Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent diagrams
I've always been into strength training, but I must admit to knowing very little about the muscles in my body. Hence my purchase of this book. There are hundreds of illustrations of athletic goddesses powering their way through many different exercises. The diagrams are cut away and illustrate clearly the muscles involved in each exercise and include the correct names for...
Published on 14 May 2003 by J. Cronin

versus
46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for women's specifics but not a complete guide
The book takes you through a good number of exercises, explaining differences between male and female musculature. There are excellent illustrations with highlighted detail of the areas being worked. It also gives additional tips for post child birth exercises. However, the book is restricted to legs and core muscles only. If you want a more complete guide that includes...
Published on 16 April 2003 by Ocean View


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent diagrams, 14 May 2003
By 
J. Cronin "dudara" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
I've always been into strength training, but I must admit to knowing very little about the muscles in my body. Hence my purchase of this book. There are hundreds of illustrations of athletic goddesses powering their way through many different exercises. The diagrams are cut away and illustrate clearly the muscles involved in each exercise and include the correct names for each muscle.
The book concentrates on solely on lower body exercises, as this is where women differ physiologically from men. However, a novice female in strength training would benefit enormously from a complete body description. I am considering buying the authors other book in order to have a complete body description, but I wish it was included in this.
The book is divided into sections on abdominals, back, legs etc and features many stretches and routines for each. This is great as I'm always seeking to introduce variety into my gym routine and this book definitely provides the inspiration. It shows the same exercise done many times done with different equipment, such as crunches done with a roller, on an inclined bench, on an inclined plane and many more versions. So depending on what you have available, you know what to do and what is happening.
I recommend this book whole heartedly. The hundreds of different exercises offered provide ample opportunity for variety in your routine. The illustrations are excellent and clear and very inspiring (you'll know what I mean when you see them). Most of all, the book doesn't shy away from women performing such things as dead lifts or squats, something a lot of gyms won't tell you about for fear you might hurt yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for women's specifics but not a complete guide, 16 April 2003
By 
Ocean View (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
The book takes you through a good number of exercises, explaining differences between male and female musculature. There are excellent illustrations with highlighted detail of the areas being worked. It also gives additional tips for post child birth exercises. However, the book is restricted to legs and core muscles only. If you want a more complete guide that includes the upper body buy the 'Strength Training Anatomy' book instead (same author. The women's version is a good supplementary reference book however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apparently, women don't have arms..., 11 Aug 2009
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
Buy the Strength Training Anatomy book if you can only have one of them. This book doesn't deal with any upper body exercises at all, but does do a very nice job in illustrating the difference between male and female lower body. Illustrations and detail are the same excellent standard in both books.

It's a great shame that this isn't a book that could be used as a general stand-alone reference for women's strength training, but without upper body it's missing a large chunk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for women's specifics but not a complete guide, 16 April 2003
By 
Ocean View (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
The book takes you through a good number of exercises, explaining differences between male and female musculature. There are excellent illustrations with highlighted detail of the areas being worked. It also gives additional tips for post child birth exercises. However, the book is restricted to legs and core muscles only. If you want a more complete guide that includes the upper body buy the 'Strength Training Anatomy' book instead (same author. The women's version is a good supplementary reference book however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book, 30 Nov 2009
By 
A. Lowey "Anismail" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a great little book for both new and regular gym users, having bought the Strength Training Anatomy book initially for a Christmas present for someone I was really impressed. This womens version is also very good, looking at body types,fat distribution, exercise techniques and excellant diagrams to see which muscles are being worked during each exercise. Go buy it, its great Annie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half a book, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
the book is FABULOUS if you want half a workout. where are chest, lat's, bi's, and tri's?????? Spend your money on a COMPLETE WORKOUT NOT HALF!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 27 Jan 2009
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who wants to learn different ways to gain muscles. Like some reviewers have said it does not cover the whole body but not far from it. I have complemented with Delaviers other book, 'Strength Training Anatomy', as well.

The drawings in this book are just amazing and show very clear what muscles you train and also the way he explain how to do the different exercises are very easy to understand.

Once you got Delaviers two books you wont need anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good basic book, 11 July 2009
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
This book is good but if you are buying the strenght training anatomy book you wont need this as well - I bought both and found there is alot of duplication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women's Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
I am trying to tone up my body, I have tried exercises upon exercise with little success. This book explains exactly which muscles to use and how to use them and it is working really well.
I think it is fundamental to know ones body parts before even starting to train, how many people confuse the gluteus maximus with the gluteus medium, including my self.
Definitely a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Women's Strength Training Anatomy
Women's Strength Training Anatomy by Frederic Delavier (Paperback - 1 Dec 2002)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews