Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to writing about food
First, I should probably 'fess up. I had already had some (non-food related) articles published and was an intermediate blogger before I picked this book up.

I found this book extremely useful as I wanted to begin writing about food but could miss out sections or skim read those that dealt with areas I'm already comfortable with. Yet, there are still a couple...
Published on 10 Jun 2011 by Mrs. L Newman

versus
5 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you want to be a food writer
I bought this to read on holiday thinking that it was a collection of food writing. It isn't, its for people who want to be food writers, I'm sure that it has a lot of good information if you want to get published but it focuses on the American market rather than the UK. Some information is relevant for both UK & US but some isn't, for example it says that you don't...
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by A Garrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to writing about food, 10 Jun 2011
First, I should probably 'fess up. I had already had some (non-food related) articles published and was an intermediate blogger before I picked this book up.

I found this book extremely useful as I wanted to begin writing about food but could miss out sections or skim read those that dealt with areas I'm already comfortable with. Yet, there are still a couple of sections like 'writing your own cookbook' that may become more useful down the line.

This really is one of those books that needs to be re-read at regular intervals as you develop.

For a beginner this book is probably overwhelming - you need to feel comfortable writing so I'd recommend a book focusing on writing skills to complement this book. I'd recommend this one: Creative Writing.

For intermediates, like me, there is a ton of guidance in here that will help you get started specialising in food writing. The great thing is you'll probably find yourself nodding as you read through the stuff that's good for beginners - reassured you're on the right path.

And for the advanced readers...it will point you in the right direction for working towards authorship yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
Very much enjoying this book-great ideas and insight. It is early on in my reading but am learning bits already and will definitely incorporate some of it into future blogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Food writers!, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
This book is full of great tips and insights to food and food writing for anyone who is interested. Writing a book or a blog, read this book first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Food Writing, 23 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
Will Write for Food offers a good introduction to most elements to the field. Very helpful information on keeping a food blog and maintaining an e-presence. I did come to resent the almost constant quoting from American authors; it showed a lack of conviction and undermines the author's authority and distanced her from British readers. That said there was a lot to be taken from the book and, if used in conjecture with a number of other essential reads, makes up a good grounding in food writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an excellent book, not just for us who write, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
What an excellent book , not just for us who write , blog , review , dream off or just love reading about food . This is the book the recent The culinary imagination hoped to be before being swallowed by a scholars thesaurus. Yes it is very much for the American market but as I am someone totally hooked on american food magazines and so bored of bake off and our obsession of tv chefs here this is like a bible of new discover for me . So many how to write books are shallow and snooty , Jacob has a great style and encourages with the exercises too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspriing and generally brilliant, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
well thought out, giving lots of tips and ideas for blogs to follow. Mainly american sites but interesting anyway. Left me itching to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
As a vegan health food blogger and photographer, this book has been a worthy investment. I have learned so much from this book - thanks Dianne!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More (Will Write for Food: The Complete Guide to Writing Blogs,) (Paperback)
Amazing book, give you all the tips you need to start writing about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you want to be a food writer, 30 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to read on holiday thinking that it was a collection of food writing. It isn't, its for people who want to be food writers, I'm sure that it has a lot of good information if you want to get published but it focuses on the American market rather than the UK. Some information is relevant for both UK & US but some isn't, for example it says that you don't need to put weights in recipes as cooks in the US don't have weighing scales. I don't know whether this is true but its not relevant to the UK market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews