Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly fine for the price - and thoughtfully tailored for smaller Frozen fans
This has gotten a number of grumpy reviews and I think it's worth putting the record straight.

In fairness - the factual aspects of these reviews have some accuracy. So let's be clear:

- It's small book, both in page size and page count
- Paper stock is coarse and non-glossy. However, it's not newspaper-grade and one nice result is a pleasant...
Published 20 days ago by Random Reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap awful quality
Book is poorly made the pages cannot be turned properly as they are stuck down in the wrong place. Would not recommend very disappointed.
Published 9 months ago by Miss Suzanne Ostler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly fine for the price - and thoughtfully tailored for smaller Frozen fans, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Random Reader (Cambridge, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
This has gotten a number of grumpy reviews and I think it's worth putting the record straight.

In fairness - the factual aspects of these reviews have some accuracy. So let's be clear:

- It's small book, both in page size and page count
- Paper stock is coarse and non-glossy. However, it's not newspaper-grade and one nice result is a pleasant matte effect
- It's bound in a single piece of cardboard which is folded across the rest of the book and press-sealed to form a 'clamped' spine (the golden left-hand edge on the cover photo). This is quite nice for smaller children as it results in a spine that can;t be cracked or split and a book that is easy to hold. What is odd (as others have noted) is that the fore-edge of the cover (not the top or bottom edges) falls a milimetre or so short of covering the interior pages fully. Frankly, I haven't lost a moment's sleep seething about that 'betrayal' ...

Which brings us to the crux of the matter. I paid less for this book (delivered free to my desk) than I did for my medium, black americano (no sugar) this morning. For that sort of sum, there are *no* grounds for complaint with what I received. Magazines cost more than this and will endure far less.

SPOILERS

Artwork is new (not stills from the movie) and of a flatter, less detailed style more appropriate to a book, whilst very much in keeping with the film's character and scenery designs. The story is significantly truncated (the sub-plot about the Duke of Wesselton seeking to have Elsa killed is removed) - for reasons I suspect both of brevity and tone.

Be in no doubt that this is a book for fans of Frozen at the younger end of the age spectrum. My own daughter is 3 and she loves this book. Frankly that is all the review I need.

If you're in doubt - perhaps try the bigger Golden Book that's available (i can't comment on that one) or something else. However, be in no doubt that you get your money's worth with this book. More I'd say, as we have enjoyed repeated readings of this.

Some people may feel justifiably that they were given insufficient information about the format of this book. Fair enough - I suspect that in the US perhaps, there is a wider understanding of what a 'little golden book' represents (like saying 'Ladybird book' in the UK). So hopefully you now know what to expect.

Giving it a poor review though, speaks of the anger of the moment and lacks perspective. It's perfectly reasonable for the money I paid and low-score reviews just make me think of those people who complain that it only took them a day to finish an iPad game for which they paid all of £0.69 ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap awful quality, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
Book is poorly made the pages cannot be turned properly as they are stuck down in the wrong place. Would not recommend very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and entertaining, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
My daughter loves it, she is Learning how to read so this is easy. We enjoyed it together. This fairy tale for younger kids are nice before sleeping we are gathering all of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very poorly made, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
My little girl loved the book as it was Frozen but the book was poorly made I could have brought better quality from poundland! Surprised its Disney as the quality is not good at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney style but a bit too short compared to movie, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
"Frozen Little Golden Book" is new adventure for kids created at Disney studios and together with book, a few days ago movie with same name was released.

The main characters in this pre-school picture book are Anna, a girl full of optimism, Kristoff, rough mountain man and his loyal reindeer Sven. Three of them will go in an epic journey finding Anna's sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the Arendelle kingdom in everlasting winter.
On their way three companions will experience lot of exciting adventures and meet unusual creatures and characters, doing everything they can to save their beloved kingdom...

The book is made in the classic Disney style with nice looking illustrations and will appeal to the youngest readers who love Disney releases.

On the other hand, it would be better if book wasn't compressed on only 24 pages that makes many things impossible to show inside compared to a movie that takes almost two hours.

But from my own experience I can confirm that my small girl like it a lot and due to that I can recommend it for all those who love the classic Disney editions with which many generations grew up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
my 3 year old granddaughter loves anything from frozen so really loved this book/ many thanks for speedy deliverance -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful Disney Golden Books, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
Great and beautiful book, with wonderful illustrations and nice story. I really enjoy the work of Grace Lee, Massimiliano Narciso and Andrea Cagol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story. OK Book quality., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
The story is good, not too much writing and plenty of well illustrated pictures. What lets this book down a bit is the cheap cardboard like cover which makes the book feel a bit cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too small, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
This book is too small, poor prints.
I kept it and bought the larger version hardback which is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value for, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Frozen (Little Golden Book) (Hardcover)
A lovely illustrated book, a must for all Frozen fans, good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen (Little Golden Book)
Frozen (Little Golden Book) by Victoria Saxon (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2013)
£2.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews