Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential addition to a swimmers library
I have ordered many books on fitness and have never before been moved to write a review. I finally hit the jackpot and made an excellent choice in ordering this book! It makes for a great read, right off the bat. Most important is how the author clearly explains how each excercise is linked to what the swimmer will want to call upon once in the water. The drawings are...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by swimfast

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy Punter
I bought 3 Schulz coin albums and what I thought would be extra pages to fit into the albums. I got the albums and the extra pages arrived today, they do not match the albums. Not much use. What are my options? Not a happy punter.
Published 3 months ago by Dairmuid Maguire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential addition to a swimmers library, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
I have ordered many books on fitness and have never before been moved to write a review. I finally hit the jackpot and made an excellent choice in ordering this book! It makes for a great read, right off the bat. Most important is how the author clearly explains how each excercise is linked to what the swimmer will want to call upon once in the water. The drawings are very effective in conveying a better understanding of what muscles we should be targetting. The emphasis on the right technique is brilliant.
I am amazed not more people have written a glowing review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love this book!, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
This book has not left my side since i got it a few weeks ago. It covers so many exercises specific to swimming, explaining which part of the stroke and which muscles are being targeted. The illustrations are exceptional and the layout really easy to work through. My times have already improved since changing my land training exercises to incorporate some of these as i have been able to work on specific muscles in the weak areas of my stroke. What more can you ask?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple exercises to make you a better swimmer, 26 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
I'm a Masters swimmer and have been out of the water for some time. I bought this book to "fast track" myself back into fitness. I think it is fair to say that the book contains _no_ new exercises; however what the book does, and does *really well*, is show you why an exercise is good for certain parts of your swim stroke.

Having read it end-to-end in a couple of hours I produced a couple of strength training regimes to work through. I would recommend this book to pretty much any swimmer who wants to do something to complement their pool training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant book!, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
This a great book. It shows cutaway diagrams for different parts of strokes, starts and turns. It also suggests exercises to strengthen these areas.

I found it useful as I find it difficult to visualise how the muscles are working during swimming, and it's something I'd never quite got my head around until now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book of it's kind ever, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
As a swimming coach I quite often find it difficult to explain to younger swimmers how they should use the larger muscles of their body to move their arms and legs while swimming. This book does it for me. The illustrations are excellent and even the youngest of swimmer can get the picture when you use this book to assist in explaining where the power should come from.

I have re-structured the land training programmes for all my senior swimmers using this book and they are all showing major improvement in their competition performances and training sessions.

Whether you are a swimmer, coach or general fitness enthusiast, buy this book and reap the benifits today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 25 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
If you are looking to create a exercise program that will help condition you for swimming this gives you more than enough information to do it. I totally agree with the other reviewers on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars swimming anatomy, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
Just what was needed to upgrade the training schedules for the swimmers and water polo players I coach at my local club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for serious swimmers, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
Good book for swimmers and coaches, excellent understanding of body anatomy and which muscle groups work together to improve performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book if not a little technical, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
Great book if not a little technical, but it helps to focus how and what muscles to train for maximum benefit in the water. I would recommend this book for anyone wanting to target dry land training exercise programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Training Aid, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance (Paperback)
Interesting read, easy to understand and a good additional training tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swimming Anatomy: Your Illustrated Guide for Swimming Strength, Speed and Endurance
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews