Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eoin Colfer reaches new heights!
I have just finished reading Airman, and I must say, what a read! Colfer has proved that he is more than the flippant humour of Artemis Fowl, though he maintains the boyish appeal in this one. It is a thrilling, enjoyable book, with influences of Northern Lights, Jules Verne and Dumas abound; though since this story has an entirely original setting, there is a good...
Published on 12 Jan 2008 by P. Saunders

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was this written by Eoin Colfer
I have read all Eoin Colfer other books and enjoyed them all but didn't recognise his style in this book. If it was written by Eoin I hope this was only a temporary loss of form.
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by Dcsf M. Arrowsmith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eoin Colfer reaches new heights!, 12 Jan 2008
By 
P. Saunders "Mr Beacan" (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
I have just finished reading Airman, and I must say, what a read! Colfer has proved that he is more than the flippant humour of Artemis Fowl, though he maintains the boyish appeal in this one. It is a thrilling, enjoyable book, with influences of Northern Lights, Jules Verne and Dumas abound; though since this story has an entirely original setting, there is a good smattering of what we might now call "Colfer" within!

Well done to him, and may this book enjoy the success it deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The boy who could fly, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
Eoin Colfer is one of my favorite authors when it comes to children's books (make that young adult books) and I love the Artemis Fowl series and Half Moon Investigations. Airman was obviously and instant buy for me no matter what it was about. There's no magic or goblins in this one but there is a lot of fun and invention to be had with an alternate Irish history.

The books takes place in the Saltee Islands, which are actually part of Ireland, but are a separate country in book thanks to independence gained through a diamond mine fortune. The islands are a beacon of modern technology (the book is set in the 1880s) thanks to a benevolent king, a genius scientist and imaginative child named Conor. But when an evil Royal Guard assassinates the king he sets up Conor to take the fall and spend the rest of his life on the island's hellhole prison.

From this point on, the book takes a sort of Count of Monte Cristo twist with Conor assuming a new identity, learning all he can about being a formidable good guy and planning an elaborate escape through the use of manned flight.

It's very fasted-paced and you'll be unable to put the book down. Colfer's love of the Irish countryside and history is obvious once again, I can just imagine him out for a stroll deciding to use some enchanting little place he has discovered. The door is left open for a sequel of sorts, but I think it's just more of a deliberately ambiguous ending since tying up all loose ends would involve too much exposition. My second favorite non-Artemis Fowl book next to Half Moon Investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colfer in history, 1 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
The story of Conor Broekhart brings a new twist to the history of flight. Colfer brings the excitement of discovery, the tears of betrayal and hope of redemption to life with this book. I liked Conor's stay on Little Saltee best. I guess it was Conor's ability to keep hoping that impressed me the most.

I've liked all of his books thus far, and this book is no exception to that rule. Colfer's style of writing is highly readable and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rip-roaring lift off for new Dumas, 8 May 2008
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
Much as we love the Artemis Fowl books, this is something finer. Conor Broekhardt is born in the air (readers who love this kind of thing should also look out for Kenneth Oppel's AIRBORN and SKYBREAKER, which have a similar premise)to his proud youg parents. At first sickeningly successful - he's brilliant at everything, including fencing, is made a knight at about 10 after rescuing the Princess of the Saltee Islands where his father is captain of the King's Sharpshooters - it all takes a wonderfully dark turn when the King is assasinated. Conor is set up to take the blame, believed dead and taken in an iron mask to Little Saltee where prisoners spend their lives digging for diamonds.

Here both his scientific mind and his prowess with a blade are life-saving. How he gets even hardened criminals on his side, gathers a fortune and escapes is too good to give away, but there is a wonderful buouyancy and sense of fun about these books which I don't believe any boy of 11+ could resist. We'd like a sequel please Mr Colfer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Put It Down, 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
Another brillent book from Eoin Colfer. A fast action book that may appeal to an older audience. A historical based story it holds the reader interested all the time, with lots of twists and turns that will make it hard for you to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fabulous book!, 15 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
I read Airman immediately after reading the latest Artemis Fowl book. I love Eoin Colfer and was once again amazed by his storytelling ability. The feel of the book is different from Artemis Fowl, as well as his other wonderful book The Wish List - it felt like an old classic - like Treasure Island or The Three Musketeers - although it was also completely accessible to a modern audience. With characters spanning the whole spectrum from very noble to very evil while still being believable, and exciting action and descriptions. I hope they make it into a movie - it think it would translate very well to the big screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The boy who could fly, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
Eoin Colfer is one of my favorite authors when it comes to children's books (make that young adult books) and I love the Artemis Fowl series and Half Moon Investigations. Airman was obviously and instant buy for me no matter what it was about. There's no magic or goblins in this one but there is a lot of fun and invention to be had with an alternate Irish history.

The books takes place in the Saltee Islands, which are actually part of Ireland, but are a separate country in book thanks to independence gained through a diamond mine fortune. The islands are a beacon of modern technology (the book is set in the 1880s) thanks to a benevolent king, a genius scientist and imaginative child named Conor. But when an evil Royal Guard assassinates the king he sets up Conor to take the fall and spend the rest of his life on the island's hellhole prison.

From this point on, the book takes a sort of Count of Monte Cristo twist with Conor assuming a new identity, learning all he can about being a formidable good guy and planning an elaborate escape through the use of manned flight.

It's very fasted-paced and you'll be unable to put the book down. Colfer's love of the Irish countryside and history is obvious once again, I can just imagine him out for a stroll deciding to use some enchanting little place he has discovered. The door is left open for a sequel of sorts, but I think it's just more of a deliberately ambiguous ending since tying up all loose ends would involve too much exposition. My second favorite non-Artemis Fowl book next to Half Moon Investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars up in the sky, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. R. Hoad "Hoady" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airman (Hardcover)
The Airman (which i only finnished reading this moring) was an amazing read, it had all the ingredients needed for a good story: intresting characters, priness's and invetion. the story of connors flying matchine was a great one. i found myself quite often in the story shouting at him to do somthing, but then i relised i was jsut predicting what would happen, so arfter a while he did eventualy do what i told him to (A Book that listens to me!)
i picked up The Airman without even reading the blurb, Eoin Colfer has got to be my favorate writter from storys such as the Artimis fowl series and the Supernatralists which were all amazing books.

the only downside to this book was that i have now read it and want more. (ill just have to wait for Artimis Fowl and the time paradox)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars airman, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airman (Kindle Edition)
very good book and really enjoyed it may start slow but is amazing really recommend it to anyone interested in reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airman (Paperback)
I got this thinking my son would like to read it, he likes other Colfer books, but he didn't want to even give it a try. I did read it though and thought it was very well written, I didn't want to put it down! I'm hoping that I might get him to change his mind about reading it or that his siblings may try it. I recomend this book wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airman
Airman by Eoin Colfer (Audio CD - 26 Dec 2007)
Used & New from: 15.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews