Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£25.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2010
Having knowledge of the principles and means behind Soft Tissue Release will enhance your skills as a massage therapist; Jane Johnson's book is a very informative book, with clear and understandable text and picture guides. This book is an invaluable reference for those that are experienced in the art and technique of STR and for those that are learning alike.

The step by step guide is straight-forward enough for those that wish to have an insight into exercises and methods, for self-treating with some stretching and personally manageable massage. Additionally, this book offers enough technical information to be of benefit to those learning to become therapists. More experienced therapists may also find use of this book to develop their techniques and treatment methods further, or as a quick reference.

This book has enhanced my skills as a therapist. Highly recommended.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
Like Jane herself, the book is accessible, friendly and full of information. The format is well thought out and the content easy to understand without being 'dumbed down'. The photographs are excellent and really make it stand out from other books on the same subject. I really wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone interested in STR.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
This is similar to myofascial release (book by Carol Manheim). With this method you pin/hold one part of the muscle and stretch the other end. Myofascial release is more specific but this is a fantastic method to release the muscles generaly. Buy it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
As soon as i flicked through the insight for this book i knew i had to have it and i wasnt dissapointed This is a great book for people who are interested in understanding how the tissues hold spams and shows very clearly step by step the recommended techniques for release Loved it and would recommend it to others interested in learnng more about the human body and release work for the bodies tissues
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
An extremely effective soft tissue technique. The book is well written and all techniques clearly illustrated for each individual muscle to provide an easy to follow guide.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2009
An excellent step-by-step guide of Soft Tissue Release that was both interesting and beneficial to those working in the field of Sport and Exercise. Easy to follow points with clear and consise pictures that assist in the incorporation of, and use of, the techniques discussed.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 March 2011
This is an easy to use book. I have little knowledge of the subject and obtained the book to help me understand what I need to know. It is thorough and the step by step photos really help although they could do with updating. There is an excellent page on situations where soft tissue release can help. Some exercises can be done on your own, others you need someone to work on. It includes muscle diagrams and simply everything you need to know. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Disappointing. Lots of very important muscles simply aren't featured in this book, such as psoas, the adductors, QL, pec minor and subscapularis. I'm currently doing the BTEC level 5 diploma. On the course we have been demoed STR techniques on all these muscles and as such I would really like to nail them.

Only the sitting upper traps STRs is shown while the trickier side-lying position is missing. And there is just one glute STR shown even though each of the three glutes does a slightly different thing and therefore surely requires a different STR technique.

The techniques in the book seem to be the more straightforward ones, which is fine if all you want to do is get the hang of the basic theory behind STR and learn how to apply them to a few muscles. If you want to pass your assessment and go on to use STRs as a professional therapist, I would suggest you need a more all-encompassing companion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
If I was going to give birthday presents to therapist friends, this would be my first choice.
Forget about your clients, use this on yourself if you can't find some others therapist to "swap" with. The moves and the way the book has been laid out are easy to understand and the tips are spot on. STR rocks and so does Jane! ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
Very good book for reference but there are other books out there i.e Mary Sanderson book that have outlined as be all end all for STR. However i wouldn't knock this book but will be adding others to my STR library for my future clinic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)