Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic but readable
This is probably the best starter accordion book I've encountered and I've used about six other books so far. It's designed for those with no musical background and is fairly readable. You'll need something more detailed to get beyond beginner to intermediate level and to advanced level but it's a good start.

After introducing the basics, the author goes on...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by F. Martin

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learner
Straight forward and methodical.CD proved very helpful.Leads you through the basics well.Bass chords not quite so easy to interpret, but pictures are useful.
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by JW07


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic but readable, 26 Aug 2010
By 
F. Martin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
This is probably the best starter accordion book I've encountered and I've used about six other books so far. It's designed for those with no musical background and is fairly readable. You'll need something more detailed to get beyond beginner to intermediate level and to advanced level but it's a good start.

After introducing the basics, the author goes on to explore various styles, cajun, blues, french, irish, etc and she even gives a few tips on improvisation and playing with groups. There is a CD included and it's indexed in the text with a CD symbol with the track number - very convenient, easy to follow and aids greatly in learning the techniques and pieces in the book. However, the accordion she plays is a rough old thing that sounds about a hundred years old and in need of decent burial. Something you might buy as a starter instrument for a hundred quid. Paolo Soprani or Fantini it is not!

Bottom line: a good book for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is a "Must" with the 101 Popular Songs Book", 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
!) I need help to enjoy playing my accordion!
2) Both Books are easy to follow, this book teaches different skills that are importent to learn first!
3) I recommend the above Books to anyone who would love to play the Accordion and is willing to practice a little and often (as I am still working on)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
Probably need some musical knowledge. As a complete beginner I found it easier to write the names under the notes. Good selection of tunes though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learner, 14 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
Straight forward and methodical.CD proved very helpful.Leads you through the basics well.Bass chords not quite so easy to interpret, but pictures are useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Mar 2012
By 
ReviewMan "Large" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
I did some online research about the author of this book. There was a scarcity of information on her; just a few videos on you know what tube. No pun intended, but she appeared to be playing second fiddle to a female guitarist in a musical duet. I like many styles of music and therefore the content of this book did not displease me but I wonder if including such things as Blue Grass, Zydeco and Cajun, was a good idea. I would have thought that a student should spend some time on music with what one might call a normal rhythm instead of quickly flying on to so many different genres. The book also has errors. For example, oh and indeed it is true what another reviewer has said: her accordion sounds as if it has a value of but a few dollars, so to speak. She was given the accordion by her father - he had it in a wardrobe. The music scene was vibrant in her area but she didn't want to carry about really big items of musical equipment and therefore she rejected more 'normal' instruments because she saw the accordion when she visited her father and she couldn't remember ever seeing him use it so she asked him for it - he allowed her to have it. Sorry, back to an error - the front page of the book shows her accordion - the highest note of which is less than the highest note shown in a piece of music in the book.

The C.D assists, but can't compensate for a dull book

Irrespective of the above, my main feeling about the book is that, apart from some basic music theory, I find no 'teaching' or instruction in the book; to my mind it is almost a case of here is some sheet music. I fail to see any little real snippets of real life advice - gained from her, no doubt, lengthly love affair with music at the sharp end of life - performing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exallent, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
very clear and well and simply riten ,very easy to under stand due to the fact that I`v left it a little to late to learn the piano akkordian as Im 80 next birthday I think thank you john james..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accordion Tutor, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
This is one of the best Accordion tutor books I have found. It explains the basics of music well.It has a useful CD to go with each lesson in the book. there is only one section where I am not sure which fingering method should be used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book looked good, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
UnfortunateLy I purchased the wrong type of book for a birthday present, so I had to return it to Speedyhen. I have not yet heard from them. I am looking for a teach yourself concertina {few buttons only} book, which I said I was happy to exchange if they could provide this. Lois Bennett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aready have quite a number of Accordion Books but this one is really good for beginners., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself to Play Accordion (Paperback)
Very easy to follow and really enjoyable!! Try it for yourself. Go on have a go and surprise yourself you will find that it is really fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself to Play Accordion
Teach Yourself to Play Accordion by Miriam Davidson (Paperback - 1 Dec 2005)
11.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews