Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any manager or coach of youth football, 9 Dec 2009
By 
J. Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
Bought this book for my husband who has just completed his level 1 coaching qualification and he said it is an excellent book, really usefull and would recommend it to any manager or coach of a youth football team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coaching Youth Football Players? Then get this!, 10 April 2009
By 
Steve Phythian (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone coaching young players.

Gone are the static line drills and in their place a Model of age appropriate development,suggested small games, exercises and challenges for the very young to early teenage years designed to motivate, challenge and, as it says on the cover, Develop youth football players.

Tips and hints on not just what to coach but more importantly how. It's a top read and you will use it time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Youth Coaching Book, 25 May 2009
By 
R. Durkin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
I have been involved in youth football coaching for a number of years and have completed a number of youth coaching courses. This is definitely one of the better books that I have read on the subject. Most books that I have just show drills, this book goes into the philosophy that the coach should be using as well. The emphasis is definitely away from competitive football at an early age and gradually building up skill levels. I would definitely recommend this book to any coach in those early years trying to figure out what they should be trying to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
a really good eye opener for experienced or new coaches. Fantasticly set out, easy to take in and changes your way of thinking for the better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for all Youth Coaches, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
This eye-opening book is excellent! No wonder many leading countries have been using it for a number of years! An absolute must-read for all youth coaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The godfather of youth footy, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
A one stop shop book!
Preparatory games 1v1 to 3v3 how to build up kids experience and confidence and apply successfully in small sided games. For new and old coaches there is an underlying philosophy of why the exercises work and how to build a session. Furthermore the psychology of coaching children is also detailed and explained in layman's terms.

I have spent over 15 years searching for best practice for my club and this book is in my top 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great coaching tool, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
Large variety of small sided game drills. Starting with basic 2vs1 through 2 vs 2, 3 vs 3, 7-a-side setups and finally 8 vs 8. Essential tool in my opinion for helping players to discover solutions in the game. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for grassroots coaches, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
Horst Wein's sample activities and suggested presentation methods are excellent for anyone working with youth footballers. He provides a justified, structured pathway from 5 year olds through to 18 year olds.

Really is a quality coaching aid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good start!!, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
Good start for football coaches, handy for reference, good sessions for under 7-11.
I coach under 8's and I thought it was ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Youth Football Players (Paperback)
My son will get a lot from this as a football coach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Developing Youth Football Players
Developing Youth Football Players by Horst Wein (Paperback - 30 July 2007)
14.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews