Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real page turner...
I am always eager to read any new Tess Gerritsen book as I find her books very absorbing. Suck me right in! THIS Mephisto Club was certainly no different. Could not put it down, (a few sleepless nights because of it!), and even though I had an inckling about who one or two of the characters may have turned out to be, she wasn't giving anything away until the very...
Published on 27 Jan 2007 by Hippy chick

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even Tess knows she can do better than this
Having read all five previous novels in the Rizzoli crime thriller series almost back-to-back in recent weeks, I was hungrily looking forward to getting my hands and eyes onto the sixth and latest offering. There was quite a lot of hype surrounding its release, built around the premise that there is a parallel species actually living alongside the human race who look...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real page turner..., 27 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
I am always eager to read any new Tess Gerritsen book as I find her books very absorbing. Suck me right in! THIS Mephisto Club was certainly no different. Could not put it down, (a few sleepless nights because of it!), and even though I had an inckling about who one or two of the characters may have turned out to be, she wasn't giving anything away until the very end.

An excellent read once again. Can't wait for the next one hot off the press. Tess Gerritsen did not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even Tess knows she can do better than this, 9 Oct 2006
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Random House Large Print) (Hardcover)
Having read all five previous novels in the Rizzoli crime thriller series almost back-to-back in recent weeks, I was hungrily looking forward to getting my hands and eyes onto the sixth and latest offering. There was quite a lot of hype surrounding its release, built around the premise that there is a parallel species actually living alongside the human race who look exactly like us but who are descended from an evil bloodline dating back to pre-biblical times - there are apparently several names for this Satanic breed but one of the better known is Nephilim, who, legend has it, were originally created by a consummation between fallen angels and little-known offspring of Adam, the first man on Earth. There's a rather familiar concept here, one of a conspiracy involving the Christian and Catholic churches that suggests that certain events in age-old history have either been erased or manipulated in order to satisfy the highest powers among those and other faiths. Something not drastically different was pulled off more successfully in The Da Vinci Code, even if that novel lacked the strong characterisations so thoroughly and convincingly portrayed by Tess Gerritsen in the Rizzoli portfolio. Basically this is mutton dressed as lamb, a by-the-numbers serial killer tale with the cops looking for the baddie, but what could have otherwise been a scary, tense and gruesome thriller (which Ms.G knows how to write) is instead diluted as a result of her determination to wrap it around, or within, a number of ideas she learned of in such ancient publications as The Book of Enoch and the Book of Jubilees.

Anyone buying this book who has never tried the author's work before may not be as tempted to sample her wares again as would probably have been the case with either The Surgeon, The Apprentice, Vanish, or possibly Body Double. The first three were excellent and have made their creator a regular NYT Top Ten bestseller, and deservedly so - but I can now understand why she was so apprehensive about The Mephisto Club just prior to its launch. It made the Top Ten again, it's true, but that was almost inevitable given the height of expectation. I fear though that this latest offering will prove to be one of the weakest in the Rizzoli sextet, because it lacks originality, character development and perhaps most importantly it never threatens to portray the sense of malevolent evil that the story is based on. On the lighter side, the highlights for me were the often (and deliberately) hilarious fly-on-the-wall observations of the Rizzoli family on a Christmas Day, but much as I enjoyed these brief respites, I cannot help but consider them to be somewhat incongruous to the plot-line and the mood that the author has spent so much time in trying to instil in the reader. Meanwhile we have the ubiquitous `love interest', which falls on the shoulders of Dr Maura Isles, and the timing of her bedroom encounter could really not have been less probable, given that an hour or two earlier she discovered a woman she knew brutally stabbed to death. And the man she selected to, shall I say, come in to her life, made a pretty rapid exit - which in my view is another improbability given the lengthy build-up to that carnal meeting, the seeds of which had been sewn and nurtured through at least two previous novels.

In a nutshell, this story lacks passion. The notion of evil as a living entity was never really carried off with any conviction for the reader or by the writer, and the side issues in the lives of the leading characters seemed to be patched on in an almost obligatory way to provide some kind of relief from the otherwise monotonous examinations of the Mephisto Foundation's objectives. It was always known that there was one person behind the savage slayings of the all-female victims, and even the killer's identity is revealed at a very early stage, but unlike The Surgeon (which thoroughly examined the mind and motives of a psychopathic serial killer) the reader of this latest book never really shares those dark emotions with the perpetrator of what on paper is sickening and grizzly murder. The horrors are merely matter-of-fact rather than surreal or shocking, the suspense is kept to a minimum because we are pretty much told what's going on and who's doing it, and any sense of mystery is dulled by these revelations too. So it's a 'crime-something', but you can't really attach thriller, mystery or suspense blockbuster. If the writer tried to convince us that there is an `evil race' co-existing with normal human beings - which she does by making brief references to such people or places as Pol Pot, Kosovo and Rwanda - then in my humble and regrettable opinion she has failed. The truth is simpler and less glamourous : there are good people and there are bad people. I thought Tess' intellectual examinations of what makes evil people so evil was carried off with much greater conviction in The Apprentice, and in that tale there was no mention of evil spirits or Satanic worship. Instead it was the more interesting pursuit of physical, biological and psychological imperfections, and it was the more original for it.

If The Mephisto Club is, or may be, your first foray into the Rizzoli series, I would urge you to try most if not all of the other five preceding this one. Frankly, they are all markedly superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The crime queen holds onto her crown, 30 Jan 2007
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
A new Tess Gerritsen novel is now a hugely significant event for lovers of the crime/thriller genre. Over the course of the Rizzoli/Isles novels, beginning with the unputdownable The Surgeon, Gerritsen has drawn us into her world. It's a world where evil comes to the fore, no more so than in this latest novel in which Gerritsen explores the nature of evil itself and asks whether it is an inherited trait.

The Mephisto Club features Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles, two immensely likeable female leads who have significantly grown as characters during the course of the series. Their personal lives are intertwined with this story, but not overbearingly so. Here, they investigate a series of deaths with apparently Satanic connections. Meanwhile, in Italy, we observe a character called Lily as she flees from an unknown man. It is evident that the strands of the story will eventually weave together, and Gerritsen is an expert at this by now.

If you're already a fan of this series, you won't need any convincing to buy this book. If you're not, The Mephisto Club comes highly recommended. It's not absolutely essential to read the books in order, but since the characters' personal lives develop throughout, you couldn't really do any better than start with The Surgeon and race your way through the rest before devouring The Mephisto Club with equal fervour.

Gerritsen is virtually untouchable in the genre at the moment, and shows no signs of wavering. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you believe in the devil?, 2 May 2007
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
Absolutely fantastic book to bring the series back to life with a bang. Things in the Ives-Rizzoli series took a slight dip after the brilliant openers but this certainly has me hooked again.

Ms Gerritsen masterfully incorperates the style of recent best-selling books (most prominantly The da Vinci code) into her already existing brand of writing. We get the strange undercover group, historical drawings and lots of latin messages all which need to be decoded in an attempt to catch a killer some believe to be evil itself.

Well played and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 25 Jan 2007
By 
Ms. C. Cavell "chriszy" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
this book is really well thought out and the plot flows really well. i was gripped from the first page. This was the first book of hers ive rad (and typically i dont do these things in sequence)and i have to say before id even finished iw as buying the others....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GRIPPING READ FROM GERRITSEN, 19 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
This is another of Gerritsen's fabulous books based on the Isles / Rizzoli partnership and it won't disappoint. Based on a more 'supernatural' theme than any of her other offerings this book loses none of the gripping page turning appeal of her previous writings. She has the ability to balance a nail biting insight into the mind of the criminal with the softer insight of the characters personal lives, this is another triumph for Gerritsen and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling!, 17 Oct 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Random House Large Print) (Hardcover)
I liked The Mephisto Club best of the books in this fine series. If you've liked any of the earlier books, you should definitely read this one.

Most medical-detective thrillers are long on scientific deduction, little-known facts and brilliant solutions. As such, the typical entry in the genre can feel well, bloodless, even as bloody body parts pile up. To attempt to overcome that problem, more blood, guts and gruesomeness are added to the next story. Eventually, I find myself being repelled by such series.

Tess Gerritsen had been on that downward spiral too until The Mephisto Club. Although the blood, guts and gruesomeness will be pretty disturbing to many, in The Mephisto Club that extremity made sense for this story. She goes beyond the conventions of social psychology to address the possibility of evil incarnate wrecking havoc. Drawing on ancient tales referenced in various cultures and the Bible, Dr. Gerritsen adds a dash of terror by turning the hunters into the hunted that works quite well in making a gripping, chilling tale.

The story begins innocently enough as a family retrieves a nephew to live with them one summer after the boy's father dies. After that flashback, we sense that all is not well with the nephew.

Next, we move into the present where Dr. Maura Isles resumes her fascination with Father Daniel Brophy during a Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve. Their conversation is interrupted by a call from Detective Jane Rizzoli who has caught a gruesome homicide of a young woman that involves what seem to be satanic symbols and strange rituals. At the victim's home, the caller ID presents an unexpected connection that draws back into a part of her past that she wants to forget. On Christmas, there's a blow-up between Jane's parents that reverberates throughout the book.

At that point the flashback recommences with a look at the Saul family during the summer after the nephew came to live with them. Just as quickly, the story leaps forward to Italy where Lily Saul, the daughter, is hiding from someone or something in Italy.

The pace of the story picks up at that point as the clues to the young woman's murder draw attention to the members of the Mephisto Foundation, a group of scholars and intellectuals who believe that evil is incarnate in the world and specialize in helping the police root that evil out. Beyond that, the story is a little vague about the current activities of Mephisto but you'll probably be fascinated by Anthony Sansone, the foundation's head, and his background. Sansone is an inspired fictional character who adds a lot to this book.

You'll find almost all of the characters from the earlier books in this series somewhere in The Mephisto Club. What impressed me was the way that Dr. Gerritsen managed to evolve so many on-going characters in the space of a single book.

Fine work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, but still a good, suspensful crime read, 1 Jun 2008
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the middle of Winter in Boston, a woman is found murdered and fileted in her house, while her table is set for four and the words "I have sinned" are written in Latin on the wall in blood. Such is the first crime in Tess Gerritsen's "The Mephisto Club".

The second crime introduces the Mephisto Club to the Boston PD - Detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Maura Isles. The Mephisto Club is a private society hunting evil in its purest form. For those who are not interested in demons, aliens, or other supernatural creature, rest assured, somthing slimy and scaly jumps from the pages. This is credible evil in a human form, which makes it all the more unsettling.

"The Mephisto Club" is a good, page-turner crime novel, but it doesn't quite reach the thriller level. At times Jane Rizzoli is more interested in detecting her parents' marital status than solving crimes and including Dr. Isles in the plotline seems to be a creative stretch.

I liked the plot, but "The Mephisto Club" seems average to me. I would say, however, that I haven't given up on Tess Gerritsen (or Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles) - and will probably read more of her.

Louise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but..., 8 Jan 2007
By 
Ms. Lucy Campbell "juicy1978" (Halesowen, West Mids) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
My mum and dad recently bought this back from America from me and I must say I managed to finish it in two days.

I think this has to be one of Ms Gerritsen's more gruesome novels however I kind of like that. The writing is fast paced and I did find myself reading this under the covers with a torch as I couldn't wait to find out what happened next (I'm 28!).

I couldn't guess who the 'baddie' was and that, to me, is a big plus point.

My only negative point, and it really is minor, is that after such a huge (gripping) build up, the conclusion is presented rather quickly and you're left feeling a bit 'is that it?'

All in all this is a good book and it's great to catch up with Rizzoli, Maura et al (especially as a bit more of the storyline is given over to family members). I can't wait for the next one to find out what happens with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mephisto Club- Wowee!, 17 Sep 2007
By 
Va Walker "Moosey" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mephisto Club (Hardcover)
Having discovered the Tess Gerritsen series completely by mistake (case of borrowed book in wrong cover!) I have sped through the series I waited for this one to come out with great anticipation and my my I was not disappointed! Going to depths that her books have not gone to before we journey into a very dark place that draws you in with intrigue and wonder. At times I even found myself holding my breath without even knowing it! A wonderful addition to this superb collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mephisto Club (Random House Large Print)
The Mephisto Club (Random House Large Print) by Tess Gerritsen (Hardcover - 12 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews