Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half autobiography, half short stories
This book is a great compilation of short stories from and incorporating a mix of genres by a fantastic writer, with a commentary/autobiography between different periods in his writing. The stories themselves are fun to read, but the book was so enthralling for me because of the autobiographical sections, which made the stories more engaging because of the insight into...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Mr. S. Harrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Rather disappointed so far - though I haven't yet finished it. Not to the standard of his later books.
Published 1 month ago by CarolH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Autobiographical account of his earlier work, 24 Sep 2012
Please note this isn't a review of the Kindle edition merely a balancing review of this work, which as a book I found interesting if not spellbinding.

Dreamsongs is a collection of his earlier work progressing from when he first started writing to his work prior to The Game of Thrones. It is written with autobiographical passages, it is not a "new" story, it was never meant to be. To be fair to George the clue is in the title, a "RRetrospective".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 10 Jan 2012
If, like me, you came looking for a bit more Martin following on from reading the Ice & Fire works, then ultimately you won't be disappointed. Though most of these short stories are not in a similar vein to his masterwork, they are all entertaining and you can see as he progresses how his storytelling ability advances. The stories cover a variety of genres, and the book is set out in sections with commentaries between them. In actual fact the 'real life' progression is as interesting as some of the stories, though just a little sketchy on the personal details that impacted the more poignant stories. The stories themselves are varied and cover several genres, but many are thought-provoking or haunting nevertheless. Definitely recommened for new or dedicated readers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good fun read, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recognised some of these tales from editions of Analogue or other magazines. But I had not realised that George RR Martin was the author. "A song fo lya" and "Sandkings" for example. Some are truly excellent Science Fiction stories which give a feel for the golden age of SF. Some are mixed SF/horror tales and some are plain ghost stories. Like any collection there are some that don't catch your imagination, but I reckon this is an 80% book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs: Volume 1 (Hardcover)
Readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to books from George., 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. Ivan C. Wellgreen (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry but after you have been through Game of Thrones in book and TV series it's going to take a lot to outdo them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dream song, 8 Mar 2012
It was ok ,but I don't think I would get a another one .It wasn't what I expected,not like the other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selections from Dreamsongs, Volume 1: Fan Fiction and Sci-Fi from Martin's Early Years
Used & New from: £64.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews