Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, good advice
To be highly recommended.
Having struggled through the paperwork and all the other ends that needed tying in the first 7-8 months after losing my husband, I suddenly found myself with enough time on my hands to let me worry about myself and my future. The automatic pilot was starting to have a rest. I chose this book having read through the reviews for many similar...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Genine

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily appropriate
I bought this for my recently widowed aunt (who is in her late 80s). When it arrived, I had a flick through it and realised that giving it to her would cause her more problems than it would solve. It has been aimed at a much younger age group - hence there's talk of dating, sex, exercise etc. which are totally inappropriate for a woman of her generation who has limited...
Published 9 months ago by Esdien


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, good advice, 10 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
To be highly recommended.
Having struggled through the paperwork and all the other ends that needed tying in the first 7-8 months after losing my husband, I suddenly found myself with enough time on my hands to let me worry about myself and my future. The automatic pilot was starting to have a rest. I chose this book having read through the reviews for many similar books - I can't speak for the others - but I did feel this book was a help to me. It had me crying and encouraged me to feel again. It offered me an understanding into what was going on, and most importantly has helped me in the search for courage to face my future. Originally written for the US market, it does have some references that are irrelevant to life in the UK, but they are minor and should not put you off buying this book. Mention is made throughout of widowers, but I presume the majority of readers are widows, certainly the majority of case studies are widows.
The book was certainly useful to me even after 8 months had passed, but I can imagine it would be even better earlier on in the grieving period.
On a last note, if you're checking this review then chances are you are facing a terrible time in your life. I wish you strength to make it through, and courage to start to live again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read for recent widows!!, 19 April 1998
By A Customer
I was given this book by my sister-in-law I had never met, on the death of my husband, who had committed suicide at age 46. It was the most thoughtful thing that anyone did! It gave me such insight into what I was going through (the "crazies"), and what to expect and hope for, as well as telling me that all I was going through was normal. Every widow should be handed this book at the funeral home to take straight home! Lots of resources listed to get help, from financial to support groups. A definite book to have on hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book made me realise I was not mad. I was normal., 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Widow to Widow (Paperback)
When my husband died I tried to find a book that would help. I tried a few but this book was the only one that told it like it is. It put into words exactly how I felt. I realised what I was feeling was quite normal and that I was not going out of my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a widow's book - the most useful book of dozens I read, 30 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This book tells it like it is. It calls on real life experiences of many widows and gives good, practical advice. You are not alone; even though you feel like you've lost your mind, you are, in fact, in shock, and it's not easy to remember everything you do while on autopilot. Must reading for every new widow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not the only one, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. Kaye Rees (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
A must read for every widow. Makes you realise that you are not the only woman experiencing certain thoughts and feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life

This book is uncannily accurate in how one feels and has some great advice on how to deal with each situation that arises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that helped me through the worst time of my life, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book enough. I have bought it 3 times now as I pass it on and it never comes back. I amjust about to buy it again to help a friend of a friend. Although it is written by an American, the majority of what she write is still relevant to us. If you are reading this because you are recently widowed, you won't believe it but life does get easier with time, truly it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crochet momma, 15 Jun 2013
By 
H. Harris "H Harris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
Have started to read this book and was immediately struck on how everything I was thinking was put on paper by someone else. Makes you feel in the madness of grief you aren't mad and you are certainly not alone. Thank you author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank you xxx, 17 Mar 2013
By 
vanitykim (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
bought this shortly after passing of husband - i needed something less 'heal yourself ' than other books - excellent so far - not a one sitting book as you need to go at ur own pace - this book gives you permission to grieve, cry, get mad, feel guilty et al ........thank you xxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book., 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life (Paperback)
Even though this is written by an American woman, (who I believe has now sadly died) most of the advice she gives applies to British women as well.
I bought it about two or three months after my husband passed away. DO NOT BUY THIS ON KINDLE as,
if you are like me you may wish to dip in and out of it depending on your mood. Through this book I have come to realise that other women feel like me. I don't feel so alone. The practical advice has helped me so much. When I am at home I keep this by me. I would recommend it to anyone of any age who
has lost their husband. And I wish you good luck in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life
Widow to Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas for Rebuilding Your Life by Genevieve Davis Ginsburg (Paperback - 28 July 2004)
£9.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews