Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A book I enjoyed
I enjoyed this book because, as an avid fan of Cunningham's writings, this book was like a time capsule. It showed how his ideas developed over the years. It would be a huge mistake to start editing his early writings to make them conform with current views regarding Wicca. I am glad that Llewellyn had the sense not to do that. This book is a wonderful tribute to a...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by Avatar

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely idea of a book.....
When I first saw this in my bookshop late last year, I couldn't express my excitement enough! Scott has been my favourite pagan author since day one manys a year ago. His encyclopaedia of herbs and recipe books has been a great source of inspiration for many a ritual, spell and ceremony, as I'm sure many people reading this will have the same view of these amazing...
Published on 7 Mar. 2010 by Alan Mcknight


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely idea of a book....., 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Alan Mcknight (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cunningham's Book of Shadows: The Path of an American Traditionalist (Hardcover)
When I first saw this in my bookshop late last year, I couldn't express my excitement enough! Scott has been my favourite pagan author since day one manys a year ago. His encyclopaedia of herbs and recipe books has been a great source of inspiration for many a ritual, spell and ceremony, as I'm sure many people reading this will have the same view of these amazing books.

Having said that, I can't help but feel when I was reading this that it was just a basic rehash of his many other brilliant works; Magical Aromatherapy, Wicca Solitary, Gems and Crystals, Magical Herbalism, Earth Power etc. Its been 17 years since Scott has passed on, so it must be very hard to find new material for books. I have a hard time remembering any ground breaking new material in this book. There was a charming section of medical herbal information and some of Scott's own hand drawn symbols. But again nothing that hasn't been covered in Wicca, for example.

I have nothing really postive to say about this, which annoys me, if I'm honest. While it is a very charming 'intro' book as many of Scott's book are, and a great present for newer witches or civilians (so to speak). But if you are like me and have most of Scott Cunninghams other books then you will find little in the way of valuable book space. Sorry to say.

Save your money for his Encyclopaedias, Wicca or Magical Household books if you don't already have these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book I enjoyed, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cunningham's Book of Shadows: The Path of an American Traditionalist (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book because, as an avid fan of Cunningham's writings, this book was like a time capsule. It showed how his ideas developed over the years. It would be a huge mistake to start editing his early writings to make them conform with current views regarding Wicca. I am glad that Llewellyn had the sense not to do that. This book is a wonderful tribute to a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fast delivery packed with care, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cunningham's Book of Shadows: The Path of an American Traditionalist (Hardcover)
Beautiful condition perfect just as you said it would be great to be able to get the books I like thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cunningham's Book of Shadows: The Path of an American Traditionalist (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cunningham's Book of Shadows: The Path of an American Traditionalist
Cunningham's Book of Shadows: The Path of an American Traditionalist by Scott Cunningham (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2009)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews