Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally someone speaks out
As a parent have you ever yelled at your children to get them to do homework, have you tried to "help" them by fighting your way through masses of mass-produced worksheet and have you ever wondered if there was a point ? Did you give up a trip, a walk, reading, talking with your kids because they have homework?

As a teacher have you ever had a great lesson with...
Published on 28 Jun 2007 by catie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Valuable conclusions but heavy going.
Whilst the conclusion of the writer (that homework is of little, if any proven benefit) is vitally important, I felt the book is written in a dull and tedious way that will deter many readers. Worth strugging through if your child is struggling as well to complete their homework!
Published on 1 May 2008 by Mr. K. B. Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally someone speaks out, 28 Jun 2007
As a parent have you ever yelled at your children to get them to do homework, have you tried to "help" them by fighting your way through masses of mass-produced worksheet and have you ever wondered if there was a point ? Did you give up a trip, a walk, reading, talking with your kids because they have homework?

As a teacher have you ever had a great lesson with your students and watch the joy go away and heard the moans as soon as you mention the word "homework"?

If the answer is yes then this is the book to read. Parents and teachers know it and Alfie Kohn proves it : homework is useless. Fight it , replace it with home learning and spend time with your kids doing what you and they like. It will "teach them" more thing than another worksheet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another great work by Kohn, 6 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Homework Myth: Why Our Children Get Too Much of a Bad Thing (Paperback)
Kohn's book on homework is superb. He systematically demolishes the 'popular culture perspective' on the benefits of homework and what it is designed to accomplish and highlights that, as prescribed, it can have a deleterious effect upon children and families. He is critical but not totally anti- homework - just anti-homework-as-homework-is-done. I like how he writes - and have read a few of his other books as well - and find even where I disagree, I am better off from being provoked into thinking about an issue from his perspective than I would otherwise have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for every teacher and parent!, 13 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Homework Myth: Why Our Children Get Too Much of a Bad Thing (Paperback)
Once again Alfie Kohn does the impossible - he breaks into the heart of our dearly held assumptions about human nature and in this case our views of homework for children and counterintuitively shows how wrong we are! This is so refreshing and liberating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It completely shuts down the debate about whether homework is ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It completely shuts down the debate about whether homework is worth the bother. Time to move on. But try telling that to parents and teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well well, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
confirmed what ten years of teaching has told me. homework sucks. I've adapted my own homework provision to a more open, project based approach that has proved very popular, and hasn't put a dint in my children's progress. only problem is convincing other staff/parents to try out the ideas in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Valuable conclusions but heavy going., 1 May 2008
By 
Mr. K. B. Thomas "Tom" (Beaconsfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Homework Myth: Why Our Children Get Too Much of a Bad Thing (Paperback)
Whilst the conclusion of the writer (that homework is of little, if any proven benefit) is vitally important, I felt the book is written in a dull and tedious way that will deter many readers. Worth strugging through if your child is struggling as well to complete their homework!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Homework Myth: Why Our Children Get Too Much of a Bad Thing
£9.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews