Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a charming, autobiographical look at the things they tell you not to do!
I have a confession to make... this is the first Lon Milo DuQuette book that I have ever read.

The first thing I will be doing after reading this book is checking out the back catalogue. DuQuette's style of writing is incredibly accessible and entertaining.

Although this book is dealing with 'low magick' (the stuff that you are most likely to be...
Published on 16 Mar. 2011 by Katie Gerrard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read but not to be taken too seriously
It's ok. But is largely self-indulgent. Fun to read but not to be taken too seriously.
Published 2 months ago by Maybe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a charming, autobiographical look at the things they tell you not to do!, 16 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a confession to make... this is the first Lon Milo DuQuette book that I have ever read.

The first thing I will be doing after reading this book is checking out the back catalogue. DuQuette's style of writing is incredibly accessible and entertaining.

Although this book is dealing with 'low magick' (the stuff that you are most likely to be warned not to dabble with!) it is autobiographical, and the charm it holds is in how much of his magickal diaries he opens and shares. It really drives home that DuQuette is an experimenter - if you tell him that something can't or shouldn't be done, he is going to set about finding out WHY. This is what makes him such a trailblazer in his field. If everyone sat back and followed the 'don't do it' rules, we still wouldn't be eating tomatoes!

My personal highlight was the invoking of all the spirits of a Tarot deck into the cards in a weekend. It reminded me of some of my early spiritual 'experiments' and I am sure far more people than would care to admit it have undertaken just as crazy things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable - treat its levity with repect!, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is (Paperback)
This book was bought on a whim when appeared on a list of amazon recommendations. I haven't regretted it one bit! It brought back good and bad memories, cringeworthy recognitions and several insights. I've learned a lot but not in preachy way - you rock - I'm so glad I didn't put it down when page one invited me to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lon Milo, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is (Paperback)
Only second book of his I have read but have found both very entertaining and informative - a great read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyed, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book and this author has become my top 10 favourite of all time. I found his writing to be lucid generous humorous and informative. If you want to know the principles behind a modern magicians practices as well as his world view this book will be very helpful in guiding the seeker through the maze that is the spiritual path. Thank you Lon duquette for generously sharing your knowledge, for your straightforward honesty, for throwing light into what is otherwise a complicated path. You've made my year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... my first encounter with Mr DuQuette and I was amazed by how down to earth and understandable his writing ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first encounter with Mr DuQuette and I was amazed by how down to earth and understandable his writing is. I have moved on to purchase other by him and after a little research it appears that he is exactly the writer I have been looking for when it comes to the topic of Magick.

The book is more or less a collection of anecdotes that detail some of the more memorable experiences that DuQuette has had in his magickal career, but they are not dry or dusty tales, nor do they come across as the stories of a man who wants to inflate his own ego. They are simple, more often than not quite funny and if you are willing to put in a little work for yourself, they are quite instructive as to how to get started in Magick yourself.

I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. i think that the way he writes would appeal even to those with only a passing knowledge of what Magick actually is. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am not disappointed. It is an informative Humorous 'down to earth' ..., 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is (Paperback)
I bought this book on the basis of previous reviews. I am not disappointed. It is an informative Humorous 'down to earth' personal approach to Magic.I am glad to add this to my collection. It has made me laugh out loud at some passages. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is possible., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Duquette's writing style is entertaining and informative. It demystifies magick and brings it into the realm of everyday possibilities. It also shows you that practice makes perfect. Thanks Lon Milo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NICE., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is (Paperback)
I REALLY LIKED IT.HE CONVINCED ME THAT MY HEAD IS AS BIG AS THE UNIVERSE
THAT I LIVE IN.HOPE THE WHOLE OF HUMANITY SEES IT THAT WAY ONE DAY TOO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Probems, 26 April 2014
By 
I. Longhurst "DTD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is (Paperback)
Adds to the concept very worth reading remember with a different approach - also a brillant thoughtful author & very readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read but not to be taken too seriously, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is (Paperback)
It's ok. But is largely self-indulgent. Fun to read but not to be taken too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Low Magick: It's All in Your Head ...You Just Have No Idea How Big Your Head is
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews