Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron the Master, 3 April 2010
By 
John Hendry (Meribel, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
If you are looking for an understanding of skiing and the forces and techniques involved then this really is required reading. This is an update of "The Skiers Edge" with more recent skier analysis and colour photography. Much of the content is the based on the previous book with some additional chapters added on. The stop frame picture sets and the clarity of descriptions make this book stand out from other technical ski literature.
All ski professionals should read and study this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great technical approach!, 22 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
Bought this book to help with unpacking the physics of ski-ing - it does that exceptionally well! The subject is well explained with sound case-studies and easy reading style. As a relatively new skier, I found this book very useful! If you want to read about the science of ski-ing and thereby improve your understanding of why your ski's behave the way they do, then this book would be difficult to better. I'm from a scientific background and the sums and science seem to support the author's analysis of ski-ing dynamics! Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technical and facinating, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
This is not a light and easy read - concentration required, but it gives a fascinating insight into why and how to to it and how to make it better and improve your performance. Great tips and practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, wish I had it years ago, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to ski at a high level. I am a BASI L3 Instructor so can already ski to a fairly high level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate reource for serious skiers, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
Once in while a definitive reference book comes along and sits as the default text in a collection. Ultimate Skiing is such a book. It's not an ABC learn to ski book. It's a book for skiers who are serious about understanding the sport and seeking autonomy in their own progress.

It looks at the technical fundamentals of skiing covering such topics as; the phyics of the sport, why and how do skis turn; lateral balnce; fore and afte balance; edging etc. etc. There is a useful section on boot fitting and the book closes with chapters about the tactical and technical aspects of skiing in challenging conditions e.g. bumps, powder, crud, ice and steeps. There are occasional insights into the techniques of some of the world's greatest skiers and the photomontages throughout the book are helpful and clear.

All in this is an outstanding comprehensive ski book and should form part of the library for any keen recreational skier or instructor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Kindle Edition)
Everything for intermediates who wish to improve their technique and enjoyment on the mountains. Comprehensive overview of all techniques taught by most instructors brought together in one place.I cannot wait to practice exercises from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great reference, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
This is an excellent reference for the serious experienced skier. It jumps about a bit for my liking (as many American books do), but everything in there makes perfect sense. Ron certainly knows his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No feet together., 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
Modern, athletic and technically good way to ski. Just got to do it like the book shows now!! Get those feet apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent tuition, 22 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. A. MCALLAN (Elgin, Moray United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
I was very impressed by this book, it is very methodical, detailed and well explained. It also has detailed photographs that fit into the text very well to illustrate what the author is explaining. In the preface the author says that every great tutor understands the physics of their sport and for the most part an avid skier is their own coach. As an avid skier I couldn't agree more and by reading this book I now have a greater understanding not only of the physics, but also what I am trying to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read........if your remotely "technical", 26 Feb 2010
By 
T. Clarkson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Skiing (Paperback)
Clear, detailed and informative.
I'm an intermediate skier and I like to understand the physics of what I'm supposed to be doing - doesn't always translate in practise but this book has really helped me understand how/what/when so I can further improve.

Descriptions are well writtten and photos enhance the information given - it makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Skiing
Ultimate Skiing by Ron LeMaster (Paperback - 1 Oct 2009)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews