Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!
Patrick Lencioni offers a satisfactory fable about an executive wrestling to take hold of a company and create a smoothly functioning executive team. The narrative moves right along as he addresses the problem of feckless teamwork with the fictitious Decision Tech company as a test case. The novel is interesting, and you can read through it easily, getting to know the...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars basics in team building
Solid coverage of the basics in team building told as a parable. Book is more than a decade old, and the learning was older than that when it was written.
Published 7 months ago by Steve Mclellan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, 22 Jun. 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Patrick Lencioni offers a satisfactory fable about an executive wrestling to take hold of a company and create a smoothly functioning executive team. The narrative moves right along as he addresses the problem of feckless teamwork with the fictitious Decision Tech company as a test case. The novel is interesting, and you can read through it easily, getting to know the characters and participating in their business decisions. However, if you just want to learn about better teamwork quickly and leave, skim to the final chapters. Here, the author outlines a detailed model for diagnosing the five dysfunctions of a team and provides exercises and techniques to ameliorate those dysfunctions. The advice is complete and concrete. We recommend the meat and potatoes diagnosis and solutions as well as the cake and ice cream story, but how much narrative you want to read may depend on what shape your team is in when you start, as well as on your taste for tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fable-ous., 12 Oct. 2007
By 
Andrew Moules (Albania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lencioni tells a leadership fable about a corporate executive team, then lays out five very practical "dysfunctions" (absence of trust, fear of conflict, lack of commitment, avoidance of accountability, and inattention to results), along with a questionnaire for readers to use in evaluating their own teams and specifics to help them understand and overcome these common shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless guidance on a too common problem, 30 April 2006
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I have read enough management books to I hope know the good from the bad - the fact that this book is the first one that after having read it I immediately started to read all over again, makes it for me a unique offering. This is due to:

1. The subject is one which applies in so many work situations that its potentially wide application cannot be denied. The comments made by other reviewers as to recognising the many different types of personalities involved and the five individual issues from their own experiences demonstrates the consistency of the problems being identifiable under many different factual scenarios.

2. The book is written in a very easily assimilated style and precise chapters per point plus the use of a fictional parable style story makes it come alive in a way that rarely happens in most management books.

3. The analysis of the five issues having been gone through is then in a summary end piece restated not only as to their individual relevance but also how they inter-relate and practical methods of addressing each is provided - this hands on solution solving makes the book a very powerful basis for personal decision making using the tools provided.

In part the impact of the book on myself may reflect that I read it as I was starting to grapple with one of the most difficult teams I have had to ever lead in over twenty years of management roles. That this book provided me with a number of options to consider and apply in making progress reflects the true value of the lessons it shares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp, interesting read with good, solid advice !, 23 Sept. 2004
By 
Sound (and usable) tenets of teamwork wrapped up in a very readble and interesting story. Great way to get the points across, and the characters are definitely believable - you'll recognize most of them.
The last section offers simple, practical and useful remedies for dysfunctional teams but doesn't condescend or patronise, in the way that the 'One Minute manager' books do.
Easily read in two or three hours and offering good advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best model for team development I've found., 14 Nov. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually hate management books with "parables" in because I find them badly written, contrived and twee. This one is better than most - the story is plausible (and familiar) and Lencioni's writing style is punchy and clear. More importantly, it conceals an excellent model of senior team development.
What I like about the model is that all the stuff I already use in organisational development slots in nicely: what it gives is a clear roadmap. Using the model, both the facilitator and the participants can all be clear about what they are doing and why. For example, I've used psychometrics many times, but using them within the framework of building trust (the first stage in the model) seemed to make the learning deeper and more lasting.
Anyone who is part of a senior level team (where the team members are also team leaders), or anyone who works with these teams should find the book useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the Dysfunctional Hype, 24 Jun. 2011
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team is a work by Patrick Lencioni, author of eight previously well recognised books in the USA. Patrick is the founder and president of The Table Group, a management consultancy firm that specializes in executive team development and organisational health. The Five Dysfunctions of a Team is essentially geared towards senior and board level team development, although Patrick argues that the themes contained within can be applied to most, if not all, team environments.

Without wanting to give too much away the premise for the narrative is that ineffective teams are usually guilty of some if not all of the following Five dysfunctions - Inattention to results, Avoidance of Accountability, Lack of Commitment, Fear of Conflict and Absence of Trust. All this sounds on the surface too simple to be true, but Patrick argues that although the themes are basic, to contextualize them into a team environment is much more difficult, and hence is the reason why failing teams find it so difficult to break out of the losing habit.

The first three quarters of the book is presented as a 'Leadership Fable', and as such is a short story derived from Patrick's prior experiences of team building. This is no bad thing. I must admit I had my doubts when I began reading but the story itself is held together admirably by the main plot line of Kathryn Peterson, the new CEO's struggle in encouraging the dysfunctional board of directors to work with each other to achieve results as opposed to individually to satisfy their own ego's. Patrick's literary techniques, including the use of character development and cliff-hangers to keep the reader engaged, works well and as such as a reader I was keen to see the story through to its conclusion. If anything this could be seen as the book's fatal flaw. I was able to rattle through all 200 pages in a little over two hours and whilst it proved entertaining, I did wonder how much would stick in terms of applying the themes to an actual work setting.

Luckily the final quarter of the book works well to address some of these concerns as it is dedicated to applying the theory demonstrated in the `fable' into practical action. The Dysfunctions are each broken down and Patrick offers up potential exercises that managers can use in conjunction with their teams to try and address any niggling or major problems they have. As with the story, this section of the book is presented clearly and should be easy to use by senior management in a practical context.

Overall, Five Dysfunctions is an entertaining read and from a management perspective there should definitely be a few nuggets that can be taken away and applied to specific work environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously Awesome, A 5/5 For Me, 8 April 2012
By 
Mr. K. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is superb, i never read fiction in my life, i bought this book not realising it was. if i knew it was a fable, i would have probably stayed away from it. but i am sure glad i bought this and read it, because Patrick showed me that this "serious Fiction" can be quite informative. and as a result i am big fan of his now, i will surely be buying more of his work

This book shows you what you need as a team to be successful, he goes through the five dysfunctions and shows you that they are like a chain, not one of them should be missing. as i begin to read this book, i can now see why alot of teams fail, even though they have such gifted players. they are all sorts of dysfunctions in your average team. Pattrick shows you, that just missing something like trust can really screw up your objectives that your team sets. for example, he say that "if there is no trust, you as the leader may set certain targets. some people in the team may not agree, yet they don't speak up, and because they don't agree. they are not willing some commit" and obviously, if they don't commit. they may not give sufficient effort. Which in effect lessens the power of the blow you and your team deliver.the book is filled will lots of little things such as this. i do think you will benefit a ton by picking up this title

Hope this review was helpful, please feel free to write me at moneymavericks92@gmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Read for Progressive Managers, 9 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended to me by one of the delegates at a recent training. It sounded great and Stephen (the delegate in question) was so enthusiastic about how it helped him understand his team and work more effectively that I just had to pick up a copy and read it. I am glad I did. Patrick Lencioni adopts a "commentary" style and follows Katheryn, a 57 year old executive who is a surprise appointee as a new CEO with responsibility of turning the fortunes of DecisionTech, a technology company, around. It focuses on the stakeholders in the management team and how the dynamics work between each of the players. Flicking back through it it seems a bit cold and shallow but while reading it I was totally caught up in the story and wanted to know how each of the players would react to the unfolding events. You will recognise characters, the situations, the meetings and companies you have worked in. It will remind you of times that you have taken unhelpful positions and it is the style that does that to you. The learning outcome is a useful pyramid model that can assist any manager in bringing a team together. All in all, an engaging book that provides insight and learning that makes it an essential read for progressive managers who believe they really can change things. Is that you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 May 2011
By 
J. Simpson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a novel style book which weaves a story around common problems encountered within teams. I found this book extremely easy to read and could identify with the characters which made it easy to take on board and remember the serious messages that were being put forward. The story conveniently ends with the 'heroine' solving the problems within the team, but it does give some direction on why problems arise and suggestions on how they could be dealt with. I was reading around teams for my Masters degree, and this was a welcome respite from the often 'heavy' text books so often encountered, with messages that whetted the appetite to explore further. The book can easily be read in 2 hours and leaves the reader with a good feel. However the 'heroine' is potrayed as being very skilled and real life would probably encounter many more issues when trying to deal with similar problems so the reader must bear in mind the fictional style. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to gain an insight into team functionning as a starting point to looking at solutions to issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recognise anyone ?, 31 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
If you work in a team where things don't always go the way you'd expect then this is a book you should read. I bought it for three reasons: it's short, it's a single story, I needed something to read on a flight.
Short: Forget about those long management tomes which lose your attention after page 5 and feel like homework. This is a simple short story which Lencioni uses to illustrate his points on team membership leadership, membership and engagement. You will read this in two hours.
Single Story: Like me are you tired of reading all those guru books that read like a collage of name dropping and half pages of useless anecdotes? This book has a story line that will engage and retain you attention without forcing management bs down your retinas on every page. It's readable , the characters plausible and you will want to turn the page.
Makes Sense: Like anything good that has ever been written on management there is a healthy dose of common sense here. Unlike many other books I liked the fact that it does not contain the "How To" as much as it illustrates how to recognise specific issues in Teams and offers ideas on how to deal with them. The model used is simple and progressive and you can't apply it in one minute.
Does it work ? I have no idea but I will definitely use the ideas.
Recognise Anyone? absolutely.
Recommend it to a friend ? Yes and I'll also leave a copy on my bosses desk when I leave!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick M. Lencioni (Audio CD - 4 April 2006)
£23.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews