Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Another fantastic novel by Danielle Steel.

Finally another lovely novel which is a relief after the last two Danielle Steel novels I reviewed.

This time her novel takes you on a family journey with four sisters, these sisters think the world of each other. A tragic accident changes their lives suddenly, and they have to learn to cope with everything...
Published on 24 April 2007 by Mrs. A. M. Chadwick

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Sorry everyone, but have to disagree with you on this one. I've read Danielle Steel novels over the years but lately I find they are just too lightweight, shallow and quite frankly boring. Ms Steel has a really annoying habit of repeating things over and over again, as if the reader was a complete idiot and didn't get what she was trying to say first time. I also find...
Published on 16 Oct. 2009 by CeeCee


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 April 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sisters (Hardcover)
Another fantastic novel by Danielle Steel.

Finally another lovely novel which is a relief after the last two Danielle Steel novels I reviewed.

This time her novel takes you on a family journey with four sisters, these sisters think the world of each other. A tragic accident changes their lives suddenly, and they have to learn to cope with everything that's happen. They all decide to change their lives so they can support one another.

I really don't want to say much more about the story as it would spoil it for you and I don't want to do that.

If you decide to buy this novel you won't be disappointed. The novel is an excellent read and very compulsive. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 16 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Amazing Grace (Paperback)
Sorry everyone, but have to disagree with you on this one. I've read Danielle Steel novels over the years but lately I find they are just too lightweight, shallow and quite frankly boring. Ms Steel has a really annoying habit of repeating things over and over again, as if the reader was a complete idiot and didn't get what she was trying to say first time. I also find her tendency to begin sentences with "And" and "But" infuriating. We were always taught at school that you should never do this. Anyway, just a minor point. The whole storyline was a farce, from the earthquake the likes of which hadn't been seen in San Francisco for decades, yet is barely touched upon, to the pop princess who wants to be a nurse! Danielle Steel's characters are always clichéd, the women always fabulously beautiful and thin, unless of course we're not supposed to like her, in which case she's fat and frumpy. In this particular novel you can cheerfully skip pages and miss nothing of the storyline. Maybe I've just outgrown her books and with the abundance of chick-lit novels on the market dealing with the nitty gritty of life, and whose heroines have midriff bulge and greasy hair at times, Danielle Steel comes a poor second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Her Best Ever, 5 May 2007
This review is from: Sisters (Hardcover)
I have read many Danielle Books but this one is the best. I would love to see it made it into a film.

Each one of these girls were great and you wanted sisters just like them

I would read this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising synopsis, but disappointing, 21 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Amazing Grace (Hardcover)
After a promising synopsis, "Amazing Grace" was a great disappointment.

The main characters are interesting enough: Beautiful socialite wife and mother Sarah happily married to finance wizard Seth. Megastar singer Melanie and her overpowering ambitious mother. Bright young redtop Sister Maggie, nurse and nun. And restless, rootless alcoholized (saved by the AA) former war correspondent Everett. During a major earthquake in San Francisco, the lives of these people are intertwined and their destinies changed forever.

There is surely enough material for a very interesting story when so many lives change direction. However, through Danielle Steel's pen only the surface is skimmed, the easiest and most likely solutions chosen. Most of what happens is given early in the book, and the lack of intrigue and digging deeper into the characters' minds and feelings make the book boring and predictable.

Even the earthquake itself, a disaster of huge dimensions, seems more like a well organized event than a tragedy craving the lives and homes of thousands. We are told what happens but somehow not convinced. Popstar Melanie's search for a meaningful life is a beautiful thought but somehow the convert does not ring through. Maggie's destiny is apparent the moment she meets Everett. The only hint of uncertainty regards Sarah and Seth's relationship. The book puts up the slightest questionmark, which allows for a tiny bit of page-turning in order to find out.

Having been a fan of Danielle Steel's for years, I know she can do better than this. She will certainly be back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent until a too sudden, too sugarcoated ending!, 24 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters (Hardcover)
In Danielle Steel's latest novel "Sisters", the story starts out with the usual trademark fairytale quality.

Four sisters with highly successful and interesting careers, are scattered around the world; New York, Los Angeles, Paris and Florence. Hardly your average bunch of ordinary lives.

But that's the beginning. The surface. The setting. Until tragedy strikes and man's vulnerability cuts through whatever glamourous lifestyles the sisters may seemingly enjoy.

Life is turned upside down. The reality is as unexpected, harsh and as far from a fairytale as can be. The best part of the book describes the developments straight forward, honest and with much warmth and insight.

That a happy ending awaits, is Danielle Steel's trademark. However, the way tragedy all too quickly literary turns into happiness is a bit too easy to give the story balance. The pieces of the puzzle fall into place so fast and conveniently for all the family members that the situation is hard to fathom even for the most soft-hearted.

Tragedies ARE overcome but usually it takes time and hardship to build up a new future.

This book could actually have been longer. A more natural development of the situation and not the lightening quick wrapping up of loose ends during the last fifty pages or so, would have given the story more credibility.

Happy solutions are nice, but the turning of events in "Sisters" is simply too sweet and sudden even for a fairytale.

I almost gave the book four stars, but those miraculous solutions broke the book's rhytme and was in too sharp contrast to the rest of the book which was five star quality. In fact, after the first appr. two thirds of the book I thought it one of Danielle Steel's best books ever.

All together an enjoyable read, somewhat lessonned by a too sugarcoated ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters (Kindle Edition)
As always Danielle Syteeles are well written and gripping. I have been reading her novels since I was about 15 and have never been disappointed yet. This novel hit a nerve with me as I am one of 4 sisters and what she wrote about in this book is exactly jhow my sisters and I would act together. If you have sister, read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Grace, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Grace (Paperback)
I thoroughlly enjoyed reading this book. It's the first Danielle Steel book I've read for some years, and was expecting it to be a bit on the cheesie side, as quite a few of her novels can be somewhat far fetched.

I was totally wrong in my expectations and found this book very easy to read and did well to hold my attention. I liked the characters of Melanie, Everett, Maggie, Sarah and Tom and thought it was nice to see the rich con man get his just deserts and being made an example of.

I also thought the earthquake was very good and realistic, seeing as there has been talk about the possibility of another major quake since the one in 1906.

Good, light, easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters (Kindle Edition)
Takes you on a family journey with four sisters, these sisters think the world of each other. Being one of five girls myself I could relate to the closeness these sisters shared.

A tragic accident changes their lives, and they have to learn to cope with everything that's happen. They all decide to change their lives so they can support one another.
Good storyline, couldn't wait to turn the pages.

I won't spoil it for you, so go on get the book & read it - you won't be dissappointed
.

If you decide to buy this novel you won't be disappointed. The novel is an excellent read and very compulsive. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chick Lit at Its Best, 3 April 2008
By 
Garden Goddess "Sal" (Old Kilpatrick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sisters (Paperback)
Haven't previously read this author however, after going through the best seelers rapidly at the moment, I thought I'd give it a go. Thoroughly enjoyed the first three quarters of this book as easy-to-read escapism for the train journey to work. The last potion did spoil this somewhat and came across as though the author had gotten bored with it and just wanted to meet the publisher's deadline. Consequently, whilst reasonably entertaining, will not rush to read another Danielle Steele!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 4 Mar. 2009
By 
Thinker - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amazing Grace (Hardcover)
This book was full of interesting characters and was one that gained pace for me as i read. It lulled a little in the middle but made up for that as i read on in the story and as a reader of various books by Danielle Steel it was in the top half of them. Not a bad choice if it is your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sisters
Sisters by Danielle Steel (Audio CD - 29 Jan. 2008)
£11.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews