Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2003
I am I5 and am aspiring to become a football coach so although I did`nt maybe need such a tactical book,at this age, I found this book interesting,informative and such that I learnt about different systems and continetal styles.(In which this had a chapter.) I did have some stumbling points with the writer when he wrote about a sweeper in a back four as I would regard a back four as quite flat. eg: Arsenal ,Adams and the offside trap of the 90`s. The writer Jens Bangsbo ,who is now at Juventus as assistant manager, details famous formations from past Juve and Barca sides to describe particular systems in more detail for the reader. In conclusion this is a book which can educate the reader about different systems and one that describes the defence, midfield and attack. Not a wasted buy and as one of my first coaching books it is one I hold in high regard.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2000
Any one who is serious about soccer coaching should read this book. Not only does the book describe systems and styles of soccer, but also how to coach players to play the particular systems or styles. The book has been a joy to use as a reference, during the recently finished European Soccer Championships, especially to compare the deliberations of the TV and press pundits with those of the authors. The book is worth buying just for the section on dead - ball situations. The authors make it very plain that no matter what system or style of soccer a coach chooses,it will fail unless players pocessing the necessary skills and endeavour are available to carry it through.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
The book is well layed out and develops it's subjects well. First explaining the various systems of play - giving examples of internationally renowned teams that have addopted each system - then adding further coaching tips for each system, for set pieces and for motivational work.
It can be quite simplistic at times, but is ideal for the coach just setting out; who needs to understand the basics, before moving onto more complex ideas and techniques. This is where I felt the book 'hit-the-woodwork' (sorry for the punn) as the authors could have included techniques on one-to-one coaching with the aim of improving a players abilities such as heading, control, passing etc.
The only real minus side for me, was the standard of English, it does let the authors down at times as it can be little difficult to correctly grasp the meaning of a sentence. Otherwise a quality read. Long live the beautiful game!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
This book covers a few systems and i like how it shows the system used by professional teams.

Diagrams are easy to follow although I think a book called "Soccer: Modern Tactics" is far better than this as it covers more systems & interviews with Lippi, Ancelotti etc.

Im sure most people will be able to learn something from this book. The set plays section is good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2001
This is a must for first time coaches,it helps you understand formations ,tatics ex.Also gives you tips before and after games and to think about your team performance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Of all the football books I purchased as a coach, this is the most practical with clear guides on different formations and tactics, whilst keeping it all in a relatively simple format.

The book is very easy to follow and this became an effective reference book which worked very well for me (I coached adults at a top amateur level). That said, there may be updated versions now though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2009
Frankly, I was hoping for a lot more from this book. I'm no tactical genius and have no coaching qualifications but I found most of the content overly simplistic (especially Chapter 2 'Styles of Play'). However, there are useful nuggets. For example, Chapter 6 on Dead Ball situations and the checklists found throughout the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
This book examines the different strategies and systems used in soccer. What I was looking for is something that examines the merits and demerits of each system in more detail than was present in this book. Good introduction to systems used by Barcelona etc. I may be unrealistic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2001
This is a must for first time coaches,it helps you understand formations ,tatics ex.Also gives you tips before and after games and to think about your team performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2007
I found this a good read and certainly gives you a good base to work from.
Well worth any coach from teaching under 14's up to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse