Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For serious Golden Dawn study
What's Included
Golden Dawn Magical Tarot comes in a typical Llewellyn box: oversized, flimsy and coming apart at the seams upon arrival. When I opened my parcel, I could feel something sliding around inside the box, tore off the outer shrink wrap, and the side of the box (not the top flap) came open because the glue was dried out. I opened the box and the deck slid...
Published 12 months ago by Carla Tate

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad
The Good: Symbols galore. Great for the Golden Dawn crew.

The Bad: Ugly drawings. Bad for looking at them.

Verdict: Simplistic and ugly drawings (some of the knights look like wimps) makes this symbolic deck unpleasent to look at and extremely hard to divine with.

But they do contain a close approximatin to Book T.
Published on 25 Sep 2006 by A. Wilkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For serious Golden Dawn study, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Dawn Magical Tarot: A Complete Tarot Set (Cards)
What's Included
Golden Dawn Magical Tarot comes in a typical Llewellyn box: oversized, flimsy and coming apart at the seams upon arrival. When I opened my parcel, I could feel something sliding around inside the box, tore off the outer shrink wrap, and the side of the box (not the top flap) came open because the glue was dried out. I opened the box and the deck slid out onto the table, not in its own tuck box but only wrapped in cellophane, like a pack of cigarettes. I dumped the remaining contents out: a white bit supposedly meant to hold the deck in place, but nothing like the same size or shape as the deck, and a companion book called 'The New Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot'.

The Cards
The cards are not particularly thick nor thin and have a slight lamination with a matte finish. The card back is a borderless black background, with a red cross atop a white pyramid, inside of which is a half sun, which also resembles a cog. Must be some sort of Golden Dawn logo. The fronts of the cards have a white outer border, then elaborate black line borders which echo the Egyptian/Deco style of the Thoth. The cards measure 4.5 x 3 inches (11.5 x 8 cm), and the actual image on each card is 3.25 x 2.75 inches (roughly 8 x 6 cm). So there is a lot of white on the card, which might bother some people. Stacked, the deck is just under 1 inch thick (2.75 cm).

Some of the cards of my particular deck are printed crooked on the card, particularly in the Pentacles suit. This is quite noticeable when examining the deck, but I don't think it will detract when using for actual readings, when the focus locks onto the actual image to the exclusion of all else. It's been my experience that many apparent deal breakers fade into the background during readings.

The majors include an arabic numeral, Hebrew letter, and astrological symbol. The courts have a title at the bottom and elemental symbol at the top. The minors have an arabic numeral, suit name at top, elemental symbols and Golden Dawn title at the bottom. There are the planetary and astrological symbols in the minor images. The colours of the cards are not random but to do with Golden Dawn attributes, and a technique called 'flashing colours'--the Golden Dawn assigns each element two complimentary colours, those that sit on opposite sides of the colour wheel which, when stared at, will swap places with each other in an optical effect. This is designed to enhance intuition, meditation, divination and magical practice.

One thing about the card art which might bother some but doesn't bother me at all is that the format for cards is very samey, or should I say 'formulaic'. All the kings look exactly the same save for colouring and symbols. Same with queens, princes and princesses. This makes perfect sense when you realise that they ARE the same in value and function, changing only as related to their suit.

Another thing is the minor cards. All cards in a particular suit have identical colouring, and vary only in arrangement of the pips in order to fit the proper number on the card. This, too, makes sense, as the colours are Golden Dawn associations with suit, and the numbers are only important as they pertain to which sephiroth on the Tree of Life each number is associated with. I've also noticed that every single minor card has at least one human hand in it. There is always a human hand holding the pips. Though sometimes it's a green hand (in the wands, because red and green are flashing colours, I guess.)

A Word about the Art
I would put the art work on par with the Sol Invictus deck: that is to say, it seems to have been created by someone who cannot draw, but who is motivated to do so anyway, and who soldiers on to produce work that would be praised by a 6th grade art teacher. This doesn't bother me. I am mindful that Golden Dawn students were required to create their own tarot decks based on the descriptions given, and this deck looks like the kind of thing that I, having no artistic talent, might produce after hours, months or even years of devoted labour. It would be my best possible effort, and it makes me feel kindly toward the deck, and lends it a sort of personal feeling.

Comparing it to Lady Frieda Harris's art, which is so skilled and stylish, the symbols so integrated into the lines of the art that it is sometimes hard to pick them up or understand why they are there, this deck's art is quite clunky. In Golden Dawn Magical Tarot, the symbols are rather guilelessly plonked in, to be earnestly pondered. Let's compare the Princess of Cups from this deck and the Thoth, a card that puzzled me greatly in the Thoth deck, on first encounter. Both artists worked from the same Golden Dawn description: 'She stands on a sea with foaming spray. Away to her right is a dolphin. She wears a crest on her helmet, belt and buskins, a swan with opening wings. She bears in one hand a lotus, and in the other an open cup from which a turtle issues. Her mantle is lined with swan's down, and is of thin, floating material.' Students of Golden Dawn would have been taught what each one of these symbols means. (And the Golden Dawn Magical Tarot companion book explains them). It is much easier for me to pick out the details in the more primitive (or 'naive') art style of the Golden Dawn Magical Tarot on the right than the Thoth on the left. It might not be as lush or aesthetically pleasing, but as a straightforward representation of the symbols that the Golden Dawn required for Princess of Cups, it's pretty darn close to perfect. There is clearly a headdress, belt and buskins, whereas the Thoth figure looks like a swan has landed on the head of a statue, which is sailing away toward a vortex behind her, on cosmic ribbons, wearing a voluminous pink sheet. Great, once you know the symbols, not so great if you're a student just learning.

Extra Card
There are two versions of the Temperance card, which I think deserves examination in a separate blog entry of its own. Very interesting. So in total there are 79 cards in this deck.

The Book
The book, 'The Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot' by Chic and Sandra Cicero, is the usual full-size soft cover companion book, with glued and stitched binding and a few black and white illustrations. It contains five chapters and a bibliography -- but what chapters! This book packs a lot of information and is great for beginning students of the Golden Dawn system. The basics of Qabalah, the Tree of Life, The Hebrew alphabet, the colour scales, and the decanates are all presented here in a straightforward manner. There are succinct, easy-to-read tables of attributions.

The bulk of the book is the card-by-card explanation. Don't look for much in the way of divinatory meanings here; this book is not about fortune telling. This book is about Golden Dawn theories of tarot, which are summed up in the intro: 'Whether or not the original creators of Tarot intended to create a pictorial system of that would explain the basic principles of Qabalah is unimportant. It is irrefutably evident that the two systems fit together so completely that one explains the other, and both point to the same Divine Truths.'

The final chapters of the book include detailed instructions on magical basics such as the Lesser Banishing Ritual of the Pentagram, Ritual Bath, Relaxation Ritual, Tarot consecration rituals, and many more. An index lists divinatory card meanings, and there are some spreads supplied at the end of the book, including the Golden Dawn 15 card spread and the Opening of the Key. It is not a lightweight work, but a book for true magical practice.

I am very happy to have purchased this kit and believe it will enhance my study of the Golden Dawn system and the Thoth deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent working deck, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Summarises a wealth of information. The wee book that accompanies the deck is a concentrated primer and basis for a multitude of workings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting deck, 21 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the way this deck comes with a little booklet which fits into an overall casing. As for the cards themselves, some of the designs are innovative and whilst I admit I really like this deck, I found some of the cards garish. I like the way the minor arcana have keywords of meaning at the bottom and the major trumps have their path attributation in terms of the hebrew letters (from the Golden Dawn arrangement). I felt a little let down by the minor arcana as the images are very basic eg 4 of swords only has a picture of literally 4 swords. There seems to be a lesser level of detail on the minor trumps than say the standard Rider-Waite deck. Although, I was impressed when I found most of the cards are painted in the system of the Golden Dawn flashing colours. The booklet which comes with the deck is comprehensive including a GD style ritual for consecrating the cards. The cards also have a distinctively egyptian-flavour and include symbolism from the GD rituals. Interestingly, I detected an undercurrent of Thelemic symbolism in some of the cards too. The deck is good as a divination tool, but it is clear that it is also designed for deeper use of the tarot such as meditation, ritual work etc.

I like this deck and would recommend it especially those into the Golden Dawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 16 Mar 2010
I knew someone that had this deck and instantly it called to me...I Love it even though it is not one of the most attractive decks the symbolism is great and the readings are accurate.
Perhaps not one for everyone, it is distantly reminding me of the Thoth but is much easier to read. enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 6 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The real power of this deck are the colours - they really make the mind 'click' on the meaning instantly. Also minor arcanas are probably as close to Book T description as one can get.
Unfortunately very naive drawings and missing important symbols in major arcanas.
If you are into GD - this is THE deck for you. If you need cards purely for divination, you might be able to find a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 23 May 2014
By 
C. L. McNamee "Tiger Lilly" (Newry N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Dawn Magical Tarot: A Complete Tarot Set (Cards)
very pleased with this tarot deck , It is very clear to use although I often supplement it with the rider-waite deck...but the symbolism is excellent and thorough on the major arcana. The minor arcana I find if I use the rider-waite then it assists my visualisation until I get to know it better...a fantiastic deck....I use it for my own readings. For other peoples readings Im using the rider-waite still until I get really familiar with this one. To me this seems to be a very accurate deck , especially when used in conjunction with the book by the Ciceros which is extremely detailed and informative. A must have together with the tarot cards in my opinion. It certainly assists one with readings and interpretations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad, 25 Sep 2006
By 
A. Wilkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Good: Symbols galore. Great for the Golden Dawn crew.

The Bad: Ugly drawings. Bad for looking at them.

Verdict: Simplistic and ugly drawings (some of the knights look like wimps) makes this symbolic deck unpleasent to look at and extremely hard to divine with.

But they do contain a close approximatin to Book T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Dawn Magical Tarot: A Complete Tarot Set
Golden Dawn Magical Tarot: A Complete Tarot Set by Sandra Tabatha Cicero (Cards - 1 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: 95.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews