Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different running book you can't ignore
I sat down at the computer this evening to write a review of this inspiring book and decided, first of all, to read the other reviews that have been posted. There were six in all and the trouble is I'm not sure how I can add to them! They all give unqualified praise to Julian Goater and his co-writer, Don Melvin. So my first remark would be - read all the other reviews...
Published on 3 May 2012 by Sunshine Pete

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All you need to get a lot faster - with reservations
Each page gets you thinking and there are some great tips. However, be careful with the sections on changing your running technique and visit the sportsscientsists.com website and see the sections on running style and economy. Other claims are made in the book with rather too much certainty for comfort. Rather expensive for what it is. Don't get me wrong, Julian is...
Published 12 months ago by Notadwarf


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different running book you can't ignore, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
I sat down at the computer this evening to write a review of this inspiring book and decided, first of all, to read the other reviews that have been posted. There were six in all and the trouble is I'm not sure how I can add to them! They all give unqualified praise to Julian Goater and his co-writer, Don Melvin. So my first remark would be - read all the other reviews! The book itself is divided into two Parts: Building the Base and Sharpening the Knife. What's interesting is that the first Part, in particular, makes use of Julian's experience as a coach as much as his career as an international runner. His advice is pitched at all ages and levels of runner in establishing a set of common principles to work to. The very production of the book - the size, the cover and the layout of the pages - makes you want to pick it up and read it. The chapters are logically organised and the writing is in a very accessible and conversational style with photos and highlighted points that altogether make it extremely readable. It is also not a book that you will look at once and then consign to the shelf. There are some absolute nuggets of thought-provoking ideas, information and advice that give it value as a reference that I know I shall keep returning to. As a former, very average club runner I had long since resigned myself to steady decline with the sole objective of keeping going as long as possible. However, I have already been inspired to try some of Julian's ideas, beginning with how to run a recovery session! It remains to be seen how much I can actually speed up but following some of the ideas in the book will certainly make the attempt a good deal more fun. I can't claim to have read every running book that's been published but this one is certainly different and it all seems to make perfect sense. At less than the price of a pair of socks, it is difficult to see how any runner or coach can possibly ignore it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone who wants both in depth advice on how to run faster but with page turning writing, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
This is the best book that I have read on running technique and training (and I have read quite a few).
The book is full of countless gems to help you to run faster, but is also full of wonderful stories of the authors own races and those of his fellow runners, including Steve Ovett, Dave Bedford and Brendan Foster to name but a few.

It is so nice to be able to have a chance, at last, to take advice from someone who has been there and worn the T-Shirt (anyone who can run 10K in 27:34 is worth listening to in my opinion).

I have even managed to get on top of recurrent calf strains from some simple advice in the book.

This is the 1st review that I have ever written but I felt that this book deserved all the praise that it could get.

I hope that this review has been helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps It Simple and Sensible, 1 July 2012
By 
John Maitland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
Through Julian's own experiences this book links back to the golden age of British men's distance running. The anecdotes which populate the book not only illustrate points of relevance to current runners but also provide an insight into the training and attitudes behind his success and that of his contemporaries.

The book is written to be widely accessible and doesn't provide in-depth scientific explanations of physiology or biomechanics. A lot of the sections emphasise common-sense and keeping things simple - this is a large part of the strength of the book as it is well known that common sense is not so common and getting the simple things correct is not so simple!

I definitely recommend the book to coaches and athletes looking for guidance and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break that plateau, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
I'd got stuck with my training running at a steady 7.5 mph / 8min mile type pace - race days 10k at around 48 mins, 13 miles at around 1.45. This book has helped me to rethink how I train to make sure I maximise my time. It' s not about running further, this is a definite "run smarter" book. I suspect that if you are well up on the technical aspects of running or very experienced, this may not be for you. But it is really well thought out, easy to read, follows a logical progression, advises you on your training and how to improve. I really recommend it to anyone looking to improve and wanting to get the most out of their training.

Finally, yes it does what it says - I have seen an improvement in my running speed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good advice, 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
This is the first book on running that I've read and it's not only very informative it's also an enjoyable book to read.

There is lots of good information about planning your running and how to improve your form while running. Another reviewer commented on the old photos but everything in this book applies to the modern day runner (beginners included).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to get out and run ....faster., 9 April 2012
By 
Liz Clark (Watford, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
I already have a shelf full of books about running, but most of them simply say the same things in different ways. This one is different. Julian Goater is a hugely intelligent athlete and coach who has taken the time and effort to think about what makes for successful running - from the technical aspects of posture and cadence to the mental aspects of how to get the most out of training and racing. He's integrated concepts from other disciplines into his approach and is not afraid to present new thinking and challenge accepted wisdom. He explains how his approach has worked for him and other runners, who span a variety of ages, backgrounds and aspirations. One of his main challenges is to get away from the tendency for all training to morph into similar sessions - similar in length and similar in content, producing, not surprisingly, similar results, and he describes how to go about increasing the variety and impact of training. Unlike many other books on running, it is extremely readable, being illustrated with examples of the points being made from all areas of running with occasional references to swimming and cycling, and I found myself inspired to go out and try some of the new ideas for myself. I'd be surprised if anyone finished the book without finding that they have tried some of the sessions Julian describes, but should you get to the end and want a sample schedule as a starting point, these are presented in an appendix. To quote from the book, "In training, often the aim is to experiment, throw caution to the wind, and find out what you're capable of doing. What you discover might surprise you." That holds for the book too....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin....., 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
In this very readable book the author provides some very practical advice for the simple act of running faster. The text reveals some simple but thought-provoking points on improving running speed (for example speed is driven by leg cadence and leg cadence is driven by the arms, how to get speed work into your schedule) as well as best preparation for improving race-day performance.

The author draws heavily on his personal experience as a top level runner in what many consider to be the golden age of British middle distance running regularly rubbing shoulders with the likes of Ovett, Coe, Bedford and Cram.

The book is certainly a comprehensive running guide but also part autobiography in which the author looks at several of the key races in his career and analyses what caused success and, in some cases, failure in those races. He then brings those factors back into the advice being given those who aspire to run faster and be more competitive in their own racing.

This book is a welcome break from the plethora of run coaching books which are focused on hours of obsessive slow base-level running and a deep emphasis on heart-rate analysis, VO2 max, lactate threshold etc. Whilst there is certainly huge merit in such an approach to athletic performance The Art of Running Faster takes a fascinating look at the basics of running and advises some simple, practical and functional approaches to getting those legs going faster and longer and watching those PB's fall!

An immensely enjoyable read that will get you thinking about your running from a whole new perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on running I have read, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
I have read many books on running and this is the best one by far. I am a 55 year old female runner who competes in 3 - 4 half marathons a year and has run 2 marathons. This book has turned my running around. From being a "plodder", I now feel that even I could improve on my times. The author is obviously intelligent and puts across simple techniques which make your running more comfortable - from breathing to cadence. I am putting what I have read into practice in training and now can't wait to do my next race! What I love about The Art of Running Faster is that it's not full of complicated tables of interval training which quite frankly put me off! Instead there is sensible doable training advice and as you read it - you can't wait to get out there and try it out! A definite "must read" for every runner whether hoping to improve on your 10k time or stay injury free during marathon training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to run faster - for runners at all levels, from jogger to elite competitor., 18 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
Julian's new book, just published, is written by an athlete who has been there, done that, worn the vest and often got the medal.

Very few people are placed better than Julian to write about how to achieve your potential in running with this thought provoking, motivational and often humorous book.

However, despite Julian's performance as an elite international athlete let's get one crucial matter out into the open, this is definitively a book for runners at all levels; joggers, (those casual runners who want to keep fit, lose some weight and jog a few miles a week), as well as competitive runners who want to do better next week than they did last week.

The chapters in the book are set out in a logical, readable form, interspersed with concise comments highlighted in the text with a short summary of the chapter at the end of each section. Julian focuses on the 5, (or is it 6?), Ss: speed, suppleness, strength, stamina, skill and psychology. The importance of the mind is emphasised; the author believes that many of us do not achieve our true potential because often we lack self-belief, that ability to challenge our mental boundaries which inhibit our performance in races. This is as true for the social runner as it is for the runner who races regularly and wants to run faster.

Whilst this is a book full of advice, guidance and challenges, it does refer to Julian's contemporaries, (notably Dave Bedford, Steve Jones, Charlie Spedding and Henry Rono), referring to their views of training and competing as well as those of the author. (As an aside, Spedding's book "from last to first" is a classic autobiography of a sportsperson, an average runner who strived to be better). Julian is a great believer in each of us being able to achieve our potential by listening to our body and being honest with ourselves. However, never "over run" or "over race" is a clear message, and Julian warns runners at all levels that sometimes they need to say "No, I'm not going out this week-end for a few miles, but thanks anyway" in order to maintain that freshness and eagerness for running throughout the year.

It is not all serious stuff. There is a lot of light relief. "The Art of Running Faster" contains some great anecdotes; the one about the Ethiopian runners leading in the World Cross-Country Championships who thought that they had finished after three laps of a four lap race made me laugh and cry at the same time.

Those of us who race and follow athletics know Julian was always a great "club man", whether for Shaftesbury or the R.A.F. Not surprisingly, Julian advocates getting involved in a club for several reasons, (particularly for advice, guidance, support and friendship), emphasising the social aspects for club runners at all levels.

In summary, this is an inspirational book. If you are a runner and want to be a better runner, then this book will make you want to put on those training shoes and kit and go out for a run. Very helpfully, Julian has included an easy to follow training schedules at the end of the book, (written for runners of all levels and ability).

You may not achieve the times that Julian and his colleagues achieved, but this book will give you the encouragement to make the best effort to do so. It's a great read from a great athlete and now a leading coach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious advice from the very top table of running, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Art of Running Faster (Paperback)
Got this book two weeks ago and my 5k times have already tumbled by 20 seconds .A rare treat to gain an insight into the mindset of a legendary British runner . The authors waste no time in getting to the heart of the holy grail for competitive runners everywhere........Improvement !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Running Faster
The Art of Running Faster by Don Melvin (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews