golf. Now, was that because the richest people can afford the time and money to play more golf, or because golf contributes to becoming wealthier? You can't tell from this research.
Next, the good part. The book certainly espouses good middle class values. Work hard, stick with your spouse, watch the kids' sporting events, entertain your friends. No one will go off the deep end following this advice.
Probably the most encouraging part of the book was the assertion that millionaires were not tops in SAT scores and college grades. Anyone who has gone to a high school or a college reunion would probably have already figured that out. The key points, that millionaires are more likely to be sociable and not accept setbacks as permanent) have been reported many times before. There's nothing new there.
You should also realize that doing something different from this model does not doom you to the poor house. Some rich people do spend more time on ski vacations than with tax advisors. Some rich people do use credit cards (it's hard to travel if you don't). Some rich people have been through divorces. I can go on, but realize that your life is what you make of it. Keep improving yourself and what you do, and you can be as financially successful as you want to be.
May your progress towards the wealth you desire be irresistible and based on your values!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
Firstly, i recommend buying this second hand as it can be a lot cheaper and still in good condition. I was happy with the condition of the book i received, you could hardly tell it had been used and read before! The read itself was very informative and intriguing hence my 4 star rating. I would recommend this book, it has given me a alternate way of viewing things.
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars handy and good, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
m brother was looking for this copy so when I was on amazon and saw this copy, I bot it for him and since then he is ever quoting this book to his employers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books I love Books and the sharpening of Minds., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
Everything was exactly as I needed it to be and delivery time frame was excellent thank you
will pass the good news on to my family and friends and network
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
I love it because I am interested in the subject anyway and it is easy to read with just the right length sections. Quality excellent xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
A very good book that gives an insight that anyone can be successful.

very informative with many references and statistics.

A good read for any entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent non fiction read, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Millionaire Mind (Paperback)
Best book in a long time......very informative and gave me great insight....easy to read too....author was very engaging especially for anin fiction book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Millionaire Mind
The Millionaire Mind by Thomas J. Stanley (Hardcover - Feb 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews