Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Enjoyable, Slightly Quirkly Deck
I like this slightly quirky deck a lot. There is much to look at and the imagery really engages you and the borders continue the feel of the artwork without standing out. I have never been one for lots of detail and haven't scrutinised every card of this deck (yet) but I do know that the imagery, on the most, part coincides with the Rider-Waite, and provides an expanded...
Published on 28 Dec 2009 by Hannah

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars uncertain
have only just acquired this deck and my inital thoughts were that yes the images are beautiful however, this deck suffers tremendously from the loss of detail that could easily have been resolved if the cards were that bit bigger. The accompanying book is informative and has a 'use your intution' section for each card and sadly it is only through that section that i...
Published on 21 Feb 2009 by Sparkle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Enjoyable, Slightly Quirkly Deck, 28 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
I like this slightly quirky deck a lot. There is much to look at and the imagery really engages you and the borders continue the feel of the artwork without standing out. I have never been one for lots of detail and haven't scrutinised every card of this deck (yet) but I do know that the imagery, on the most, part coincides with the Rider-Waite, and provides an expanded and inspiring feel. It is dream-like and takes you away from the mundane whilst you read and provides you with new insights without having to think to much. It's good for beginners, but not as obvious as the Rider-Waite deck, although it does contain most of the Rider-Waite elements.

I think that the point people might complain about, is the perspective of the cards, in that the figures, and the backgrounds don't seem to be relative to each other but you can see everything going on in the cards very clearly and I think the wonky perspective is what gives this deck its charm and edge. Sometimes you can overlook the imagery, because you know the meaning in your head, but this deck makes you to look a little closer and its very enjoyable doing so!

The cards are standard sized, not too thin or thick and with a thin light laminate. Box with book and organza bag to put the cards in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars uncertain, 21 Feb 2009
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
have only just acquired this deck and my inital thoughts were that yes the images are beautiful however, this deck suffers tremendously from the loss of detail that could easily have been resolved if the cards were that bit bigger. The accompanying book is informative and has a 'use your intution' section for each card and sadly it is only through that section that i realised a huge number of traditional tarot symbols are present and even when they were referred to i struggled to see or identify them. Though i'm not usually into photocollages it seems to work fairly well with this deck though some of the characters don't look that great and i found some of the court cards particularly unappealing. The cards are also quite flimsy though oddly this made me quite like the feel of them. On the whole though, the cards really do reflect their meaning very well and i think would work equally well for a beginner or more advanced reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Steve Craftman (Neath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
I'm surprised that Barbara Moore lent her name to this deck by writing the book. The interpretations are pretty much the average, although the "use your intuition" questions after each card would be useful in a tarot class.

But the book is not the deck and the deck is the tool. As is increasingly common these days the deck is composed of manipulated images. I would say Photoshopped, but in this instance the artist has chosen Paint Shop Pro as her medium. The artists' acknowledgements section of the book first thanks the stock photographers whose work she has used, and much further down the page she thanks her models.

The deck fails, for me, because I can see, in part, what Ms Darras is doing: that is, I recognise the effects she's using and the knowledge of how each manipulation might have been achieved which detracts from the imagery, and occasionally destroys it (I'm thinking especially of the Ten of Cups - such a cheesy rainbow!). Secondly her actors don't necessarily fit the scene they're illustrating: either their facial expression is wrong or else they're obviously a photograph imported into the scene.

I like the idea of the moon appearing so often to emphasise the deck's title as the Mystic Dreamer Tarot, and the moon sits well in the scenes she visits, even though the blending between layers might not be perfect. Also of note is the fact that many more women are depicted than men, which may appeal to those in search of a more women-centred deck than we usually see.

The deck is bordered with a fake parchment border, which is the same on every card and takes up too much space, making the actual images of the cards too small for these tired old eyes. When I have to squint while wearing my reading glasses to actually make out details there's something wrong!

Although they only get a couple of lines each in the book, the deck does support reversals - looking at the back of the card you can't tell if it's upright or reversed.

This deck is a beautiful idea which has been not been fully realised. I hope Ms Darras returns to this deck and revises it: it could be wonderful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarot - Mystic Dreamer, 18 July 2009
By 
D. Nuttall (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards)
When I first started to read tarot, a lesson to learn was to meditate upon a card interacting with the scene, well a lot of imagination/visualisation is used, Mystic Dreamer as made this exercise effortless as you look into the card they appear 3 - dimensional. The art work is of a very high if not excellent standard, I'm still getting to know this deck but so far Ive found it very easy and a pleasure to read with.Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards)
Blessings Decia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first and favourite!, 19 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
These were the first set of cards I ever got, and they will always be my favorite! Beautiful pictures, easy to read. Amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystic Dream tarot, 14 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
I saw this pack online and was attracted by the images. They are slightly different and each card has the Moon in it with some interesting ideas about them. The accompanying book is very good - I'm always on the lookout for new interpretations and this has them, concisely put.

Recommended for all interested in Tarot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed..., 5 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
I ordered these cards and had been looking forward to receiving them for ages as the photos on the internet looked stunning...BUT...what a let down!

The cards are very cheap looking and the imagery looks very amateurish. Nothing like the stunning photos on the internet.

I dont think I will be using these cards at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressive, 19 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
Impressed with the quality and feel of the cards.Lovely designs and should give a magical feel towards any reading (well when you put candles etc., aroundthe room).Feel that the author gives too much of her opinon towards the reading of the cards, which may affect or influnence a reading from some one who is just starting out to read it,as long as the reader understands the basic of tarot reading entertainment,and add their own thougts with the cards should be able to give enjoyable readings. Yes i would recomdend this card set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality product!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
brilliant deck, the images are really quite moving. I especially love the Judgment card and find the Death card exceedingly emotive. The quality and finish are also to be admired.
Full marks to the creators! :D
Id recommend to anyone looking for a new deck, but would advise beginners to try a more traditional deck before tackling this particular deck as they require a significanlty different approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleased, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) (Cards)
excellant price this item 26.00 in waterstones,excellant service would use this seller again,very very quick dispatch and recieval can find no fault with any part of service at all.very highly reccomended seller.
stu
ps;2 orders since sat evening 1 delivered by mon,1 ordered tue here wed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards)
Mystic Dreamer Tarot (Book & Cards) by Barbara Moore (Cards - 1 Sep 2008)
18.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews