Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to many aspects of sport psych
This is a great book to find out more and start using sport psychology. Whether you are a coach, player or simply an armchair sports fan this is a great book to get to grips with what sport psychology is and what sport psychologists do. I particularly liked the section on anxiety.

I often hear in my head the theme tune to Rocky (I know cheesy) when I think...
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by daoldcoach

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What research?
Unfortunately I have to disagree with the 5 star comments, and in particularly the comment that it would be an ideal introduction for undergraduates or masters.

The first fundamental flaw to me is that there are no endnotes. There are numerous statements along the lines of recent research shows, but no mention of who did the research. I understand this book...
Published on 14 July 2012 by A reviewer from London


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What research?, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
Unfortunately I have to disagree with the 5 star comments, and in particularly the comment that it would be an ideal introduction for undergraduates or masters.

The first fundamental flaw to me is that there are no endnotes. There are numerous statements along the lines of recent research shows, but no mention of who did the research. I understand this book is for a more generalist audience but there are populist books such as The Talent code that successfully incorporate easily referenced end notes for those who want to follow up details of the research.

Secondly there are six pages of small print Recommended resources (books and DVDs) - why are they recommended - this is far too large a list, and a shorter list with recommendations would have been far more useful.

The book also has a large amount of NLP (Neurolinguistic programming) exercises in it although NLP is not mentioned in the book (Circle of excellence exercise, associated and dissociative visualization, VAK, anchoring). Unfortunately you can better descriptions of these exercises in Paul Mckenna's books.

I thought the use of muscle testing to determine the strength of beliefs was brave (I wanted to do something like that for my undergraduate dissertation but it was refused on the grounds it was not scientific) but it only tells half the story - what about using Energy Psychology (EFT) to get rid of limiting beliefs).

The strength of the book is on the use of feedback questionnaires on anxiety, confidence and the like and also the last chapter on the use of music.

However I think that even for a coach or a generalist Aidan Moran's Sport and Exercise Psychology (2nd edition) is a better introduction to what sports psychology can do to help the athlete, although you will have to ignore the references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to many aspects of sport psych, 7 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
This is a great book to find out more and start using sport psychology. Whether you are a coach, player or simply an armchair sports fan this is a great book to get to grips with what sport psychology is and what sport psychologists do. I particularly liked the section on anxiety.

I often hear in my head the theme tune to Rocky (I know cheesy) when I think about psyching myself up for a game which made the chapter on the effect of music all the more compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self confidence in a book, 24 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
All the psychological inspired ways to achieve self confidence is explained in a logical, detailed manner. This book will appeal to everyone to achieve their greatest potential and not just to sportsmen and women to whom it is directly written. It pursues a positive approach to life. I commend this book, which is easy to read and well worth the effort to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Sports Psychology, 24 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
I agree with everything that has been written so far, by Brian and Andy, with the addition that it is not only a book for sports-people but an ideal primer for Honours and Masters students. My only regret: they haven't definitively delineated between 'technique' and 'skill', but this is a common omission amongst writers on sports psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Sport Psychology, 25 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
An excellent book; it provides the readers with up to date research findings in a user friendly way. THere are lots of useful tips which are easy to follow. As a self-help guide for people wishing insights into sport psychology, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
Using the book for my sport and exercise degree. A great read by two great sports scientists. Factual, useful and cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Book!, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Sport Psychology (Paperback)
This is a good book to really get a good grip of Sports Psychology. Easy to read and succinct for the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside Sport Psychology
Inside Sport Psychology by Peter Terry (Paperback - 19 Oct. 2010)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews