Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformation is good for the soul, 13 Jan 2013
By 
B. Dickinson "crystalbee" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
From the Cauldron Born

Kris Hughes' new book is a deeply evocative exploration of a journey of initiation through transformation, by closely analysing the ur-myth of Cerridwen and Gwion Bach, one of the foremost Welsh legends.
The research conducted into the origins of the story is second to none; a native Welsh speaker and scholar of Welsh history, Kris makes extensive use of the original sources of the story, thus omitting the errors and preconceptions of previous translators. The magic and mystery of the story is in itself spell binding. However, behind that a deeper consciousness of the journey of the soul and its place in the universe is presented, traceable even by the most mundane reader.
By digging deeper into the myth we discover a universal truth: that we are connected with everything around us, other humans, animals, and the natural world. We depend on each other, and without this connection our soul withers, becomes less vital, less accepting of the beauty that exists in our world. We need guidance to rediscover our place in this world and From the Cauldron Born is an excellent place to start. This isn't just a book about a story, although it discusses the events and the characters in detail; in the book are contained a number of instructions and exercises for those who wish to enrich their lives by diving into Cerridwen's cauldron with courage and conviction, ready to face their shadow self, embracing it and working towards becoming the best person they can be. Only then can a life be lived fully and with honour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent exploration of one of the major myths of the Isles of Britain, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
I found this book invaluable in helping me to understand this seminal myth from Wales. The author has produced a unique work that gives insight into this particular myth but has also given me the key to understanding and working with the rest of the major British/Welsh myths.
The passion, love and understanding of the mythology shouts out loud and clear from the pages of this wonderful book.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how to work with mythology in a unique and practical way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than just a book - this is a magical journey, 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
In this work, the author takes one of the seminal tales of ancient Wales, explores and dissects it, and explains each and every aspect in amazing detail and clarity. Kristoffer Hughes invites you not to simply read this book, but to experience and live the tale of the transformation of Gwion Bach into Taliesin. This work is refreshing and unique, the explanations are detailed but easy to understand, which makes it easy to immerse oneself fully into the story.

The passion of the author for the native tales of his country shines through and illuminates this tale as never before. Kristoffer Hughes is a well known and respected authority on this subject matter, and this work is set to become "the benchmark" for anyone seeking to obtain knowledge and understanding of this famous tale in the future.

This is not "just another book" on the tale of Taliesin and the cauldron of Cerridwen ...... it is the ultimate guide book, ready to take you on your journey of discovery ...... if you let it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I bought this book & I would highly recommend it!, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Xena (North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
A fantastic & unique book. I've never come across one like it! It explores the tale of Cerridwen & Taliesin-one of the stories central to the myth & lore of my adopted country, Wales. It is not a 'fluffy bunny' work but one that is in depth whilst still being eminently readable & enjoyable. There are many layers to it, like the myth itself. A must-have for all those interested in Welsh & Celtic lore it takes you on a fantastic year long journey of rituals, exploration & discovery, both of myth & ultimately of yourself. Do buy it. You won't regret that you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique approach, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
The author has produced a unique piece of work that examines the story of Taliesin and his birth. For anyone interested in the ancient mythology of Britain this work allows you to explore in a direct way with the myth and the archetypes associated with it. In the past the Islands of Britain were sought out by people seeking knowledge and understanding of the Spiritual, Mr Hughes has demonstrated that the mythology of the Welsh has retained that knowledge in a hidden form and has provided a unique method of exploration that allows you to get into the core of the mythology and work with it.

If your interested in Mythology, spirituality or the ancient indigenous spirituality of Britain then this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspiring, 12 Feb 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
One expects quality production standards from a major publishing house. "From the Cauldron Born" is well produced from it's enticing cover through to it's very last page.

All too often the written contents of a book let down it's good appearance, making a second-rate product.This is not the case with Kristoffer Hughes' work.The style of writing is entertaining and inclusive which is often not the case with esoteric writers.

By looking back to original source material the author avoids the traps laid down by many poor translations and brings to life the tale of Taliesin & Ceridwen in a manner worthy of Technicolor.

The book is enchanting and a delight to read.Worthy of the attention of followers of the pagan paths and also those with an interest in Welsh myth.

I look forward to having many other books by Kristoffer Hughes sitting on my shelves as much loved,well read friends.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read.., 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone intreasted in myths, legends and tales of our ancestors. Kris travels with you into this wonderfully magical book exploring the story of Taliesin and indeed yourself.
Thought provoking deeply spiritual and transformative.
This is a book you will find yourself picking up to re read time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of wisdom from our celtic past, that wants and needs to be retold and remembered, 10 Oct 2014
By 
L. Peynado (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
Born in raised in Wales as a mixed race person, though my mum is welsh, I had never really been interested into learning about welsh mythology and the spirituality therein. I was always searching for 'truth' in distant places, in lands that are foreign to me. It finally dawned on me that I have no good understanding of Native American 'Vision Quests' and 'Sweat Lodges' and it is very unlikely that I'm going to find a genuine Native American in Wales who will disseminate the information that tribes hold sacred.

I'm well aware of the many 'plastic shaman' profiteering from the 'New Age'. I do however, love nature. I love the rural settings that have surrounded me all my life. Wales and the British isles has just as much a tradition of 'truth' and spirituality as much as the romanticized Native Americans etc. I am now ready to take that step to learn more about the history of MY land - Land of My Mothers.

This book contains gems of information and I will be purchasing and buying the authors other books. There are no New Age gimmicks to be found in this book either, phewwww. I have found a new respect and love for my heritage. Its funny how much of what I've been searching for was under my nose all this time. Amazing....

Anyways, this book really opened by eyes and the author has done a great job to bring things into the modern and in a very down to earth tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true cauldron of inspiration, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
The author uses the traditional legend of Cerridwen and Taliesin to provide an inspirational framework for personal spiritual development. Kris Hughes brings the analogies of the tale of transformation and rebirth to life for readers, and it is both a practical and philosophical guide. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kris Hughes does it with aplomb!, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore (Paperback)
This book is both down to earth and highly inspirational, you can not only get your teeth into the practical exercises you can let your spirit soar with the archetypes and transform yourself, spiritually energised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore
From the Cauldron Born: Exploring the Magic of Welsh Legend & Lore by Kristoffer Hughes (Paperback - 12 Jan 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews