Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ann coulter, Spawn of the Devil.
I found this book absolutely brilliant. A hilarious 'must read' for anyone who has an interest in politics that leans to the left. Coulters blaming of all things bad on single parents, atheists, (-and I quote) 'Ragheads', and homosexuals is suprisingly inoffensive and very funny.
I always make sure I buy her books second hand though. I'd hate to be funding her...
Published on 19 Aug 2008 by Gem

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling and Pathetic Display of Religious Fundamentalism
I am appalled how this woman generalizes her views on liberalism, not even supported by scientific studies but mostly quotes from various journals or newpaper articles, like from the Daily Telegraph, New York Sun, The Mirror or RollingStone, among others (which are reflections of the journalists' views - however, Ms Coulter uses their arguments as facts)... and she does...
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by SwordPen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling and Pathetic Display of Religious Fundamentalism, 30 Oct 2011
I am appalled how this woman generalizes her views on liberalism, not even supported by scientific studies but mostly quotes from various journals or newpaper articles, like from the Daily Telegraph, New York Sun, The Mirror or RollingStone, among others (which are reflections of the journalists' views - however, Ms Coulter uses their arguments as facts)... and she does it in the same manner Hitler won his early elections: accusing others of atrocities and thereby hiding his own intolerant views.

I can't find any tolerance in this book, and neither is there humility, compassion or respect for other people (except for those who agree with her fundamentalist opinions). That is, unfortunately, a deeply narcissistic stance.

Well, I have to assume that this author possesses some intelligence (else she wouldn't be able to write books, I'd say), but she lacks in many important areas. When I spotted her in a talk show stating that the US were bombing Egypt (confusing it with Libya), ahem, and changing the subject when being called out on this appalling mistake, not even showing the necessary grace of admitting to her embarrassing mistake. Unfortunately, she didn't show any kind of conflict- or communcational competence - which is also evident in this book.

Perhaps Ms Coulter should spend more time in libraries learning instead of resorting to this kind of fundamentalist, if not fascist logorrhoea. What scared me the most, actually, is that these books sell. Some people do listen to that reactionary, radical voice which would, should this go on, throw the United States back into the stone age. Books like this only encourage other nations to go back to the Anti-American positions which were found during the Bush administrations.

I read this because I didn't believe what I had heard about this author and this particular book, so I invested time and money to be able to form an opinion, and I can't say that I found any value in this book. Basically, what I found was a pathetic display of the worst kind of fundamentalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, for all the wrong reasons, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Dave McK (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Extreme right-wing propaganda of the worst kind, this poorly-argued, factually-bankrupt book from Ann Coulter will have you laughing in disbelief at the continuation of her career. Any time she attempts to critique the theory of evolution (she labels this "Darwinism" which is an essay-length fallacy in itself) the book devolves into outright creationist farce as several of the other reviews have mentioned. More puzzling is that fact that the stated central thesis of the book, to expose a godless "religion" of liberalism is abandoned wholesale for entire chapters at a time (apparently Ms. Coulter realised about three quarters of the way through Chapter 1 how pitifully little weight this argument had) in favour of cheap shots at a handful of controversial left-wing figures the likes of which would make even Michael Moore blush (if he swung that way politically). Someone should have taken her aside at an early stage and explained the several dozen gaping holes in her attempt to brand tenets of liberal political stances as somehow amounting to religion (an odd and hypocritical choice in the first place since she subjects her own faith, and the ways in which it informs her political and moral rhetoric, to none of the pitbull rigours she employs elsewhere) and we could have saved a hell of a lot of paper. But then Ms. Coulter's fanatical hatred of all things in nature (with the telling exception of oil) and naturalists would not have been served. Couldn't have that, eh Ann? Also of note are the frankly disturbing attitudes Ms. Coulter, clearly a woman of some intelligence, displays towards women's rights and the movements that support them, but it is better left to a female commentator to analyse these further - I will content myself with simply stating my revulsion. Lacking a direction, a point and the means to cogently argue it the book dissolves time and again into faith-based and politically-naive ranting, but as Ms. Coulter herself states: "The moment self-righteousness takes over, you are dealing with dangerous psychopaths" (Oh, the irony).

One of the few times one wishes one could award zero stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ann coulter, Spawn of the Devil., 19 Aug 2008
I found this book absolutely brilliant. A hilarious 'must read' for anyone who has an interest in politics that leans to the left. Coulters blaming of all things bad on single parents, atheists, (-and I quote) 'Ragheads', and homosexuals is suprisingly inoffensive and very funny.
I always make sure I buy her books second hand though. I'd hate to be funding her ability to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thinking Inside the Box, 5 Dec 2006
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ann Coulter is extremely intelligent, but she appears to see the world in stark shades of black and white with no shades of gray in between. This book is like a train wreck - you know going in you will be horrified, yet it is that horrified fascination and morbid curiosity that keeps you from turning away.

This author's philosophies are completely divergent from mine and I admit that her strident reiteration of her seemingly relentless views drive me up a tree. She has every right on earth to express her opinions and that same right applies to everyone else, including those who hold very different opinions. I can't stand the way she condemns those she calls liberals and claims that anybody who supports a remotely liberal philosophy is godless. Horse feathers! How on earth does she support the claim that liberals' beliefs are the anthesis of Biblical precepts? She fails to support that argment which I think is a fallacy at best and a sick indictment of a large segment of the population at worst. This hollers "intolerance" with painful reverberations.

Her weird hypothetical scenario of a Martian arriving in America, that Martian would be hard put to guess what the nation's official state religion is and would draw the conclusion that it was liberalism. Baloney! Since when is a political ideology a religion that includes worship of a deity? The arguments in this book are nonsensical at times and just don't add up.

Coulter also claims that Christianity has been outlawed in Massachusetts, but there is absolutely nothing to verify this. In fact, I have been to Massachusetts many times; know people there and let's just say that all Christian religions are flourishing. How does she explain the Kennedy family, a juggernaut of politicians from Massachusetts who are Catholic? I defy her to explain that one. Catholicism, which is also the religion I follow is a Christian faith. I have never once encountered religious intolerance in Massachusetts or a dearth of Catholic churches and people to do faith sharing with there.

The sheer smugness and tone of intolerance that underscore this book really turns my stomach. It is bad enough enduring the liberal bashing, but to make matters worse, Coulter stridently attacks Episcopalians, stating their church is not a real church. By whose standards? And what consitutes a "real" church to her? For Pete's sake!

I think it is stupid and counterproductive to indict entire groups of people. There is diversity in ALL groups, liberals and Christians included. Ms. Coulter does not even personally know most of the people she paints with her broad brush strokes in stark shades of black and white with no variation. How on earth can anybody make generalizations about any group of people, most of whom they don't even know? To add further insult to further injury, Ms. Coulter appears to snarl at anybody who dares disagree with her. Archie Bunker, the fictional bigot of "All in the Family" fame sounded quantum leaps more tolerant than Ms. Coulter EVER has!

Challenging and refuting Ms. Coulter was not difficult. Let's hope that she will take the Biblical passages about tolerance of others to heart before she writes another book or lambastes the widows of 9/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great takedown of liberalism, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adopting her usual hard-hitting yet highly substantiated argumentative style, Coulter links some of liberalism' stamp campaign issues such as abortion, evolution, eco-fascism, etc, to their Godlessness. She makes a number of excellent points on said topics and shows how much of a danger liberalism is for those of us who still care for the well-being of babies and unbiased apolitical scientific research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful awful book, 21 Dec 2008
Just pushing her own "shock value career", nothing interesting to say, the few good points she makes are clouded by here inability to build on any platform of honest reporting and common sense, most expensive toilet paper ive ever brought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars though-provoking, relentless, very funny, 10 July 2006
By 
D. Belinfante (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ann Coulter displays her brilliance as she dissects the Left's predilection for being wrong about just about anything. Abortion, education, science, the penal system, it's basically a primer on political life in the US (but it applies elsewhere in the West just as easily). It should not be difficult to decide, after reading this book, which side you want to be on. On the right, or on the wrong...

She exposes popular myths that exist about laws, politicians, history, lies that have been publically refuted long yet continue to be taught in school to children of unsuspecting parents.

She shows how the press whitewashes Leftist politicians' crimes and misdemeanors, while promoting their own political agenda against conservative opponents.

No matter what, at least the book will make you laugh out loud, a lot. But to just call this book funny would diminish its actual worth. It exposes those would destroy our society, and those who would let it be destroyed.

A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Witless: the Church of Egoism, 19 Jun 2007
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of Ms Coulter's statements is: "I defy any of my co-religionists to tell me they do not laugh at the idea of Dawkins burning in hell." Is that what Christians would call charity? Do her co-religionists really deserve her low opinion of them? Is eternal torture really a joyous idea? I notice that none of those reviewers who like her book has contradicted her on this point! So are they evil-minded sadists too? The religious Right do tend to reveal themselves as the last people you would like to have on your side in a crisis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An hilarious and passionate left-baiting polemic, 9 Oct 2009
By 
G. Imroth (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very witty and impassioned polemic against the internal inconsistencies, lies and plain stupidities of the Left (whom Ann Coulter misleadingly calls 'liberals', rather than, as I will from now on, 'progressives'). Of course, it is a Left-baiting diatribe, and none the less hilarious for that, given the po-faced self-regard with which progressives have set the political agenda and try to control what can be said and thought.

For example, 'John Dewey, the founder of public education in America, said, "You can't make Socialists out of individualists - children who know how to think for themselves spoil the harmony of the collective society which is coming ..." You also can't make socialists out of people who can read, which is probably why Democrats think the public schools have nearly achieved Aristotelian perfection' (page 152).

Or, with regard to the censorious over-reaction by progressives to 'The Bell Curve', which provided evidence of racial differences in IQ (progressives attacked the evidence as racist, rather than any proposed political solution), Miss Coulter says 'Only liberals (sic) could interpret a statement that people have varying IQs as a call to start killing people' (page 174).

Leftist balloons are also pricked in regard to lies concerning abortion ('partial-birth abortion' is the euphemism); inconsistency in AIDS propaganda; unearned respect for public-school teachers; and an hysterical over-reaction by women to the opinion that sex-differences are real. Except the last, these may not seem like subjects to joke about but I laughed out loud in a dozen places.

Unfortunately, Ann Coulter's merry iconoclastic progress is derailed on page 204 by a ridiculous misunderstanding of Darwinism. According to Darwin (she says), evolution must be true unless someone can prove that no complex organ could possibly evolve by small graduated steps. Darwin said exactly the opposite, of course. In 'On The Origin of Species', Darwin outlined four potential refutations of natural selection. Ann Coulter mangles the first case, which is that evolution would be false if an irreducibly complex organ were ever discovered (a riskier prediction in 1859 than now, given improved knowledge of microbiology, but still falsifiable).

I give only four stars because Miss Coulter's ignorance about evolution is unjustifiable and because she encourages Leftist authoritarians to call themselves 'liberals'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worrying for all the wrong reasons, 19 Sep 2009
I read this book shortly after reading Christopher Hitchens's God is
not Great and the two books are closer in style than the two authors
might care to admit. Both books are full of half thought out arguments
from writers incapable of differentiating between passionate criticism
and straightforward abuse. Neither bother to define the subjects of
their scorn ('liberals' for Coulter, 'religion' for Hitchens), and
the consequence is that after finishing them, the reader puts them
down slightly bewildered and taken aback as if punched in the face by
a complete stranger. The other similarity between the two books is
that they are both beautifully written.

Godless is a deeply worrying book and for all the wrong reasons. There
are serious criticisms to be made of social liberalism (to the extent
that that term has a meaning) but
After reading Coulter's rant, many readers are unlikely to bother.
Coulter may pride herself on her success as a writer based on the
number of copies sold of her books but I suspect that this popularity
is down to her lack of intellectual rigour. There is no historical
context to slow things down, the focus from cover to cover is entirely
US focused and Coulter offers absolutely no shade or texture
whatsoever in her descriptions of liberals. In practice, what this
means is that her prosaic style is to write 'Liberals say...' or
'Liberals think...' rather than to prefix this with words such as 'some'
or 'many'. By this logic, as a liberal who shares her concern over
the media's obsession with physical beauty, this reviewer must also
hate science and share the social views of Peter Singer. As a disabled
person, I can assure Ms Coulter that I have good reason for not doing
so.

Coulter's blanket generalisations, however, are not just deeply
insulting to liberals but cause her to trip up on her own arguments.
For example she states that liberals hate religion, yet her definition
of liberals is so wide ranging as to encompass everyone from
Communists to moderate Republicans. So how then can she claim that the
US is the most religious country in the world?

She is also a hypocrite. She criticises liberals for rejecting out of
hand the arguments about different IQs of races as expounded in The
Bell Curve, but then appears to use Richard Weikart's From Darwin to
Hitler to argue that
Belief in Darwinism leads to fascism. Even if one accepts her
rubbishing of Darwinism on scientific grounds (and many scientists
have listed the countless inaccuracies in her writing on this subject)
the moral case for rejecting Darwinism is surely an irrelevancy.

Coulter trained as a lawyer and the depressing legacy of this is that
she seems more interested in working out exactly how much she can get
away with rather than in actually stating the truth. Claims that Bible
belt Christians enjoy their sex more than liberals are frankly
pathetic (and obviously unprovable), but her statement that only about
2 women ever got pregnant by rape, her refusal to mention Africa in
the context of AIDS and her belief that the US near single-handedly
defeated Hitler border on the wicked. Informed that they relish the
thought of Richard Dawkins burning in Hell, most Christians would
probably say that with friends like Coulter, they hardly need enemies.

As far as factual accuracy is concerned, I can't comment too much, not
living in the US. However if she makes as small a mistake as to claim
that Richard Dawkins Root of all Evil documentary was made for the BBC
(it was made for Channel 4) or appropriates a quote from Dostoyevsky
to Sartre, then this doesn't bode well for her accuracy where it
really matters.

So, then, three stars to Godless, partly as it is a well written,
entertaining read that offers an insight into a certain type of
mindset. However it also gets three stars as it is exactly the sort of
mid position likely to wind up this shameless P T Barnum of politics.
Read it but please please for God's sake check all the facts before
making any judgements based on what you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godless: The Church of Liberalism
Godless: The Church of Liberalism by Ann Coulter (Audio CD - 10 July 2007)
10.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews