Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2011
Great book for DIY guitar maintenance lovers just like me. The author, Mr. Carruthers, has lots of experience in the field but what I like the most is that everything is put in simple terms and with good photos.
Regarding the seller, I can say the book came very well packed. As with most highly rated sellers in Amazon UK, the deal went smoothly. Thanks everyone!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
This is a well laid out, clear booklet which will be useful to complete beginners who have never having changed a string or setup intonation. It is not "Everything" you need to know. It covers the basics and it does this well but the title is extremely misleading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Extremely underwhelming, there are far better books on the subject out there. Very poor quality, low contrast photographs. Somewhat heavily bias toward Floyd-Rose set-ups, and very little else really; cursory set up info, nothing on the ubiquitous Vintage Strat type tremolo, or matching string saddle heights to your fretboard radius (where appropriate). Don't spend your money on this, look elsewhere. Dan Erlewine produces very good and comprehensive books on the subject for example. How to Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Contrary to what your average muddled musician will tell you; Setting up your guitar, is not beyond anyone who can use basic tools.
The author John is clearly an articulate professional who gives concise clear step by step instruction. All the way from stripping and fit strings, to setting up intonation etc.
You will enjoy your guitar, in the comfort and satisfaction of knowing, it is properly set up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
This is a great and very useful book, after watching John carruthers on you tube to help me set my bass guitar up I decided to buy his book as he just made sense without to many tools and just a little bit of tinkering made my bass play sweet.
I would recommend this book if you would like to start setting your own guitars up as its clear and easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
If you a beginner or intermediate and are looking to fix or restring your guitar, don't, until you've purchased this book. This guy has forgotten more than most folks know about guitar maintenance. Buy it dude! Some clips of his work on YouTube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
This is a must have book for any guitarist or bass player, as it heelps you set up you instrument to is best, and enables you to play to the best of your abbility. I would recomend this book to any one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
It covers string changing and basic set up but the quality of the photos is poor. It has detailed information on the Floyd Rose ttemolo but not on the strat tremolo. Nothing on stetting up pickup height. There is a section on the electrics, but this is little more than a soldering guide and how to use switch cleaner.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I found this book useful with a lot of helpful illustrations of maintenance procedures. More orientated vtowards electric guitars however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
basic set-up was well-described.
i would recommend it for beginners who would like to learn how to set their guitars up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)