Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most interesting book I've read on the subject of change in many years
Switch focusses on the importance of ensuring an emotional connection when making change. The book is written in a clear and practical way citing interesting stories that bring alive the concepts that the authors want to get across to the reader. Unlike many other books on change I found myself relaying the stories to my colleages as a way of sharing the learning I'd...
Published on 13 April 2010 by David Mitchell

versus
73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
This quote from Albert Einstein haunts my evaluation of Switch: How to Change Things When Change is Hard by Chip & Dan Heath, those Miliband brothers of the business world. Switch is a simple book. It is based on a simile - the emotional part of the mind is like an elephant, the rational part is like its rider, and getting them to work together requires roadwork...
Published on 25 Mar 2011 by Allen Baird


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, a quick and easy read, 3 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is underpinned and framed by a series of examples that the authors use to illustrate their points. Fundamentally, this book is about how you can make changes in your organization or group more easily. They argue that often, when you face a cultural problem, it is not the people that are at fault: rather, you can improve the situation through environmental changes.

The book was quick and easy to read, and very helpful as a way of thinking about possible organizational changes, both for the theory they introduce as well as the examples they present. I would certainly recommend the book to anyone who desires to make a cultural change to their organization (as most of us do, I suspect), as well as to anyone interested in decision-making in general, though the book itself is very applied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent book, 14 Jun 2014
By 
B. Smith (north west england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and funny but not in a ridiculous way. The humour illustrates the points being made. Would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in how our minds work any age group and any profession. I would like to see it on the National Curriculum - worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are great, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. Very good insight into how our brain takes in change (or not)! I have told the stories used in this book many times in my work as a consultant and they really help people, and me to make change happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched and practical!!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe the best change-management book I've read! If you're looking for a pattern of why some changes succeed and others don't, then this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best business book in 2010, 22 April 2010
By 
Steven C (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is in line with Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us from Dan Pink and Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? How to Drive Your Career and Create a Remarkable Future from Seth Godin. They all talk about the same kind of topic, how your brain work, your motivation and how to learn using it.

I think it's good to read this three books within the same period of time.

Now more about the book, it's written by the Heath brothers, easy to read, full of case studies and well organized, easy to find back any information and even contain a brief summary of all the chapters (like made to stick). It will teach you how motivation work and what to use to make it easier for people to get motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First truly practical advices for managing change, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author very clearly explains what are the key elements of successful change. Examples are compelling. He also suggest how to act effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read as quickly as I could as I was trans-fixed! Really fascinating insight into ways in which you can make change with wonderful examples!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Positive and forward looking, which I found extremely refreshing in a sea of books that analyse problems but don't point you in a direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth 1000% reading, 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Irrespective whether you a busineman or a housewife, this book is all about making the change possible. I've read hundreds of books in last 30 years after graduating from University, but this is among the very few worthed the time and the money. I highly recommned it! don't loose time reading nonsense. Read this and makes sense!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wish I had read this years ago, so much explained in this brilliant book. Every financial planner should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard
Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard by Dan Heath (Audio CD - 16 Feb 2010)
£25.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews