Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for cyclists and coaches experienced in weight training
I have used weight training in my cycling training programme for a long time and find it very benificial. This book provides an excellent source of ideas for excercises targeted at improving endurance and power, overcoming weaknesses in form, preventing injury etc. The anatomical basis of muscle operation and how it relates and contributes to efficient cycling is...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by J. Mulvaney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gym weight sessions
Found this book simple to read and understand, the excersises cover every muscle group you will need.
I would have liked to see a few more examples of different excersises for the muscle groups
Published 8 months ago by WILLIAM MACDONALD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for cyclists and coaches experienced in weight training, 20 Oct 2010
By 
J. Mulvaney (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
I have used weight training in my cycling training programme for a long time and find it very benificial. This book provides an excellent source of ideas for excercises targeted at improving endurance and power, overcoming weaknesses in form, preventing injury etc. The anatomical basis of muscle operation and how it relates and contributes to efficient cycling is wonderfully explained and illustrated. The range of excercises presented is large and well structured in terms of body zones e.g. back, arms, legs etc. Explanation of how excercises should be performed is also good. The visualisation techniques, where one is encouraged to imagine the cycling operation targeted when performing each excercise, is a great feature.

The major weakness of the book is the lack of a planning guidance. Many of us are very used to creating and following structured training plans to achieve our cycling goals. Weight training must be integrated into these plans with differing weight levels and exercises being chosen dependent on the goals of the training phase. This book only plays lip service to this and future editions would benefit from inclusion of more detailed treatment of planning.

I highly recommend this book for coaches and those experienced in weight training in their cycling training programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 8 April 2010
By 
David A. Evans (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Emphasises the importance and place of strength training in cycling. Contains a good bank of specific exercises. Requires some knowledge from the reader to assemble the exercises into a programme. Recommended for coaches and those with a good knowledge of training principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for cycle-specific training, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Welvis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
On a quick scan this looks like a great reference guide for cycle-specific strength training. The fact that it's arranged by body area - back, core, legs etc. makes it really user friendly & the wide range of exercises within each section should make training a bit less dull + the results more comprehensive. Detailed pics of what's happening to your muscle groups & how the exercise should be performed should also appeal to those with an interest in anatomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAD BOY BOOK, 11 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
I am a 35 yr old male who used to weigh 17st, and was trying to lose weight by cycling. I accured an injury whilst cycling, my bike was in the wrong position, this book helped me train the muscles needed to become a good cycler and a pain free ride. Due to the indepth and precise explanations of which muscles to train and the best way to get the most out of my rides. I now only weigh 15st and am enjoying every bike ride without the worry of any injuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Got book in time a looks like a great book,,
but but I was disappointed that I could not open all the pages as they were stuck together.
also it looked like when the book was cut it did not cut all pages properly and now unfolded it looks like I have lots of post it notes in it coming out of the ends. I would prefer a free replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best fitness book for cyclist, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Briiliant book for keen cyclists to improve their cycling ability, good clear concise detailed information with a good use of pictures to explian the muscle groups. A must read for any keen competative cyclist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gym weight sessions, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Found this book simple to read and understand, the excersises cover every muscle group you will need.
I would have liked to see a few more examples of different excersises for the muscle groups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Anatomy, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Very informative.
A wide variety of exercises explained and detailed. Plenty for the cyclist to design varied workouts or target specific muscles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference, 20 April 2013
By 
Shoto (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Very informative, simple to understand, an easy read/a book you can dip into and out of and a worthwhile book for any competitive cyclist to read. I agree with another reviewer's comment that more guidance on developing a weight training programme would further improve the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) (Paperback)
Good book added to collection, will be enjoyed fully when needed, very useful and a great addition, will be added to my teaching library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy)
Cycling Anatomy (Sports Anatomy) by Shannon Sovndal (Paperback - 1 July 2009)
13.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews