Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference for students and teachers
This new book is one of very few available on the specific subject of yoga and anatomy.

The nice thing about this book is its accessibility - it has pictures of a range of poses in the style shown on the book cover, illustrating the muscular-skeletal system in the asana and highlighting the muscles being utilised (some postures shown from several angles). In...
Published on 20 April 2008 by Elle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly edited
It is quite annoying the way that muscles labelled on a given diagram of an asana are not always mentioned in the text about the asana, and also vice versa: muscles mentioned in the text are not always labelled on the diagram.
Also, there are inconsistencies in the sections for each asana. In one of the introductory chapters, we are told that each asana has a section...
Published on 31 Jan. 2011 by Alice


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear illustrations, excellent analysis of poses, 13 Sept. 2009
By 
M. Walkey (Canterbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend studying massage -the illustrations are really clear and helpful showing the muscles which are involved in different poses. Also good is the integration with breathing and the problems to watch out for. It does what 'Anatomy of Hatha Yoga' by H David Coulter SHOULD do for yoga anatomy - put it in pictures. A picture speaks a thousand words.
I like the clear divisions of poses - sitting, standing kneeling etc. My only criticism is that it is the extreme poses which tend to be illustrated. Having come to Yoga late in life, I can hardly imagine many of them. Perhaps there could be a companion book for late starters (with Amy Matthews acknowledged as a co-author!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Anatomy, 22 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
I have found this book to be very advantageous and explanatory. What drew my attention to this book was the information it gave about the muscles used in the various positions of yoga. I find this book would be helpful to both the experienced and the beginnerand recommend that you take the time to read it thoroughly to get the best out of the detailed information it provides. I use the book daily for my morning meditation and yoga routine and would also recommend Lindsay Wagners 'Open to Oneness' meditation cd Open To Oneness for the background music as it creates such a relaxing atmosphere within the room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush, 12 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Na Green "N. Green" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
I am STILL hoping to find a better pictorial anatomical description. One that deals with ALL the muscles even more thoroughly for us geeks and goes into a lot more depth on fascia is what I am looking for now if anyone can recommend anything? The ancient wisdom seems to have a lot to do with fascia!
A brilliant start. Perfect for non-professionals. Where are the proper text books on this subject, eh? Please help. Be that by pointing one out to me, or by organising getting one written!! There has to be money in that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anatomy awakening for yoga teachers, 13 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book for everyone; it is also enlightening for yoga practitioners interested in seeing how the body works and the role muscles play in every posture. For yoga teachers or trainees though this book spells out anatomy in a thoroughly exciting, fascinating, interesting way. We list is as required reading for all our yoga teacher training students. And if anatomical terms scare you, no worries; just look at the pictures. Each one speaks more than 1,000 words. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful, 1 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
The book starts off well with the first chapters on breathing, the spine and the feet being very informative and accessible. To the not so expert student however the chapters on asanas are not described in an accessible way for a beginner on the subject and you will need another book to decifer all the terminology which makes it quite hard going. To me the way the information is presented feels rushed and ill thought out as though not enough attention is being payed to the needs of the student, more to Mr Kaminoffs need to show off his expert knowledge.
I also bought David Coultars book on Yoga anatomy which is quite honestly amazing and goes into great depth and detail of asana. I have just purchsed David Keils 2 anatomy DVD's I watched a bit of him on you tube and then browsed the web articles on his web site and he simplifies the subject so its understandable so I can't wait to get those
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars applied anatomy, 18 Jun. 2010
By 
Amy J. L. Soska "amy" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
i havent spent too much time reading this book but it is well worth buying purely for the illustrations. i use it as a teaching aid for students and would thoroughly recommend this book for anyone struggling to relate what they see in standard anatomical charts to what the body is actually doing in their yoga practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Anatomy., 9 July 2009
By 
Dancer "Dancer" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
As a student and teacher of yoga this is a fantastic book. I love exploring this book to enhance my own practice. It also brings great fun and understanding to my children and teen yoga classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga, 10 April 2010
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
If you are new to Yoga or are not entirely sure that you are doing the postures correctly or want to get more out of them than you are currently then this is the book for you. It tells you which muscles you should be engaging and how best to get into the postures and what to do once your in them to keep correct alignment, etc. I don't know why I did not get this book sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous resource for yoga teachers!, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
George A. Watts (Mid Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
When doing my Yoga Teacher Training course with the BWY, this book was one of the books on the recommended books list...and for very good reason.

If you teach yoga, this is one of those must have resources for yoga teachers. It's probably a bit too technical for a yoga student!

Other great yoga teacher resources include...

Yoga Teacher Lesson Plan Kit [DVD], which inludes 1001 Yoga Lesson Planning Tips, Tools & Templates For Yoga Teachers.

Yoga Teacher Business Kit [DVD], which inludes 201 Business Tips, Tools & Templates For Yoga Teachers.

Quick Yoga Sites [DVD], which shows yoga teachers how to set up a great looking website with zero technical skills.

Yoga Studio Business Plan Kit [DVD]which inludes 201 tips, tools and templates to help you build and grow a successful yoga studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars yoga anatomy, 6 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy (Paperback)
The book has clearly been paistainkingly been put together and is very detailed. However, was disappointed to realise the book is probably better suited for those training to be yoga instructors as there is no techniques listed with each pose. Although says what uscles are woked and positions shown in various angles. Will be useful to me but will have to use alongside anither yoga aid either book or dvd to get real benftis of book. Bought it because I like to know what the different asanas are actually doing and for this its brilliant. Beware long sections at begining about breathing and the spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga Anatomy
Yoga Anatomy by Leslie Kaminoff (Paperback - 30 July 2007)
Used & New from: £11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews