Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flapping around a field in Cornwall
This is the only book I've ever bought (or read) about faery. I bought it because it's by Emily Carding, whose work on Tarot of the Sidhe I so greatly admire. I don't know what to think about faery. Despite my interest in things esoteric, I am actually quite a hard-headed realist and skeptic. Some of you who also consider yourselves both a mystic and a skeptic might...
Published 24 months ago by Carla Tate

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More about humans and advertising than faeries
This book is well written and has beautiful pictures....it also has a LOT of advertising and looking at things from human point of view. Not for me.
I prefer to work quietly with the faery folk rather than advertise and brag about it. Much prefer D J Conway's The Ancient Art of Faery Magick.
Published 10 months ago by helaswolf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flapping around a field in Cornwall, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
This is the only book I've ever bought (or read) about faery. I bought it because it's by Emily Carding, whose work on Tarot of the Sidhe I so greatly admire. I don't know what to think about faery. Despite my interest in things esoteric, I am actually quite a hard-headed realist and skeptic. Some of you who also consider yourselves both a mystic and a skeptic might understand what a difficult position that sometimes can be! My spiritual path is quite earth-based, and I do not mess with otherworld realms much. I sense that something is 'flying around' out there (it's the best way I can think of to put it), but I feel no need to have any of those things turn their attention upon little old me. My workings are done with shields firmly up. In fact, I'm pretty sure my shields are up all the time, even when not needed. This is one reason I feel consideration of faery is good for my development. Another reason is that feeling I get when I venture out into the natural world, the feeling of a spiritual presence in the elements, and by that I don't mean the usual earth, water, fire, air, but also rivers, trees, rocks, and hills. Even a clearing or a fall of water into a tiny pool takes on the feeling of an entity to me. I want to greet them, honour them, admire them; there's something there, something more than just grass or moss or flowing water. And it's that feeling of spirit in the natural world that, to me, is the enchanted realm of faery. Forget little girls with wings (like the fairies at the bottom of the garden), or frog women wearing wreaths on their heads (like Brian Froud's illustrations), or slant-eyed wraiths with a dangerous edginess (Tarot of the Sidhe). Those are just individual artists' attempts to capture the feeling. That's not what the fae look like. Who knows what they look like. If they even look like anything. Artists famed for their depictions of faery agree on this point:

'I discovered faeries really by making it up, by trying to imagine what it was...but it was always about feelings. So I brought all my skills as an artist to bear on trying to get the form and shape of what I was painting to feel like something that was elusive and invisible'. ~ Brian Froud, qtd in Faery Craft

'[From an early age, believing in faery] was just the most natural thing, and it wasn't a cute little game we played, it was just that they were there, and we could leave them things, and we could feel them. We couldn't see them particularly, but we could always feel them, so I just grew up thinking it was the most natural thing in the world.' ~ Wendy Froud, qtd in Faery Craft

'People want to believe what I'm showing them is real, and they go, 'Oh, that's how they look, isn't it?' and I say, 'Well, actually, no. It's how they feel.' You've got to bring people to some place where they can understand and feel it, and also that is a genuine opening, a genuine gateway to the reality...the problem is, when you try to express this stuff, everything fails. Words fail, pictures fail, everything is failing in one of the most astonishing and beautiful events. So to do what I do is trying to do the impossible, but I believe in it passionately.' ~ Brian Froud, qtd in Faery Craft

And so you see, the faery realm has nothing to do with a blur out of the corner of your eye being a leprechaun that has just sprinted past you. It has everything to do with feeling 'something', and not knowing what it is, but knowing nonetheless that something is there, and it's got a kind of awareness, it's got a depth, it's got an antiquity, and it is somehow connected to the land and to you, and that you want to be with it, acknowledge it, respect it. The desire to communicate, or at least commune, with these perceived forces is the desire to 'weave connections with the enchanted realm,' at least for me. It has very little to do with decorating a faery altar, or flapping around a field in Cornwall wearing a velvet basque and gauze wings with glitter painted on your face, though to your surprise you may find yourself doing these very things. That's something else that's so amazing about faery. The aspect of freeing up your spirit.

Oh yeah, I was supposed to be reviewing the book. Faery Craft is a really good introduction. It's divided into eight chapters:

Ch 1 Knowledge - A bit of background on faery lore and various ideas about what faery are. (Ancient gods? Aliens? Fallen angels?)

Ch 2 Connection - Explains the four elements and some symbols associated with otherworld, with really excellent meditations/exercises for you to try.

Ch 3 Trust - Ideas about seeking a spirit guide and also about manifestations (if that's the right word) of spirit in the natural landscape, with lots more activities suggested for you to try.

Ch 4 Honour - Altar and offerings, basically ways to acknowledge the fae

Ch 5 Magick - Circle casting and various consecration rituals

Ch 6 Joy - Joining the faery community - That would be other people who love faery and like to get together for some of that costumed frolicking. Some good introductory information here about various paths and organizations. LOTS of photographs and suggestions for dressing up and doing rituals.

Ch 7 Inspiration - Interviews with faery community luminaries: RJ Stewart, John and Caitlin Matthews, Zardoa and Silver Flame of the Silver Elves, T Thorn Coyle, and many more (including the Frouds).

Ch 8 Balance - A final exercise involving the septagram, or faery star.

I really enjoyed reading this book and have been enlightened by it to whole communities whose existence I knew nothing of, as well as inspired to explore otherworld for myself in my own way. Definitely recommended, even if you're a skeptic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkles with glittering faery magic, 9 Oct. 2012
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading Faery Craft by Emily Carding. This is a book that I have been aware of and anticipating for several months, ever since seeing Emily Carding's awesome "Tarot of the Sidhe" and reading her excellent essay in "Both Sides of Heaven". It is clear from looking at her work that she is in touch with the Fey and is instrumental in bringing their energies into the world. I have not been disappointed reading Faery Craft and even reading it on my Kindle iPad app I am happy to say that the work captures that faery enchantment and sparkles with glittery magic across every page.

I have been practicing magic and pestering supernatural entities for quite a few years now, so am not approaching this book as a beginner, rather as someone who wants to learn more about a subject which (at least in my esoteric neck of the woods) is rather obscure.

Faery-lore is something where there are a lot of legends and references however very little actual information. Digging back into history there are more interesting accounts and several grimoires which have sections on dealing with faeries. However usually we are left with folklore and fairytales as the main body of information regarding these entities. It is a fleeting, frustrating subject to research however and the problem with older sources is that our perspective and culture has moved on, leaving some work rather dated. Emily Carding has done a superb job however and is a magical practitioner and a Priestess, so her contemporary perspective and work is invaluable. This book has been needed for quite some time.

The book begins by looking at what faeries actually are. This is possibly an impossible question however all the ideas that have been put forward in the past are discussed and explained with theories ranging from simple nature sprits to ancestors to aliens. Emily makes a great point when she considers the idea that rather than us considering faeries as "aliens" (in the ET sense), could we consider "aliens" as faeries and alien contact experiences as faery experiences? I do not doubt that we are looking at the same phenomena here perhaps seen from two different cultural lenses and turning the usual idea on its head in this way provides much food for thought. I wonder for example whether anyone has tried any of the usual anti-faery measures such as using iron during a UFO/alien experience.

Faery Craft is woven around a seven pointed star, each point corresponding to a specific branch of faery lore. Each point on the star corresponding to the concepts of Knowledge, Connection, Trust, Honour, Magick, Joy and Inspiration, each of these being important keys when discussing and interacting with the Fey.

I have already discussed "knowledge" above, which concerned what faeries are, as well as discussing the rules to follow when dealing with them (such as avoiding Faery Food) and remembering the correct etiquette when dealing with the good folk. Each chapter is quite substantial and loaded with lots of information, much more than I can do justice with here using a few brief words of description.

The second chapter "connection" looks at faeries in our landscape, discussing the types of elemental being out there and also placing some within the context of a year; a zodiac; so we know from the astrological sign behind them what type of qualities we might expect and perhaps when would be a good time to work with that type of being. This chapter led very nicely into the next, "trust" which then considered the underworld journey and using portals and gateways.

The next chapter "honour" then focused on devotional work and how to best honour and work with the Fey, so Carding discusses building a shrine and how to make offerings (including what not to offer for sound environmental reasons). Again I found that this chapter bridged very easily with the next, "magick" which looked at getting started with practicing magic and detailed (among much more) the magical directions and sacred spaces, how to cast a circle and create and use magical tools.

The next two chapters "joy" and "inspiration" then step out into the wide world and look at what is out there today. So there is a discussion on the different faery events and gathering which occur around the world and then a section on crafts detailing how to make your own garments, wings etc as part of a costume. I'll be the first to admit that faery wings do not suit my complexion, however a lot of people will find this chapter very useful as they cast their own faerie glamour! We then move on to the inspiration which the Fey have given humanity so much in the arts so we read about the work of people such as RJ Stewart, John and Caitlin Matthews, and Wendy and Brian Froud as well as the relevance of the work of JRR Tolkien. There is much more here as Emily Carding looks at a wide range of people working with Faery contacts today as artists, magicians and writers.

Finally this is all tied together with a final chapter "balance" which contains a septagram working and a final fairytale loaded with meaning and inspiration

Each chapter ends with a number of activities designed to help bring you in contact with the faerie kingdoms. There are certainly a few spots I know of both in Somerset where I live and also Hertfordshire which certainly feel faerie-haunted to me where I shall certainly go and meditate to see what happens; not forgetting the proper etiquette of course!

The whole book is very well researched drawing upon the work of such luminaries as have been named above (and many more), as well as past authors and Fey-explorers such as A.E. and W.B. Yeats (both with a Golden Dawn heritage), W.Y. Evans-Wentz whose classic "The Fairy Faith in Celtic countries" was written before he went off gallivanting to Tibet (to write other classics) and many others. However through all this Emily Carding's work is a gossamer thread of inspiration running across all the faery realms opening up this hidden kingdom and helping anyone who hears such a calling to enter.

Threaded through with personal accounts, poetry, interviews and stunning artwork this is a book to be read, re-read and treasured forever. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writing down a lifelong wisdom, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
I am lucky enough to know Emily Carding personally, and have long enjoyed learning from her about the fae. She is the one who opened me to them again - after years of separation, since I'd left childhood. She taught me that the fae are not the sweet little flower creatures of Victorian imagination, but beings of power, light and strong connection with the Earth; the Elder race, with their own culture, civilisation and modes of thinking and operating. Some of this Emily had explored in her Tarot of the Sidhe, channelled from the great Sidhe faery of Ireland. Now Emily brings her deep knowledge of the faery realm, forged over a lifetime, to the page in this book, sharing it with a wider public. Her work is practical: in addition to the lore that she shares, Emily also suggests exercises and activities to discover faery, strengthen our connections with it, honour the fae and learn from these wise beings, custodians of the Earth in a real sense.

Read this book. Have fun with the exercises, the lore, the beauty, the glitter and games. But be sure to put it down often and go out in the woods, by the streams, under waterfalls, up mountains or into caves, and develop a direct experience of the fae, guided by Emily's wise understanding of them. Then let them influence your day-to-day life, your relationship with the Earth and your action to save our Mother Planet from another mass extinction, which looms ever closer. There is still time: and the fae can help in many ways, not least as our guides and teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent working book, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
I'm really overjoyed with this book, everything, even down to the type of paper that it is printed on feels 'special'

Now I have a very long list of books here waiting to be read, but as I opened this and started to flick through the pages, it jumped straight to the top of the queue.

It is a working book with exercises and suggested ways of going about things and I am using it like a course, working through one chapter each lunar month, so I'm not writing from the perspective of having finished the whole book yet.

I have a bit of experience with the fae, but I'm getting a lot from this book, I already had the glyph but this has got me to use it regularly, some of the stuff is straight forward but needed saying, to be honest.
Some stuff I have come across in similar form through other pagan paths but this book has approached them differently and actually put them into a working context, which I have found refreshing - instead of learning exercises as a stand alone exercise, it has put them into context of building up a practice.
And some stuff in here is new to me. I've not come across anything yet that I've felt like leaving out or felt like 'old hat'

If you are willing to put some work into using the book, it is very much worth the investment, you may also want to get a journal to make notes in and keep recordings of how you re progressing with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Faery book ever, 22 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
I have brought many books about Faery's over the years.
This is the first book I have brought that basically tells you how to get down with the faery's.
It is easy to follow, read and understand. Keeps me wanting more with each page.
I love this book, have been reading it in the woods, by the sea , up a tree anywhere I can be alone with this book and go deeper and deeper.
Emily knows her stuff and if you buy this book you really wont want to loan it out, so at the same time I suggest you buy your friends a copy to because as soon as they see it, they will want it.
I am only halfway through so if you want to know more, buy the book because you won't be disappointed.
I rate it 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An comprehensive exploration of faeries in the 21st century, 6 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
Firstly a declaration of interest: Emily is a personal friend and has included an interview with me in this book. That stated, here's the (hopefully unbiased!) review:

'Faery Craft' is a delight to hold in your hands. It's well-produced and attractively laid out with lots of great photographs. The content is clearly and intelligently arranged; the prose is warm and welcoming. There is lots of encouragement for those just making their first tentative steps into a deeper connection with Faery as well as plenty of information and excellent exercises to satisfy experienced practitioners. At the end of the chapters you'll find lists of suggested activities. Emily is adamant that offerings should be biodegradable. No pink glitter - it's litter and it dishonours nature! So wise, and an indication of how in tune she is with the Faery Realms.

Peppered throughout are interviews with a wide range of artists, musicians, performers and practitioners, alongside information on websites, magazines and today's Faery Events.

Emily is a sincere and generous human being who has studied fairy lore and practised The Craft for many years. You will be in safe hands if you choose to invest in this wise and helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For faery fans everywhere, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
I am totally blown away in a very good way, by the amount of information on every aspect of the faery scene, and the wealth of information contained therein. I can not wait to settle down and delve into the faery delights in this book! Thank you Emily, for taking the time to document our beautiful faery community ♥ If you have not got your copy yet, then add it to your xmas/solstice/festmas wish list NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faery Craft, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
Faery Craft by Faery intimate, Emily Carding, is a wonderful book full of faery lore, knowledge of the Fae, and their Enchanted Realms.

This book can be used as a workbook to learn how to connect with the Faeries, how to connect with the natural world the Faeries prefer, and how to open and connect with ones' own heart, and to the Faeries' Otherworlds. The chapters are set up to first inform, and then provide exercises which will give the reader a personal experience of that information, including ways and means to truly connect.

It becomes obvious, as you work your way through Faery Craft, that the Faeries very much took a part in writing this book! And why not, when Emily is one of the Faery clan herself!

Be warned, this is a serious book for those who truly want to connect with the Fae.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice book, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm (Paperback)
This book is nothing like I thought it would be. I haven't really had a chance to look at it all yet but when I have read is really good. The author obviously takes faeries seriously and there are lots of information and photos of other beliveres and events that take place. Looking forward to taking more time to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More about humans and advertising than faeries, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well written and has beautiful pictures....it also has a LOT of advertising and looking at things from human point of view. Not for me.
I prefer to work quietly with the faery folk rather than advertise and brag about it. Much prefer D J Conway's The Ancient Art of Faery Magick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm
Faery Craft: Weaving Connections with the Enchanted Realm by Emily Carding (Paperback - 8 Oct. 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews