Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first visit but not my last
This is fast, detailed and frightening. A super thriller that had me hooked from the outset. There are the obvious love interests but in this case it feels more natural than cliched.

Carey Moore is a Judge who has worked very hard to get where she is. Faced with Karl Dahl who is deemed to be a brutal killer (the crime is truly horrific) she is the only one who...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by SJSmith

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is Dead Sky under a different name
I bought this book not releasing it is Dead Sky (which i already had) under a different name.
Published on 28 May 2007 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first visit but not my last, 14 Aug 2007
By 
SJSmith (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is fast, detailed and frightening. A super thriller that had me hooked from the outset. There are the obvious love interests but in this case it feels more natural than cliched.

Carey Moore is a Judge who has worked very hard to get where she is. Faced with Karl Dahl who is deemed to be a brutal killer (the crime is truly horrific) she is the only one who seems to be preventing him being kept in custody. She hits the media spotlight when she rules that his prior bad acts are inadmissable.

Detective Sam Kovac and his partner Nikki Liska are called in as protection. Dahl escapes and this thriller begins. Great characters, plot and narrative; this novel is difficult to put down. Hoag's writing involves the reader and occasionally some chapters begin with a character picking up from another character in a previous chapter.

It is difficult to discuss too much of the plot for this novel without spoiling it but (as is not always the case) the praise quotes are generally accurate. Highly enjoyable from the great beginning to a thrilling ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Murder and Mayhem Bookclub review, 16 May 2007
By 
A. J Thompson "voyagersaus" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It seems as if justice has, for once, been served on Judge Moore. After her controversial decision not to allow records of prior criminal acts to be admissible in a multiple murder trial, there would have to be more than one person out there who had reason to do the judge serious harm. Carey Moore is delivered a savage beating in the car park across from her office and becomes what she often sees on the other side of the bench, a frightened and angry victim. Detectives Sam Kovac and NIkki Liska (first introduced in Hoag's ASHES TO ASHES, released in 1999) are assigned to protect the cowed Judge and her family as the media runs with the very newsworthy story, swiftly making camp on the Judge's immaculate front lawn before she even returns from the hospital. The Haas murders were the worst ever encountered by the Hennipin Police Department and haven't been forgotten by a grieving community either, eager to see the accused Karl Dahl punished for taking the life of a mother and those of her two foster children.

Sam Kovac can understand why someone would have it in for the judge, whilst never forgetting what his job of protecting one of the senior members of the judiciary entails. Never one to hide from his professional responsibility, Kovac ignores criticism of his tactics and takes the investigation right back to the home, invading the Judge's personal life to the point where the two begin to form a bond. It is unbelievable to him when the Judge is kidnapped from her home with a police presence outside, and even more unbelievable that the accused Dahl also manages to escape during a prison transfer. With so much ground to cover, literally and otherwise, Kovac and Liska must go separate ways, reopening old wounds for the surviving family and the former detective who had hung his whole career on this one murder case. With three possible suspects sharing equal space in Kovac's sights, the detective must make a fast choice of which to pursue in order to save Carey Moore's life.

The Kovac and Liska novels, three to date, are the edgiest of author Tami Hoag's collected works. There are many reasons to read the work of this author who can deliver the goods across many genres; romantic fiction, romantic suspense and crime/American police procedurals. The character of Sam Kovac is quite irresistible and makes a welcome return in PRIOR BAD ACTS, a multi-perspective novel that has enough of a window with each viewpoint to tease the reader into musing who it is that is harbouring the greatest grudge. The dialogue between the two detectives, and between all of the police, is a definite plus to lighten up what could be otherwise be a heavy emotional load with all the death and vengeance that is doled out over the pages.

Hoag definitely has the gift of making much with simple description and does not allow either action or the internal monologues in each scene to dominate, always presenting the tableaux for reader supposition. Fast and entertaining, PRIOR BAD ACTS will not likely present much of a challenge in the whodunit stakes, but as there is a secondary crime in addition to the murders Hoag has kept all detail relevant and wasted little with both cases being, as they always are in mystery reads, intertwined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is Dead Sky under a different name, 28 May 2007
I bought this book not releasing it is Dead Sky (which i already had) under a different name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real good read, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all the books in this series the next book seems to be better than the rest. Enthralling stories, twists & turns to keep you glued to the book. Always look forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Summary of Prior Bad Acts, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prior Bad Acts- I already had ths with a different title - My book was titled Dead Sky. Not my favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thomas, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I became a Tami Hoag fan by accident,someone left one of her books in a doctors waiting room,I pick it up started reading it, while waiting my turn to see the doctor,title of the book was called DEAD SKY,I really enjoyed it,and I've read several of her books since, she has a style of writing that keeps you up late. and this story,"PRIOR BAD ACTS",is no disappoinment
The story is cleverly plotted,the characters in the book believeable,with surprises along the way,a real page turner....with a twist at the end, I fully recommend it, without reservations.....Go on,give it a go!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prior Bad Acts, 8 April 2010
A bit gruesome at the start and it didn't get much better as it went along.

However, I looked at the end to find out who did the murder and once I knew that I settled down quite happily to finish the book. By the end everyone seemed to be killing everyone else anyway; a real free-for-all ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Prior Bad Acts, 7 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my first time reading Tami Hoag....I enjoyed the book but it was put downable....
I think it was very evident from the start where the story was going and it tended to rumble along without a great deal of substance.
Too much storyline on two main characters and very little on the others. Not a great surprise at the end, which was also a bit rushed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Author, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant seller, as described. Would use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prior Bad Acts
Prior Bad Acts by Tami Hoag (Paperback - 27 Feb 2007)
£9.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews